We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Place to stay in Kauai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Villas at Poipu Kai to your Saves list
The Villas at Poipu Kai
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Surfing Lessons
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Greatest Place to stay in Kauai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I returned this year during Spring Break with our three children to what we are now convinced is the one of the greatest properties in Kauai. The building, upkeep and 3 bedrooom villa is spacious, well appointed and wonderful. The location - on the sunny corner of Kauai is perfect for all activities - a short walk to the greatest beach in the world and close to good food and restaurants. The arrangements and management is professional and easy to work with.

It is absolutely the greatest location in paradise. Visit St. Raphael's Catholic Church, the oldest on the island for the best sunrise Mass if one can.

Mahalo.

Room Tip: Top floors (third floors) are quietest but overall every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    24
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
91
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 4 bedroom "penthouse" and loved the roominess, cleanliness and location. Staff could not have been more helpful and the accommodations were superb. When we were in need of beach chairs and an umbrella, the staff purchased new ones the same day for our use. Pool was never to crowded and we were centrally located. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in poolside villa C210 from March 11-15, 2013. The villa is beautifully decorated - hardwood floors, huge kitchen with granite countertops - tons of space for a family of 4 (kids ages 11 and 14). We loved having a separate bedroom AND bathroom for each kid. Also, having a washer and dryer was a must for a stay at the beach. Like other reviewers stated, we could hear footsteps from the villa above us. However, it was more "background" noise and we did not find it disturbing.
We thought the location was perfect. Shipwreck Beach and the Hyatt is a 5 minute walk on a paved walkway. Brennecke Beach and Poipu Beach are about a 3-5 minute walk in the other direction. Brennecke was great for boogie boarding (used the boogie boards provided by the villas). We saw turtles in the waves on the edge of the beach by the rocks as well. Poipu was calmer and great for snorkeling. There was a turtle very close to shore and we waded out right next to it!
There is a grocery store in Koloa - about a 3 minute drive away. There are also nice restaurants close by in the Poipu shopping area.
One day we drove to Ke'e Beach on the north shore and hiked the 2 mile portion of the Kapalau Trail. It's about a 90 minute drive to Ke'e Beach and well worth it. Stunning views on the hike!
I would definitely recommend the Villas at Kai! Great location, beautifully decorated with conveniences of home, attentive management.

Room Tip: C210 is on the second floor, away from the pool. We were insulated from any pool noise in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great stay. We were in a three bedroom unit on the ground floor. Our unit was beautifully decorated and maintained--a class act all the way. These aren't cheap, but a full (and fully equipped) kitchen giving you the serious option of in-room meals more than made up for that. Full washer and dryer in the room was also a lifesaving and reduced the packing burden substantially for a family of four on a one week trip. There is a nice pool and spa area complete with barbeque grills for guest use. My 11yo LOVED the pool. Importantly, there are beach chairs, sand toys, boogies boards, and (limited) snorkelling equipment available to guests to borrow. This is an important thing when visiting Hawaii. Most folks ending up buying/abandoning cheap equipment or renting beach stuff while in Hawaii, and that ain't cheap. Factor this in when considering costs. We made great use of this little perq.

The Villas back to a nice walking/biking trail that in one directions leads down to Brenneckes Beach/Poipu Beach, and in the other to Shipwreck Beach. Poipu Beach is about a 5-10 minute walk, easy for the kids, and Shipwreck maybe 10-15 minutes. Groceries, great food, all within a 3 mile drive. High speed wireless internet that was actually high speed. Nice patio for coffee in the morning and a glass of wine to watch the sunset. Perfect.

Only fly in the ointment for us was a family of thunderfoots upstairs that seemed to pace the apartment constantly. I would (and will) absolutely stay in these again, but will weigh the risk of noisy upstairs neighbors vs. the schlep up the steps carefully next time.

Room Tip: They will close off bedrooms in the larger units and price the unit lower if they have unrented unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Not the cheapest place to stay but when you figure that you have a washer and dryer available and full kitchen the savings in clothing needed and eating out evens it out. There was just my wife and myself so they closed off two of the bedrooms for a cost savings. We had a huge amount of space for the two of us. If you want a place right on the beach, a place where somebody cleans and makes your bed then this is probable not the place for you. If you want a place that is on a paved walk greenway to three beaches( 5 to ten minute walk), then this is an excellent value. Always remember that there are very few beaches on this island where you can walk for miles on the beach itself but this location gets you to a large beautiful beach which is not very good for swimming(Shipwreck Beach) but is very pretty and wide. This my favorite. You can also easily get to Poipu Beach which is better for wading and swimming, a family beach. The staff was very helpful and fixed our dishwasher promptly when it did not work. Complaints? Not deal breakers but they need to maintain the washer and dishwasher better. Cleaning and wiping the underside surface of the clothes washer seal and running a bleach clean cycle would help immensely. Also a vinegar cleaning cycle would help with the dishwasher. We did the bleach cleanse ourselves due to the mold smell, a problem with all front load washers. These two things would require very little time and expense on the cleaning staff's part. Our unit looked out on the pool and we had very little problem with noise, etc. so would I stay here again? Yes. If I wanted to be right on the beach, I would probably try to stay at the Grand Hyatt at Shipwreck Beach and take a lower amenity tiered room to save $$, but remember your not going to cook in your room or have the space and I mean lots of space. It's as big as a lot of big city apartments.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANTIOCH
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Loved the Villas at Poipu. Would definitely stay there again. The Villas are located in the center of another condo group. But there are so few Villas they form a tight circle of buildings around their private pool area, so you feel like your away from the hustle and bustle of Poipu. You see few other vacationer, when out and about on the Villa property.

The pool is not huge but there usually was only about 5-7 people in the fenced area. Always enough loungers to sun in. Pool is a little cold, but I went to the ajointing hot tub. Few people used in the evening.

Lauren(manager)/Todd are quick to tend to a emergency. Within twenty minutes of calling Lauren at 9:30 pm the problem was solved. Todd put an end to the chirping smoke detector.
Brought two batteries and changed the one chirping and the one in the hallway,too

I walked for 5 minutes down the walkway and only found the tennis courts NO Beaches. We took are car and went to the three beaches.

Room Tip: A210 has many pluses and a few negatives. The master bedroom had done. The queen bedroom up front ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here. The convenience of a working kitchen, washer dryer and access to beaches was paramount for us with a newborn. It was easy to get to so many places from the villas.

We were very happy with the Villas team and their quick responses to emails and questions. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Address: 2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Poipu Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.