We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Isle Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Isle Cottages
Save
You added Garden Isle Cottages to your Saves list
2666 Puuholo Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Sequim, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The view and accommodations were incredible, and Wade is a great manager. We saw 20 to 30 Sea Turtle each day from our balcony and the location had a great view of the ocean; we spent each morning and evening watching and listening to the waves. The Heirloom Suite only has A/C in the bedroom, so if you are sensitive to mid 70s temperatures you may want to look at other options; however, the elevation of the suite provided a good breeze through the suite on most days.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This property is in a decent location with lots of turtles basking on the rocks in the little river behind the units. You can see the ocean from here and there is okay snorkeling on the other side of the river from the boat ramp (walk or drive to the ramp with no access from our unit into the water). It is two minutes to the shopping and restaurant area at the roundabout in Poipu. The unit has a c in the bedroom but the sea breezes are generally blowing. It is basic but has everything you really need. The manager, Wade, is fairly responsive to any issues. The kitchen has a two-burner portable plugin stove which was adequate for our needs but I wouldn't have wanted to cook a full dinner on it. There is no dishwasher other than you or your companion. It is very clean. I rated it very good because of cleanliness and basic amenities such as beach chairs and the turtles and breezes.

Room Tip: Upstairs is best because there would be no one walking above you and the view and breezes are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 234 cities Reviews in 234 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a little difficulty with the lengthy directions to find this place, we had a nice stay of four nights. (Don't turn right at the traffic circle, as the directions say, but go straight through.) From the balcony overlooking a stream flowing into the ocean, we could observe the sea turtles coming and going and sunning on the rocks. The unit is basic, with a/c in the bedroom, with great wi-fi connection and full sized refrigerator. The nice breezes kept the living area cool in October. No oven or stove top, but with the microwave and plug-in double burner device, you could cook here if you wish. But there are numerous good restaurants within walking distance.

The manager was very helpful and responsive,promptly replacing the ironing board which could not be raised and lowered, and offering suggestions and recommendations if we needed them. The snorkeling is not bad from a good entry point just across the stream, and views of sunsets and sunrises over the ocean are great within a very short distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Loved our stay at Garden Isle Cottages in Koloa, Kauai. The location is amazing, from our balcony there is a lagoon with a waterfall flowing out to the Pacific, full of sea turtles. We spent many hours just watching and counting the turtles, totally awesome. The condo it self is very simple, nothing fancy, has wifi though and was perfect for us. It is a couple of minutes away from the fancy Poipu resort,s so we would go to dinner over there on occasion. We didn't realize until almost the end of our stay that there was a public access to walk down where the turtles, were, wish I had been aware of this earlier on. If we come back to Kauai, we would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was a great location for us and within easy walking distance to great restaurants and beaches. The wakeup call of birds and roosters was timed perfectly and it easily became a ritual each morning to have coffee, juice and fresh papaya on the patio at sunrise overlooking Waikomo Stream and the ocean. Each day brought a surprise - monk seals playing in the cove or sleeping on the rocks, sea turtles lazily swimming by, a lone kayaker at dawn, outrigger canoes gliding by and night scuba divers just outside the cove.
The grounds are very private and there are only two units. We stayed downstairs and you could hear walking from upstairs unit. The setting is lovely but the units are a bit dated but very clean and functional. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes, pots, pans, etc. but you will need to buy all groceries as there is only salt and pepper.
You cannot go wrong if you are looking for a very reasonably priced property with an ocean view.
Wade, the manager is very congenial, quickly responds to any requests or needs and I hear he really likes See's Chocolates!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Loved this place. Great value. Extraordinary view with turtles every day in the cove out the back deck. The manager was easy to contact but didn't really need anything. He did check on us our first day to make sure everything was in order. The only thing missing was usual condiments that we have found in other vrbo stays in the islands. Sugar, mustard, butter sticks Just some small items that you hate you hate to buy a months worth for just a week. There was a washer and dryer with soap available that was a plus after the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

This cottage is the perfect location for scuba divers. Seasport Divers is right down the street and all the great dive sights are right off the Poi'pu coast. It's located in a quiet residential area and is a great place for those not wanting the crowded resort style living! The kitchen is well stocked , the bed is comfortable, and wireless Internet is available. Fine dining is within walking distance.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Isle Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Isle Cottages

Address: 2666 Puuholo Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Garden Isle Cottages Hotel Poipu
Garden Isle Cottages Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Isle Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.