We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Villas at Poipu Kai to your Saves list
The Villas at Poipu Kai
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Surfing Lessons
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the lovely 3-bedroom Poolside Villas during our recent trip to Kauai. The Villa was clean, comfortable, and very spacious. We especially loved to dine out on our lanai for breakfast and dinner, if we weren't out exploring! The Pool and surrounding area was clean and well kept, and the views were so nice we didn't mind the short walk to the beach.

We had initially considered staying at a nearby hotel, however after staying at these Villas, I don't think I will ever do that again! It was so nice to have the available amenities, to cook if we wanted to, while also having the opportunity to walk to nearby restaurants.

The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We also spoke with the fabulous activities concierge to make reservations for a local luau as well as plan day hikes.

Lastly, the location is perfect! Since the south shore receives far less rain than the north, we were able to plan our day trips up north around the weather, and make the most of our time. We are already planning our next stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    28
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
101
22
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently had a wonderful stay at the Villas at Poipu Kai. The property is fabulous, very clean and well maintained. The location could not have been better. Its just a short stroll in one direction to the beach to see the sunrise and a short stroll in the other direction to the beach to see the sunset. The furnishings are very nice and stylish. Everything you could possibly need is included in the kitchens and the appliances are very high-end. There are all kinds of chairs, umbrella and beach items for use. The wonderful staff make our vacation very enjoyable. The pool and beautiful hot tub are very convenient and clean. We loved our stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a great property that really made our vacation. The units are situated a short walk to both beautiful beaches and the Hyatt. The condo is very spacious and very family friendly. Everything is incredibly clean. The staff is courteous. Excellent pool area.
Such a serene property made our vacation remarkable.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Old condos - not update - did not look anything like web pictures. There was Mold in bathrooms and no Air Condition. Pool and ocean not near room and no view of either. They was a sign that they would be spraying for bugs in the next couple days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryTaylor, Guest Relations Manager at The Villas at Poipu Kai, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Aloha dmhodson1,

We are so sorry to hear of your experience, but we're afraid that this review has been misposted. All of our villas have air conditioning, and the poolside Villas surround our pool. Our property was newly built in 2009, and we don't post signage anywhere when pest control measures are being taken. We also have no guests with the last name Hodson in our reservations system from last Spring. This all seems to indicate that you stayed somewhere else. We would love to help you find the correct home for your review and wish you the best in your future travels.

The Villas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

First off, I have to give special props to the incredible staff at Villas at Poipu Kai - especially Ann, Tawni, Laurie and Laurel. Almost exactly one year ago, we called and booked five units at Villas at Poipu Kai for 35 (out of 42) people who were coming for my daughter's wedding. We booked two of the penthouses, a five-bedroom unit and a two-bedroom unit in the Garden Villas along with the Ohana House. Over the months between booking and arriving, I had a lot of questions as I organized the wedding week for my daughter who lives in Sweden and her now husband who is from New Zealand and guests from all over the world and even though it often takes island time to get responses from most venues, VPK answered every question promptly and fully - even the silly little ones. I think the phrase our guests heard from me over and over throughout the week that we were there (August 17-24) is "We could not have stayed anywhere more perfect than this" and they all agreed. It is a beautiful property. Every unit was roomy and well-appointed and so like a home away from home. Every one of our guests was just over-the-top pleased with where they were staying. The pool was great and I'm afraid we took it over a couple of times but I have pictures of our group having a great time in the pool with other families so I'm not sure anyone minded sharing. I'd read in previous reviews that one of the complaints was that the pool is cold. Our group thought it was so warm that they'd actually go and sit in the hot tub a bit so when they got back in the pool, it would feel cooler! Maybe a difference in season? The location of VPK between three great beaches was awesome. Yes, it is a bit of a walk but what a beautiful walk along the Green Belt. I got up at sunrise nearly every morning and walked to Shipwreck Beach - about 10 minutes to watch the glorious morning colors. We'd walk the other way to Poipu Beach - about 7 minutes - to body surf and snorkel and watch the sunset. Our twenty-somethings probably spent most of their time catching waves at Brennecke Beach with boogie boards borrowed from the VPK stock.

Villas at Poipu Kai are located in Poipu near Koloa. They are an easy 25 minute drive from Lihue Airport and there is plenty of parking. People staying in B,C, D and E have to pull suitcases a little further while A, F, G and H are all on the parking lot. The Big Save in Koloa is a pretty good grocery store though the shelves can be thin at times. When we arrived their entire dairy section was on the blink but they were happy to dig through their back-room stock to come up with a gallon of milk for you. Walmart in Lihue is okay but also suffers from thin shelves. Most of our group thought Costco was the best choice for stocking up (must have membership).

The units we rented…
H213 - this is a two-bedroom condo that VPK rented to us as a one-bedroom by closing off the smaller bedroom. It's huge and beautifully decorated with Tommy Bahama decor. It's on the first floor and the view from the living room is parking lot and a bit of garden path. My daughter and her husband loved it. One of the few problems we had the entire week happened with this unit but one call to Lauren and it was promptly taken care of.

H222 - this is a 5-bedroom condo that is two levels and starts on the second floor. It sleeps 12 though we only had 11 here. The common areas are huge so there was plenty of room for everybody to congregate. I got a quick glance into all the bedrooms and was happy to see that those described as loft bedrooms had huge slatted walls to provide privacy though I'm not sure they'd do much for noise but no one complained. This unit was also nicely decorated in Tommy Bahama. The young people staying here thought it was great; even the dorm room style room with 4 twin beds that was perfect for a bunch of guys. The A/C was on the blink but one call to Lauren and it was fixed quickly.

F300 and A300 - We rented two of the penthouse units at VPK. F300 had wooden floors and a beautiful white kitchen and A300 had terrazzo floors and a dark walnut kitchen. Both were absolutely beautiful units. Huge and roomy with a gigantic lanai that extended the living room by several feet when you threw all the doors open. The kitchens, like all the kitchens in the units at VPK were really big and stocked with just about everything you could possibly need including sharp knives. There were full-sized stainless steel appliances including a dishwasher and a huge granite topped island with a butler sink complete with disposal that was perfect for making a feast. Dish soap, salt and pepper are provided as well as extra garbage bags. And we were surprised by a big roomy pantry which made me really happy since I hate having things lying about on counter-tops. The dining table seated 8 easily and there was a small desk as well. You could seat six more people at the table on the lanai which had great views of the ocean and mountains. We enjoyed breakfast on the lanai every morning and watched the sunset in the evenings. The master suites were stunning and there was a great view of the ocean from the A300 master. The master bath had a huge walk-in shower with dual heads, a large soaking tub and double vanity sinks. F300 had three additional bedrooms with at least queen size beds and A300 had three additional bedrooms, two with queen size beds and one with a trundle bed. One small drawback was the lack of a closet in one of the bedrooms but there was a large dresser. The master suite has a walk-in-closet with plenty of room. All of the penthouse suites have elevator access using a key fob for private access and all have full size washer and dryer units. VPK provides laundry soap and we had plenty for the entire week's stay. And there is a huge stack of thick high quality beach towels - enough for eight. An iron and ironing board was provided and there were hair dryers in every bathroom. Three of the bedrooms had en suite bathrooms though one of the smaller bedroom's bath is rather small. F300 hosted a dinner party for eight one evening and it was fabulous. Felt like home - actually felt roomier than home! And A300 comfortably had 30 people in for potluck on our last evening in Kauai - didn't feel crowded at all!

Ohana House: This house was an absolute must-have if you are hosting a lot of people. The home is a one-story private home located on a wee square of green between the Poolside Villas and The Garden Villas. It had the largest common area of all of our units so it ended up being the place we congregated the most. On the evening of our first full day in Kauai we rented tables and benches that were set up in the backyard of Ohana House and cooked up a huge feast. We had plenty of room for our 35 guests plus a bunch who were staying in condos nearby. We used the kitchens in the penthouses to cook and the tiki grill in Ohana House’s backyard to grill. In retrospect, it would've been tons of fun to buy a few tiki lanterns and light up the night since with the exception of a light by the grill and a porch light, there was pretty much no illumination. Considering that VPK (and most of Kauai) has a 10pm quiet rule, that was probably for the best. Moving the party indoors after 10 was easy and since Ohana House is set away from the other accommodations, it was the perfect location for late night get-togethers. Ohana House also has a great private back lanai and pretty front lanai with cushy outdoor furniture to relax in.

On the morning of the wedding, we had the hairdresser and the bridal party come in to A300 to get ready and it could not have been more perfect. There was more than enough room for everyone which made it a really relaxing morning before heading off to the wedding.

We could not have pulled off this kind of gathering without the Villas at Poipu Kai. It was absolutely perfect and there’s not a thing we would change. Next time we come to Kauai, we will definitely stay at VPK! Thanks so much for helping to make my daughter’s wedding week amazing!

Room Tip: A300 has ocean views and mountain views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We wife and 2 kids recently stayed at the Villa of Poipu pool side villa for 5 nights. The condo was clean and spacious. The appliances were great. The pool was nice and it was nice to use the beach chairs, toys, boogie boards, and cooler during our stay. Nothing was wrong with our stay. I rated this lower because we spent the previous 10 nights in Princeville in a 3 bedroom condo that was less than this condo and we felt we got a better value from the Princeville condo with the same amenities. When we go to Kauai again we will probably rent a place near Princeville.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor room are better. Don't have any foot track walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

First off - hat tip to the on-site managers, Lauren and Kara. They will do anything they can to make your stay unforgettable. We weren't the easiest group to deal with as we had 3 kids in tow, our nanny and my sister and brother-in-law - and I messed up our reservation by missing one night! Lauren pushed their schedule to get us into another unit for that night. We also returned to this property during our second week, after a terrible one-night stay at a Hanalei resort up north. Again, Lauren really helped us out and got us another unit for the week! Thanks Lauren!

Second - walking into the penthouse four bedroom unit takes your breath away. It's luxurious. It's spotless. Smooth jazz playing in the background. The staff really put effort into the smallest detail! The marble floors and counters, huge ensuite showers and massive balconies match any top-drawer, big-city hotel. You will pinch yourself that you're staying here - and at incredibly reasonable rates!

Third - Poipu is lovely for a family stay! I could see how some might not like the 5 minute walk to the beach, but we loved it. You're in Hawaii surrounded by beauty. Enjoy the stroll!

Fourth - air conditioning!

Fifth - the pool area is great for kids and adults alike.

The only issue is the noise transfer to the suite below. We are a pretty tame group, but the people below us moved because of the noise. When we moved to a lower level unit, we could see why. If at all possible - spring the the top floor units.

All-in-all, we were skeptical about renting a condo for this vacation but with 8 of us we didn't have much choice. All concerns were allayed and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The property is small, so choosing a specific villa doesn't matter. If you're sensitive to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Address: 2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Poipu Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.