We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Villas at Poipu Kai to your Saves list
The Villas at Poipu Kai
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Surfing Lessons
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Bragg Creek
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

I was amazed by how clean the place was when we arrived. It is truely 5 stars. The pool and hot tub were great. Everything under the sun was in the kitchen. Even rice cooker. The bathrooms were also 5 star with 2 shower heads. Walk to the beach was only 5 mins on a great walk path. The walk to the Hyatt also was only 5 min. We ate at Keoki's at the shopping village which is a great place to take out as well. The bar side is the best value. Only thing I found distracting is you can hear the people walking on the floor above you. If you don't need an ocean view this is most likely the best place in Poipu.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    25
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
94
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Excellent kitchen, close to the beach. The staff was amazing during booking, check-in and check-out. I would recommend booking directly through Ann or Sara. The lanai was complimented with great furniture for sunsets. We had the four bedroom and there was plenty of room for 8 adults.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

Our condo at the Villas at Poipu Kai was beautiful. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need to prepare any type of food. The bathrooms were great with nice tile showers and two shower heads and a very nice separate tub. The entire condo was clean and well organized. We loved the lanai and spent a great deal of time sitting out there admiring the beautifully landscaped grounds. My two sons certainly enjoyed the pool and hot tub even though the ocean and great beach was so close. They seemed to spend all day in the ocean and the evenings in the pool and hot tub.

We are glad we booked directly through 'Villas at Poipu Kai' because they had management on site which were very helpful in printing boarding passes and recommending various activities such as boat and helicopter trips. They also gave us some great ideas on restaurants. The people staying next door to us booked with another company and there was no one available on the property to help them.

I would definitely recommend 'Villas at Poipu Kai' to anyone planning a trip to Kauai. I hope to return often.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We were so happy to arrive at such a wonderful place after a very long trip from Wisconsin (17 hours!). The Villas at Poipu Kai (booked through Kauai Travel Authority; www.KauaiSignatureVillas.com) were everything we expected and then some for a relaxing, upscale family vacation. Our ground floor three-bedroom condo was spacious, well-appointed, and spotless. Everyone in our active family of five had ample room. While a unit on an upper floor might have been more private, the ground floor location proved very useful for us, with three kids constantly tromping to the beach with boogie boards and snorkel gear. We parents enjoyed our private master suite, quite separate from the kids' rooms, with our own large luxury bathroom (large footed tub and double shower) and television. The washer and dryer were indispensable, as was free high speed internet. As we found the restaurants options limited on this part of the island, we preferred to purchase wonderful fresh fish and shrimp from the Kaloa fish market and grilled nightly (there are two grills located steps away in the pool area). Our three boys (ages 16, 14 and 10) had lots of freedom to roam, to Breneke and Poipu beach, and even the shopping center, for activities, shave ice, and other treats, to the pool and hot tub right outside our unit. Rent your boogie boards and snorkeling equipment at Kimo's, near the shopping center on Poipu Road--their prices are better than Nukumoi's and they didn't charge extra when we lost one of the net bags the fins came in. The tennis courts were an unexpected surprise, not mentioned by the other reviewers. For $60, my husband and I could play unlimited tennis for the week, with lots of pick up games available (thanks, Lori!). We spent most of our time on the beach, snorkeling at Poipu and at Lawai beach (near the Beach House restaurant), and boogie boarding at Breneke (just across the street from the resort) as we didn't want to spend a lot of time in the car. The walk from the condo unit to the beach is paved, easy to navigate and quite pleasant. Away from the resort, the kids enjoyed an afternoon of ziplining arranged through Kauai Outfitters, and all of us loved wandering through the Allerton botanical gardens. The hike near Shipwreck beach is also superb and easy to get to from the Villas. The Costco in Lihue is a must--lots of local Hawaiian items as well as high quality mainland groceries at a much lower price (and better quality) than in the local grocery stores. Great for drinks, chips, and snacks. Thank you, Poipu Kai resort, for a memorable week! We will return!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Our family of 5 adults stayed in a ground floor pool-side villa for a week and could not have been more comfortable. The beds were comfortable, the linens luxurious, the kitchen well-stocked with gourmet tools, and even the bathroom amenities were high-end. There is some noise, as the villas are quite close together. They are well-laid out, though, so that no two living rooms face each other, giving each villa a great sense of privacy. Our only complaint was that the bbq grills by the pool were not cleaned regularly, so we decided not to use them.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

It was fantastic! My wife was gushing about the place. She rattled off a virtual laundry list of things she thought really made it top notch.

1 - The grounds were immaculate (she was very complimentary of the groundskeeper(s)
2 - The gourmet kitchen was beautiful (it got her considering ways to upgrade ours)
3 - Being able to easily run loads of laundry made things extra nice
4 - The furnishings were stunning and I don't know how we could've been made more comfortable

I would highly recommend The Villas at Poipu Kai. There have only been a few times in my life I've felt so pampered and it was fun to be able to share that with my children.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

We had a wonderful vacation to the "Villas at Poipu Kai. Their website: www.thevillasatpoipukai.com was very informative. The Villa was in pristine condition and had all of the amenities. The pool, the landscaping and the green space that led to the beach was beautiful. We would highly recommend staying at this gorgeous property. The staff that we booked with were very helpful and did an incredible job to make it possible for us to have a terrific vacation. Thank you Villas Team. Mike & Juanita

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Address: 2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Poipu Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.