We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Villas at Poipu Kai to your Saves list
The Villas at Poipu Kai
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Surfing Lessons
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Torrance
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Villas at Poipu Kai. The staff is great, Lauren (Manager) was very welcoming and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful. Stayed in a 4 bedroom poolside villa -- F100 is perfectly located. Other family members in our party were staying in nearby villas. Pool area is lovely. Short walk to the beach along the path. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    25
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
94
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had planned to go to Cabo, but due to passport issues (2 days before the trip), we canceled and headed to Kauai. We were very fortunate to have found a 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo at The Villas at Poipu Kai. What a beautifully furnished condo, overlooking the pool! The balcony was fabulous, as we sat out there at night and sipped some wine, while the sounds of the fountain in the hot tub soothed us from our busy days. (spending our days with 5 kids requires a little downtime in the evening)

This condo was fully equipped with EVERYTHING you could possibly need!

The resort has a room stocked with sand toys, beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, even collapsible coolers to take to the beach. We travel quite a lot and this is the first time a condo complex has provided these things; it was fabulous!

The workout room was fully equipped and nicely clean; I used it several times throughout the week.

Lauren was the oncall person for the complex. She was amazing and very attentive! We had an issue and she was all over it to get it resolved ASAP. It was Thanksgiving week and she was the only person on call, but was always pleasant and attentive to our needs. Got to LOVE that!

The property is located across the street from the beach, but the walk is pretty and the grounds are very nice.

We will definitely return to Kauai and to The Villas at Poipu Kai

Room Tip: We started out in a garden view room and it was fabulous! There's a grill right outside of each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Kauai November 15-22 and stayed with my sister and family at the Regency Garden Villas G120. We had a wonderful time! The condo is a three bedroom with three full baths and is completely furnished. You couldn't ask for a better location! Just a short five minute walk to the beaches and golf courses and several great restaurants close by. We even had a Thanksgiving dinner at the condo! My sister and husband bought this unit in June and rent it out throughout the year. Check out their business page on Facebook, GMD Vacations, LLC. We are definitely going back next year!

Room Tip: This unit is on the second floor which we loved, quieter and a great view and has two lanais !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My family, parents and daughter's boyfriend (who proposed while we were there), stayed in E300, a Penthouse Villa, and my husband's Aunt and her husband stayed nearby at one of the Garden Villas. Our villa overlooked the pool area on the side with two bedrooms, and the mountains on the side of the master bedroom. The lanai was facing another penthouse but you could see part of the pool area and the mountains on either side. It was absolutely gorgeous!

The elevator takes you straight into the penthouse which was great for luggage and for my mom who has a little trouble with stairs. The villas provided us with some rafts, beach chairs and umbrellas which we used at the nearby beaches. (They do run out of these so request them upon arrival.)

Beautiful rooms, a fairly large kitchen and a big dining table gave us lots of room to cook and socialize. Excellent staff that helped us out whenever we needed anything from directions to extra baking dishes for our enchiladas. The walk to the beach was a little far for my mom, but it was a nice walk for the rest of us, maybe 5-10 minutes. The pool was clean and an excellent spot to relax and take a dip. The Villas at Poi Pu are like an oasis without the hectic hustle and bustle of a hotel, but with a little community of fellow travelers who are seeking a more relaxing environment near the beach.

My husband's Aunt and her husband stayed in the Garden Villas (I don't remember which number) on the 1st floor. They were very nice inside and comfortable- although not as much of a luxury feel as the Penthouse. They are a little ways from the pool- 2 minutes. She was very happy with their villa.

We are planning on staying here again!

Room Tip: Our room E300 was excellent with pool and mountain views. 2 Bedrooms on the poolside, Master on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at poolside unit, second floor. Good value for families, kitchen indeed has all needed utensils. If traveling as a couple, staying at Hyatt would be more romantic. Was worried about cleanliness from reading other reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. Very quiet, as we went off season.

Room Tip: A 211 was above clubhouse, so we did not need to worry about our kids disturbing visitors below. Li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for Spring Break last year and absolutely loved it. The villas are well appointed 3 bedroom set up. It was plenty of room for my 13, 9 and 7 year old. The facility was first rate with top of the line appliances and a smaller swimming pool and hottub set up. There were BBQs available by the pool as well. The location was great! We were able to walk to Brennecke's beach and the villas provided free access to as many boogie boards and beach chairs as we liked. The boogie boarding was fantastic and my kids couldn't get enough. It was also right next to a beach where we could do some minor snorkeling. There is a nice walking path that goes through the villas and other condos and I ran down to the Hyatt on occasion. This is a great spot to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We are planning our destination wedding in Kauai, and the whole experience of selecting the condo was an easy and painless process, thanks to Ann and her colleagues. They are super responsive, super helpful, very accomodating. They listen to what your needs are, and quickly get you the information. I can't say enough good things about the process of securing the condo and the staff going above and beyond with helpful information for our wedding destination. Definitely recommend them to anyone wanting an easy process for securing a beautiful place. The condos themselves are very well known by wedding planners, hair stylists, etc so am anticipating a beautiful place to get ready for our wedding!

Room Tip: We wanted ocean view for our wedding photos so chose the buildings they recommended with the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Address: 2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Poipu Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.