We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gorgeous Retreat on Poi Pu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Poipu Kai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Villas at Poipu Kai to your Saves list
The Villas at Poipu Kai
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Surfing Lessons
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Allen, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Gorgeous Retreat on Poi Pu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My family, parents and daughter's boyfriend (who proposed while we were there), stayed in E300, a Penthouse Villa, and my husband's Aunt and her husband stayed nearby at one of the Garden Villas. Our villa overlooked the pool area on the side with two bedrooms, and the mountains on the side of the master bedroom. The lanai was facing another penthouse but you could see part of the pool area and the mountains on either side. It was absolutely gorgeous!

The elevator takes you straight into the penthouse which was great for luggage and for my mom who has a little trouble with stairs. The villas provided us with some rafts, beach chairs and umbrellas which we used at the nearby beaches. (They do run out of these so request them upon arrival.)

Beautiful rooms, a fairly large kitchen and a big dining table gave us lots of room to cook and socialize. Excellent staff that helped us out whenever we needed anything from directions to extra baking dishes for our enchiladas. The walk to the beach was a little far for my mom, but it was a nice walk for the rest of us, maybe 5-10 minutes. The pool was clean and an excellent spot to relax and take a dip. The Villas at Poi Pu are like an oasis without the hectic hustle and bustle of a hotel, but with a little community of fellow travelers who are seeking a more relaxing environment near the beach.

My husband's Aunt and her husband stayed in the Garden Villas (I don't remember which number) on the 1st floor. They were very nice inside and comfortable- although not as much of a luxury feel as the Penthouse. They are a little ways from the pool- 2 minutes. She was very happy with their villa.

We are planning on staying here again!

Room Tip: Our room E300 was excellent with pool and mountain views. 2 Bedrooms on the poolside, Master on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    24
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
91
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at poolside unit, second floor. Good value for families, kitchen indeed has all needed utensils. If traveling as a couple, staying at Hyatt would be more romantic. Was worried about cleanliness from reading other reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. Very quiet, as we went off season.

Room Tip: A 211 was above clubhouse, so we did not need to worry about our kids disturbing visitors below. Li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for Spring Break last year and absolutely loved it. The villas are well appointed 3 bedroom set up. It was plenty of room for my 13, 9 and 7 year old. The facility was first rate with top of the line appliances and a smaller swimming pool and hottub set up. There were BBQs available by the pool as well. The location was great! We were able to walk to Brennecke's beach and the villas provided free access to as many boogie boards and beach chairs as we liked. The boogie boarding was fantastic and my kids couldn't get enough. It was also right next to a beach where we could do some minor snorkeling. There is a nice walking path that goes through the villas and other condos and I ran down to the Hyatt on occasion. This is a great spot to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We are planning our destination wedding in Kauai, and the whole experience of selecting the condo was an easy and painless process, thanks to Ann and her colleagues. They are super responsive, super helpful, very accomodating. They listen to what your needs are, and quickly get you the information. I can't say enough good things about the process of securing the condo and the staff going above and beyond with helpful information for our wedding destination. Definitely recommend them to anyone wanting an easy process for securing a beautiful place. The condos themselves are very well known by wedding planners, hair stylists, etc so am anticipating a beautiful place to get ready for our wedding!

Room Tip: We wanted ocean view for our wedding photos so chose the buildings they recommended with the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My family stayed at this resort twice since fall 2010, once in a three bedroom (D 200 level) and most recently a four bedroom (F300). Between the two stays we have been here around five weeks. I have also toured the B300 and the C300 suites. The C300 suite is our favorite – with amazing furniture, original artwork and stunning views.
First thing I’d say is that although there are very nice hotels nearby (Hyatt, Sheraton, Marriott and on the north shore in Princeville the St. Regis) I stay here instead. Here’s why:
(a) Perfect for the little ones in the family. There is a nearby (10 mins walk) children’s beach and there is a closet in the A100 building full of kids’ toys. From sand shovels to boogie boards. This means as a parent you don’t have to pack these things or buy them on island. If the beach gets boring you can always head down to a safe and clean pool. Because a lot of folks bring kids you may here some typical crying on occasion. It’s not a big deal and you’ll definitely understand if you have kids.
(b) With a larger party of eight – hotels don’t offer a comparable price to value alternative. Try to price out the St Regis or Sheraton for 4 bedrooms and your head will spin at how expensive it can be. In addition suites like the F300 offer a huge terrace that allows age groups to play, sit, drink or eat at their leisure. These types of shared spaces are important to my friends and family during longer vacations and are hard to find at larger hotel chains.
(c) Poipu is a great location and jumping off spot for the family. Great surfing, boogie boarding, snorkeling, kids beaches all nearby. In addition, some wonderful shopping, eating and golfing in nearby resorts.
(d) If you like hiking, most of the great hikes are near the Waimea Canyon which is a 75 min drive. What I found though is that those who want that level of excitement won’t mind driving. Your tastes and priorities may differ.
(e) If you like running or walking there are amazing walking trails that take you all through the planned Poipu Kai resort facilities. In addition you can run to Old Koloa Town (miles roundtrip) or alongside nearby Ala Kalanikaumaka Street.
(f) Responsive staff. Upon arrival both property managers greeted us, gave me their personal cell phone numbers and I have been able to reach them immediately via text messaging to have the unit cleaned or ask questions.
(g) The kitchen was 1st class and the pots and pans were heavy duty. We eat in a lot and used the kitchen a lot – we didn’t see any big issues here.
(h) This is a condo so expect to do your own laundry, buy your own groceries and take out your own recycling & trash. If you want to be pampered more – go to St Regis or Hyatt but also expect a different price point without larger communal areas. Only a few of the units have ocean views. If that is a priority for you then request B200 or C300 level suites.
(i) If you are with kids do be advised that the 300 level suites open directly from the elevator to the suite. While there is security on the way up, there is no security on the way down. In other words there is nothing to prevent a child from hitting the elevator call button and jumping in and heading down other than common sense or respect for elders who advised them otherwise. This was never an issue for us but it may be a priority for your family.

My viewpoint is that of a person who travels 40%+ for the last two years globally (through North and South America, Asia and Europe). I am a Starwood Preferred Guest Platinum and Marriott Gold preferred guest. Happy traveling!

Room Tip: D200 level and C300 level afford amazing ocean views. Request those if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Villas at Poipu Kai did not disappoint. Arriving from the main land at 5:30 pm allow us time to enjoy the evening in Poipu after the short drive from the airport. The property is spectacular and very well maintained, like a garden. The large pool and hottub are great.

Checking in was great in that we had the code to the door and the keys were just inside. We rented a penthouse suite and the views are marvalous. The four lanias are great, with two being large enough for all six of our party to gather around a table and comfortably eat and play games. Having an elevator open right up inside our unit is fabulous and makes us feel very classy.

The rooms are large, the kitchen is wonderful and very well stocked with what the cook in our party needed. The decor is very hawaiian with the drift wood table being the highlight. The three couples were very comfortable and had plenty of space to be alone when they wanted. The full sized washer and dryer were a life saver.

The barbecue around the pool was fun to use. The restaruants are very close and quite good. Getting to the beach was a short walk down a path. We enjoyed a crafts fair at the beach on Saturday and many other activities. Watching the sunset from the lanais over the ocean was breathtaking.

The property provides beach chairs and boogie board and other beach toys for use by the guests. No need to purchase or bring them with you. They even offer recycling of garbage. The fitness room was large and had a great assortment of equipment, but I only used it once becuase being outside in the garden paradise was so much better.

Great location and property and looking forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the potential noise from the pool at night because with the units being so nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryTaylor, Guest Relations Manager at The Villas at Poipu Kai, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Skibum,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for sharing many of the features that the property has to offer in your review. We look forward to welcoming you back one day!

Mahalo and Best Wishes,
The Villas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is undoubtedly a nice place. The location is good (but not perfect) and there are not many units that have much of a view. We stayed for 7 nights in a 3 bed ground floor poolside (E111) unit. This had some drawbacks - little natural light, not much privacy and not exactly poolside.
The overall experience helped to improve our experience, things like the shared BBQ, the very well appointed and comfortable unit itself and the general helpful Kauai style staff made our stay very enjoyable.
However, we had a thundering herd with no social appreciation of their movements in E211 above us for the first 3 days and that was extremely irritating and unwelcome (to us).
I would recommend The Villas but to try not to stay on the ground floor. A couple of the upstairs units closer to the beach I guess would have had a decent view of the sea too, so I would have been more choosy about whether to stay or not based upon which units were available. Having said that everybody is different and if you are more tolerant of certain things, maybe this could be a truly perfect spot for you.

Room Tip: I would try not to stay on the ground floor. A couple of the upstairs units closer to the beach I gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Poipu Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Poipu Kai

Address: 2373 Ho'ohu Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Poipu Kai 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Poipu Kai is a new boutique resort, situated in the heart of the Poipu Kai Resort. One of the finest properties ever developed on the island, these Poipu vacation rentals include 3-4 bedroom poolside villas and 2-4 bedroom garden villas. The Villas are luxurious throughout, including gourmet kitchens with granite countertops, custom cabinets, and SubZero refrigerators. Completely furnished with decor to compliment the plantation style, the poolside villas offer hardwood and tile flooring, natural stone bathrooms, and expansive lanais that extend the living area outdoors. Mountain, ocean, and pool views enhance the experience. A tropical pool, hot tub and water features are surrounded by island landscaping. Each villa includes central air, a true luxury on the island, and The Villas is the only condo property in Poipu Kai with its own exercise facility. Along the five-minute stroll down the tropical greenbelt, you will pass the Poipu Kai tennis club and pool on your way to famous Kauai beaches. And world class golf is just a two iron away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Villas at Poipu Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas At Poipu Kai Hotel Poipu
Hotel Poipu Kai
The Villas At Poipu Kai Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Poipu Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.