We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Villas at Poipu Kai to your Saves list
The Villas at Poipu Kai
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Villas July 1 thru July 10, 2013. We loved it there. It was close to so many beaches and fun things to do. We had the 4 bedroom villa-my husband, my daughter, her husband, and 3 children ages 2,5, and 10 spent the whole time there. My Son who lives in Chicago came for 5 of the days. This Villa had lots of room and privacy for all. They also supply beach towels, beach toys, boogie boards etc. and that was another big plus. Property is as good as describe or even better. We are already planning our next visit there. Book it, you will love it. It is paradise for couples and/or families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    31
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
110
26
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were totally blown away by this place. We stayed for 4 days in the early summer of 2010 and liked it so much, we just booked the penthouse for 2 weeks for the summer of 2014!! Amazing place with amazing amenities and the people (especially Ann) are great to work with. I can't say enough good about this place. if you are looking for a place to stay in Kauai, don't hesitate or bother looking anywhere else; just book this place. You won't regret it. EVER!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed as a group of 5, 2 couples, 1 single. Unit F210, 3 bed/3bath unit, 2nd floor. Met and far exceeded expectations. We agree with others on the sound from wood floors, but nothing that should discourage you from staying here. There were "echos" of people walking but not everytime when someone walked. Mostly when entering or leaving or when someone would drop a piece of luggage...no worries/don't sweat it. Description Villas website is spot on. Agree pool was on cool side, but we stayed in late March/early April and outside temp was a bit cooler than usual. Again, if you want warm/hot water use the hot tub, if you want to cool down from the warm sun, no issues. Staff was available when needed but usually out of sight by mid-day, this was a good thing, no mowers or trimmers, no cleaning/maintenance carts, just relaxtion. Hope this helps... and Aloha.. John from Ohio

Room Tip: choose a second or third floor room/better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in a beautiful second floor 3 bedroom overlooking the pool. The grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect. Only complaint was the pool temperature. Too cold for me, but the children did not seem to care. All in all it is an excellent choice for a family vacation. Walked to the Hyatt every morning with the kids to feed the Koi there..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I returned this year during Spring Break with our three children to what we are now convinced is the one of the greatest properties in Kauai. The building, upkeep and 3 bedrooom villa is spacious, well appointed and wonderful. The location - on the sunny corner of Kauai is perfect for all activities - a short walk to the greatest beach in the world and close to good food and restaurants. The arrangements and management is professional and easy to work with.

It is absolutely the greatest location in paradise. Visit St. Raphael's Catholic Church, the oldest on the island for the best sunrise Mass if one can.

Mahalo.

Room Tip: Top floors (third floors) are quietest but overall every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in the 4 bedroom "penthouse" and loved the roominess, cleanliness and location. Staff could not have been more helpful and the accommodations were superb. When we were in need of beach chairs and an umbrella, the staff purchased new ones the same day for our use. Pool was never to crowded and we were centrally located. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in poolside villa C210 from March 11-15, 2013. The villa is beautifully decorated - hardwood floors, huge kitchen with granite countertops - tons of space for a family of 4 (kids ages 11 and 14). We loved having a separate bedroom AND bathroom for each kid. Also, having a washer and dryer was a must for a stay at the beach. Like other reviewers stated, we could hear footsteps from the villa above us. However, it was more "background" noise and we did not find it disturbing.
We thought the location was perfect. Shipwreck Beach and the Hyatt is a 5 minute walk on a paved walkway. Brennecke Beach and Poipu Beach are about a 3-5 minute walk in the other direction. Brennecke was great for boogie boarding (used the boogie boards provided by the villas). We saw turtles in the waves on the edge of the beach by the rocks as well. Poipu was calmer and great for snorkeling. There was a turtle very close to shore and we waded out right next to it!
There is a grocery store in Koloa - about a 3 minute drive away. There are also nice restaurants close by in the Poipu shopping area.
One day we drove to Ke'e Beach on the north shore and hiked the 2 mile portion of the Kapalau Trail. It's about a 90 minute drive to Ke'e Beach and well worth it. Stunning views on the hike!
I would definitely recommend the Villas at Kai! Great location, beautifully decorated with conveniences of home, attentive management.

Room Tip: C210 is on the second floor, away from the pool. We were insulated from any pool noise in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Address: 2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Poipu Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.