We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Villas at Poipu Kai to your Saves list
The Villas at Poipu Kai
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Surfing Lessons
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

The Villas were INCREDIBLE!! We stayed in a 3 Bedroom / 3 Bath – the master bedroom was beautiful, but the master bath is the size of a NYC apartment – double sinks, soaking tub, granite shower. The state of the art kitchen had EVERYTHING! – Sub-Zero Fridge, glass top stove, dishwasher, and an enclosed washer/dryer, plus every appliance you could imagine (did we really need two different sized crock pots AND a rice cooker?! – fantastic). The glass doors to the lanai (which was HUGE) completely opened up and let the trade winds flow into the entire villa. The place was spotless and included flowers and chocolate upon our arrival. The biggest asset that the Villas has is manager Sally Desai – you could not find a more genuine, helpful, joyous (and gorgeous) woman if you tried! The property is located on the green belt and just a short walk to the beach – perfect for sunset cocktails made at my Villa. You can jog to the Hyatt – which was spectacular, but not as “exclusive” as my private villa.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    24
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
93
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

All of the nice things said in other reviews are true. The place is amazing. My fiancé and I came to Kauai to get married on the beach with a teenage son (16 year old). The villa was large enough (3 bdrs 3 baths) for a newly weds to have privacy. The property manager - Sally Desai - is the most helpful and sweet person. Anything you need, she will do with a smile on her face. We were supposed to check out by 10 am, but our flight was not leaving until 10 pm. Sally allowed us (as no one was checking into this villa the same day) to stay in the villa all day till we left to the airport. What a great service! I was truly impressed with the property, service and location. Highly recommended.
Also the place is 5 minutes drive (15 minutes walk) to the award winning "Beach House Restaurant". We had our wedding dinner there. Great food, views of the ocean and the sunset, incredible service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

The Villas at Poipu Kai is the best kept secret on Kauai. The villa we stayed in was simply amazing. It was extremely well-appointed, from the very large flat screen tv's & dvd player, brand-new washer & dryer to the gourmet kitchen that contained every amenity you could possibly ask for. Anything you could think of in a kitchen was available - there was even a pressure cooker!

There was ample space spread out across the villa: a large living & dining room, entryway, island kitchen, outdoor lanai, 3 very spacious bedrooms, and 3 marble bathrooms with massaging showerheads! The main bedroom also had a walkin entryway leading to an exquisite bathtub with generous space for 2! It seemed like no expense was spared in the unit itself.

From our living room and directly in front of our lanai was a private pond with a gorgeous waterfall... Breakfast out there each morning with the sounds of birds, water, the scenery... truly an incredible experience!

And the villas themselves are a 2 minute walk to the tennis courts and only a 4 minute walk to Poipu Beach! The walk itself was appreciated by all of us as the grounds were expertly maintained (highlights being gorgeous birds of paradise flowers, banana trees, swaying palms!).

I almost forgot the pool and jacuzzi (with its own waterfall), 2 5-burner gas grills and a very relaxed setting to enjoy a private, sunset dinner with the family!

Forget the Grand Hyatt, Marriott or Sheraton, surprise your loved ones - If you ever come to Kauai, the Villas at Poipu Kai is the place to be!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We loved our stay at the beautiful Villas at Poipu Kai. These new condos are lovely, upscale, and well appointed. Our unit was spotless and quiet. The kichen had everything you would need if you decided to cook. The master bath was gorgeous and the beds were comfortable. It is quite a walk to either beach so the location may not be ideal for families with very young or very old travelers. We enjoyed a great dinner at the nearby Roy's restaurant. If you enjoy local food/plate lunches, don't miss Pono Market in Kapaa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We returned yesterday from an 8-night stay. We shared a 4-bedroom villa with friends (4 adults, 3 kids). Accommodations were great--clean, spacious, modern. Pool was great for the kids and the beach is about a 5-minute walk.

Cons: mushy mattresses, broken elevator (we had to lug our bags up 3 flights of stairs).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

What a beautiful place this is. I stayed in a million dollar condo with a full kitchen and living room area. There were three bedrooms in my condo and everything was upscale. The best thing about our condo was the 5-panel glass doors that opened up to a large lanai making our place a part of the outdoors. The grounds were beautiful and well-maintained. It was a perfect place for us to accommodate the whole family and we saved a lot of money by eating many of our meals at home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes, France
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

I shouldn't be writing this fabulous review, because I really want to be selfish and keep this great find a secret. Hands down this was by far the best place in Kauai to stay. It's not beach front or ocean view, but when you exit the property, you walk 5 minutes down a nice path straight to Poipu and Brennecke beaches. No need to drive anywhere if you want to spend the day on the beach with your kids. While we did explore ALL of the island and many of its' beaches, the Villas at Poipu Kai were just a perfect fit for us, and we took note of that when driving around to visit other beach areas and saw some of the other resorts.

The villas are huge inside! We had a 2nd floor, 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom. The main master suite has its' own huge master bathroom equipped with 2 person shower, separate tub, double sinks and vanities and walk-in closet. The 2nd master suite had a nice size 2 person shower, single sink and vanity and small walk-in closet and the 3rd bedroom had 2 twin beds lots of closet space and a 3rd bathroom just next to the bedroom. The kitchen was fully equipped and by far the best kitchen I've seen in a rental in a long time. We were in Kauai 8 days/7 nights and ate 3 of our dinners and some of our lunches and all breakfasts at the condo simply because the kitchen was so well equipped for us to prepare any type of meal. The lanai was very spacious. There is an energy efficient washer and dryer in each unit.

The only downside to these condos is that we are NOT air conditioning people, can't stand it. We followed the directions in the welcome book to try to turn it off, but the A/C just kept coming back on every couple of hours regardless. I ended up with a bad cold towards the end of our trip because of it. SO if the mgmt company could place better directions on how to shut down the A/C that would be great. Also, these condos are key free. You use a key pad code to get in. When we initially arrived to unload our stuff, our door was already standing open and so when we left we entered our code to lock up. However, when we returned, our code wouldn't work and so we were locked out of our condo until we could reach the local mgmt who handles emergency issues. They gave us the override pass key code to get in to our condo and mgmt said they would reset the code the next day, and they did. HOWEVER, much to our surprise, that very same night that we had this key pad problem, I was awakened at 11 pm (jet lagged) to someone who had entered into our condo and was trying to get someone's attention from within the condo. Here when I went to the front door, a woman and her teenage daughters had opened our door and were on the phone with mgmt. Apparently we had both been assigned the same condo but with different key pad codes, neither of which worked to properly unlock the door, so mgmt had given this woman the override key pad code also to get in. Fortunately, she was then directed to the condo downstairs where I assume her key pad code worked and we never crossed paths again. But I admit I was uncomfortable with the fact that others staying in our complex had the override code to get into our condo (mgmt never changed that code, they only made our key pad code operable). So these are my 2 issues that mgmt could correct.

Otherwise, as mentioned above, this place is an absolute gem! Kids loved the pool and we loved the proximity to the beaches and the climate on the south side of the island. Also, if you go to Kauai, we highly recommend a visit at Queens Bath even if you don't go there to swim (unless you're willing to risk drowning), Tunnels Reef for snorkeling, Ke'e Beach for the magnificent and lush scenery against the beach and Maha'ulepu Beaches just past the Grand Hyatt for a perfect coastal walk. Waimea Canyon was a beautiful detour for a morning trip for the kids also. Unfortunately, we were not able to get to Barkings Sands, the roads were all closed off.

As for restaurants, if with kids, Bubba's Burgers on the east side of the island as you return from Ke'e Beach, Tunnels Reef etc has excellent burgers. I couldn't believe how good the burgers were. The deli at the Foodland on the north side of the island is great if heading to north side beaches and want to take a lunch with you. Puka Dogs is a must try at the Poipu shopping village. And, on return from Waimea Canyon, as you exit from the main road out of the canyon, you'll see the Shrimp Station on the ocean side of the road, must stop and try the shrimp. Our favorites were the coconut shrimp and the Sweet chili garlic shrimp!!! We also ate one evening at the Brick Oven pizza and we give it a definite thumbs up!!!(get your pizza with the garlic butter option). The Beach House restaurant was nice, but I'm not sure it's really worth an "ONO" the guide gives it, as we eat at a lot of Michelin star restaurants and didn't find the Beach House to be very special for a tropical paradise restaurant.


As this was our first trip to Kauai, we followed almost all of the advice of the "Ultimate Guide to Kauai" guide book and were NEVER disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Address: 2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Poipu Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.