We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Villas at Poipu Kai to your Saves list
The Villas at Poipu Kai
2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recently was married on the island at Shipwrecks Beach. While planning our wedding, I searched around for a spot that would keep our family close..boy am I glad we decided to stay here! We booked the Ohana House and D300 (Penthouse) and both units were unique in their own way.

The wedding party stayed in the Penthouse, a total of 6 of us. It was amazing! The layout was perfect and decor was modern and well thought out. The view from the master bedroom was beautiful...close enough to see the beach! And had a wonderful shower and soaking tub.
We were on the 3rd floor and had a private elevator entrance which was very convenient.

We rented the Ohana house for our family. A perfect spot for them and a really nice backyard for BBQing and little ones to run around in. My family loved it!!!! The entrance was beautiful and welcoming for sure asnd the layout provided privacy for everyone. The only comment I have about this home is that some of the doors did not slide and the blinds were a little dirty. But not something that would keep us from renting it again.

Lauren was a super nice manager, allowing us to check in early and also placing our wedding guest bags in each room! Above and beyond for sure and we couldn't have been happier.

The beach is ony a short 5 minute walk, which we did every day to see the sunset. It is very close to a lot of cool shops and places to grab a bite, even old Koloa. Folks around the Villas are really friendly.

We are definatley coming back, can't wait to book again. We miss Kauai so much! Anyone thinking about staying here, no need to second guess, BOOK IT!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    24
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
91
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at this beautiful condo. Everything was new and well maintained. Great furnishings. Staff was very friendly. A close walk to the beach and very convenient to the Poipu area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in a 3-bedroom Poolside Villa in building A. We were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful and clean our condo was. Everything that we needed for our stay was taken care of. It had beautiful furnishings with granite counters and wood floors. We also loved that we had a washer and dryer in the unit. The lanai was large and we enjoyed spending time there for our meals. The location of the Villa was excellent. Beaches were just a short stroll away. The pool was beautiful and clean and we were pleased that there were beach chairs and other beach items that we could use. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else than the Villas at Poipu Kai when we return to the island of Kauai. We would definitely recommend this property to others!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family recently stayed at the Villas at Poipu Kai and had a wonderful experience from beginning to end. The staff was all very kind and helpful and the property was truly wonderful! Our Villa was beautifully decorated, extremely clean, and had everything we needed to make it our home while on Kauai. We were able to walk down to Poipu or Brennecke's Beach in just 5 minutes (with two small children), and shopping and restaurants were just a few minutes drive away. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to stay in the Poipu area and I can't wait until I can go back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the lovely 3-bedroom Poolside Villas during our recent trip to Kauai. The Villa was clean, comfortable, and very spacious. We especially loved to dine out on our lanai for breakfast and dinner, if we weren't out exploring! The Pool and surrounding area was clean and well kept, and the views were so nice we didn't mind the short walk to the beach.

We had initially considered staying at a nearby hotel, however after staying at these Villas, I don't think I will ever do that again! It was so nice to have the available amenities, to cook if we wanted to, while also having the opportunity to walk to nearby restaurants.

The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We also spoke with the fabulous activities concierge to make reservations for a local luau as well as plan day hikes.

Lastly, the location is perfect! Since the south shore receives far less rain than the north, we were able to plan our day trips up north around the weather, and make the most of our time. We are already planning our next stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently had a wonderful stay at the Villas at Poipu Kai. The property is fabulous, very clean and well maintained. The location could not have been better. Its just a short stroll in one direction to the beach to see the sunrise and a short stroll in the other direction to the beach to see the sunset. The furnishings are very nice and stylish. Everything you could possibly need is included in the kitchens and the appliances are very high-end. There are all kinds of chairs, umbrella and beach items for use. The wonderful staff make our vacation very enjoyable. The pool and beautiful hot tub are very convenient and clean. We loved our stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a great property that really made our vacation. The units are situated a short walk to both beautiful beaches and the Hyatt. The condo is very spacious and very family friendly. Everything is incredibly clean. The staff is courteous. Excellent pool area.
Such a serene property made our vacation remarkable.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Address: 2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Poipu Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.