We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect - We could not have stayed anywhere better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Save Saved
You added The Villas at Poipu Kai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Villas at Poipu Kai
2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Chicago
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect - We could not have stayed anywhere better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

First off, I have to give special props to the incredible staff at Villas at Poipu Kai - especially Ann, Tawni, Laurie and Laurel. Almost exactly one year ago, we called and booked five units at Villas at Poipu Kai for 35 (out of 42) people who were coming for my daughter's wedding. We booked two of the penthouses, a five-bedroom unit and a two-bedroom unit in the Garden Villas along with the Ohana House. Over the months between booking and arriving, I had a lot of questions as I organized the wedding week for my daughter who lives in Sweden and her now husband who is from New Zealand and guests from all over the world and even though it often takes island time to get responses from most venues, VPK answered every question promptly and fully - even the silly little ones. I think the phrase our guests heard from me over and over throughout the week that we were there (August 17-24) is "We could not have stayed anywhere more perfect than this" and they all agreed. It is a beautiful property. Every unit was roomy and well-appointed and so like a home away from home. Every one of our guests was just over-the-top pleased with where they were staying. The pool was great and I'm afraid we took it over a couple of times but I have pictures of our group having a great time in the pool with other families so I'm not sure anyone minded sharing. I'd read in previous reviews that one of the complaints was that the pool is cold. Our group thought it was so warm that they'd actually go and sit in the hot tub a bit so when they got back in the pool, it would feel cooler! Maybe a difference in season? The location of VPK between three great beaches was awesome. Yes, it is a bit of a walk but what a beautiful walk along the Green Belt. I got up at sunrise nearly every morning and walked to Shipwreck Beach - about 10 minutes to watch the glorious morning colors. We'd walk the other way to Poipu Beach - about 7 minutes - to body surf and snorkel and watch the sunset. Our twenty-somethings probably spent most of their time catching waves at Brennecke Beach with boogie boards borrowed from the VPK stock.

Villas at Poipu Kai are located in Poipu near Koloa. They are an easy 25 minute drive from Lihue Airport and there is plenty of parking. People staying in B,C, D and E have to pull suitcases a little further while A, F, G and H are all on the parking lot. The Big Save in Koloa is a pretty good grocery store though the shelves can be thin at times. When we arrived their entire dairy section was on the blink but they were happy to dig through their back-room stock to come up with a gallon of milk for you. Walmart in Lihue is okay but also suffers from thin shelves. Most of our group thought Costco was the best choice for stocking up (must have membership).

The units we rented…
H213 - this is a two-bedroom condo that VPK rented to us as a one-bedroom by closing off the smaller bedroom. It's huge and beautifully decorated with Tommy Bahama decor. It's on the first floor and the view from the living room is parking lot and a bit of garden path. My daughter and her husband loved it. One of the few problems we had the entire week happened with this unit but one call to Lauren and it was promptly taken care of.

H222 - this is a 5-bedroom condo that is two levels and starts on the second floor. It sleeps 12 though we only had 11 here. The common areas are huge so there was plenty of room for everybody to congregate. I got a quick glance into all the bedrooms and was happy to see that those described as loft bedrooms had huge slatted walls to provide privacy though I'm not sure they'd do much for noise but no one complained. This unit was also nicely decorated in Tommy Bahama. The young people staying here thought it was great; even the dorm room style room with 4 twin beds that was perfect for a bunch of guys. The A/C was on the blink but one call to Lauren and it was fixed quickly.

F300 and A300 - We rented two of the penthouse units at VPK. F300 had wooden floors and a beautiful white kitchen and A300 had terrazzo floors and a dark walnut kitchen. Both were absolutely beautiful units. Huge and roomy with a gigantic lanai that extended the living room by several feet when you threw all the doors open. The kitchens, like all the kitchens in the units at VPK were really big and stocked with just about everything you could possibly need including sharp knives. There were full-sized stainless steel appliances including a dishwasher and a huge granite topped island with a butler sink complete with disposal that was perfect for making a feast. Dish soap, salt and pepper are provided as well as extra garbage bags. And we were surprised by a big roomy pantry which made me really happy since I hate having things lying about on counter-tops. The dining table seated 8 easily and there was a small desk as well. You could seat six more people at the table on the lanai which had great views of the ocean and mountains. We enjoyed breakfast on the lanai every morning and watched the sunset in the evenings. The master suites were stunning and there was a great view of the ocean from the A300 master. The master bath had a huge walk-in shower with dual heads, a large soaking tub and double vanity sinks. F300 had three additional bedrooms with at least queen size beds and A300 had three additional bedrooms, two with queen size beds and one with a trundle bed. One small drawback was the lack of a closet in one of the bedrooms but there was a large dresser. The master suite has a walk-in-closet with plenty of room. All of the penthouse suites have elevator access using a key fob for private access and all have full size washer and dryer units. VPK provides laundry soap and we had plenty for the entire week's stay. And there is a huge stack of thick high quality beach towels - enough for eight. An iron and ironing board was provided and there were hair dryers in every bathroom. Three of the bedrooms had en suite bathrooms though one of the smaller bedroom's bath is rather small. F300 hosted a dinner party for eight one evening and it was fabulous. Felt like home - actually felt roomier than home! And A300 comfortably had 30 people in for potluck on our last evening in Kauai - didn't feel crowded at all!

Ohana House: This house was an absolute must-have if you are hosting a lot of people. The home is a one-story private home located on a wee square of green between the Poolside Villas and The Garden Villas. It had the largest common area of all of our units so it ended up being the place we congregated the most. On the evening of our first full day in Kauai we rented tables and benches that were set up in the backyard of Ohana House and cooked up a huge feast. We had plenty of room for our 35 guests plus a bunch who were staying in condos nearby. We used the kitchens in the penthouses to cook and the tiki grill in Ohana House’s backyard to grill. In retrospect, it would've been tons of fun to buy a few tiki lanterns and light up the night since with the exception of a light by the grill and a porch light, there was pretty much no illumination. Considering that VPK (and most of Kauai) has a 10pm quiet rule, that was probably for the best. Moving the party indoors after 10 was easy and since Ohana House is set away from the other accommodations, it was the perfect location for late night get-togethers. Ohana House also has a great private back lanai and pretty front lanai with cushy outdoor furniture to relax in.

On the morning of the wedding, we had the hairdresser and the bridal party come in to A300 to get ready and it could not have been more perfect. There was more than enough room for everyone which made it a really relaxing morning before heading off to the wedding.

We could not have pulled off this kind of gathering without the Villas at Poipu Kai. It was absolutely perfect and there’s not a thing we would change. Next time we come to Kauai, we will definitely stay at VPK! Thanks so much for helping to make my daughter’s wedding week amazing!

Room Tip: A300 has ocean views and mountain views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishkill
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We wife and 2 kids recently stayed at the Villa of Poipu pool side villa for 5 nights. The condo was clean and spacious. The appliances were great. The pool was nice and it was nice to use the beach chairs, toys, boogie boards, and cooler during our stay. Nothing was wrong with our stay. I rated this lower because we spent the previous 10 nights in Princeville in a 3 bedroom condo that was less than this condo and we felt we got a better value from the Princeville condo with the same amenities. When we go to Kauai again we will probably rent a place near Princeville.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor room are better. Don't have any foot track walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

First off - hat tip to the on-site managers, Lauren and Kara. They will do anything they can to make your stay unforgettable. We weren't the easiest group to deal with as we had 3 kids in tow, our nanny and my sister and brother-in-law - and I messed up our reservation by missing one night! Lauren pushed their schedule to get us into another unit for that night. We also returned to this property during our second week, after a terrible one-night stay at a Hanalei resort up north. Again, Lauren really helped us out and got us another unit for the week! Thanks Lauren!

Second - walking into the penthouse four bedroom unit takes your breath away. It's luxurious. It's spotless. Smooth jazz playing in the background. The staff really put effort into the smallest detail! The marble floors and counters, huge ensuite showers and massive balconies match any top-drawer, big-city hotel. You will pinch yourself that you're staying here - and at incredibly reasonable rates!

Third - Poipu is lovely for a family stay! I could see how some might not like the 5 minute walk to the beach, but we loved it. You're in Hawaii surrounded by beauty. Enjoy the stroll!

Fourth - air conditioning!

Fifth - the pool area is great for kids and adults alike.

The only issue is the noise transfer to the suite below. We are a pretty tame group, but the people below us moved because of the noise. When we moved to a lower level unit, we could see why. If at all possible - spring the the top floor units.

All-in-all, we were skeptical about renting a condo for this vacation but with 8 of us we didn't have much choice. All concerns were allayed and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The property is small, so choosing a specific villa doesn't matter. If you're sensitive to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We loved our stay here. We stayed here for a week with a garden view room on the first floor. It was first rate. The condo itself was beautifully appointed. It had all high end furnishings and kitchen cookware and dishes. The pans were All-Clad and it had every appliance you would need, including a slow cooker and rice cooker. The lanai was spacious and had very nice patio furniture. The pool was steps away and was heated (not sure what happened to cause complaints for earlier reviewers, but the pool was perfect for us). There was also a really nice hot tub fed by a waterfall. The landscaping around the pool and grounds was lovely. The bedrooms and baths were spacious and beautiful. The beds were really comfy. And all of this for a price that was very good for such a lovely place in Hawaii. The staff was very nice and helpful. It is a condo so there is only maid service if you request it. You are responsible for keeping it clean and taking out the garbage, but they give you all you need to keep it clean and take care of the place.

Finally, the location was perfect for us. The beach was close by. The Villas are close to Koloa and Lawai. We played golf and went to the spa at the Grand Hyatt, which is within walking distance. The golf and spa were both amazing!

Room Tip: Building E was close to pool and parking. Was pretty quiet. We liked being on the first floor but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you can stay here ...do it. Amazing accommodations. Incredible location, my second trip to Kauai. Great first time not far from here. No comparison this time. Here with my daughter, son in law and three grandsons. Almost had individual suites.. Or so it seemed. Quiet, spacious, luxurious for a family vacation. Everyone pleased with easy access to fabulous beach, surfing equipment provided..just drop some breadcrumbs to be sure you know the way back..(or ask your 9 year old grandson.)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Villas July 1 thru July 10, 2013. We loved it there. It was close to so many beaches and fun things to do. We had the 4 bedroom villa-my husband, my daughter, her husband, and 3 children ages 2,5, and 10 spent the whole time there. My Son who lives in Chicago came for 5 of the days. This Villa had lots of room and privacy for all. They also supply beach towels, beach toys, boogie boards etc. and that was another big plus. Property is as good as describe or even better. We are already planning our next visit there. Book it, you will love it. It is paradise for couples and/or families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were totally blown away by this place. We stayed for 4 days in the early summer of 2010 and liked it so much, we just booked the penthouse for 2 weeks for the summer of 2014!! Amazing place with amazing amenities and the people (especially Ann) are great to work with. I can't say enough good about this place. if you are looking for a place to stay in Kauai, don't hesitate or bother looking anywhere else; just book this place. You won't regret it. EVER!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai
Address: 2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Poipu Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.