We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always a great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I love this resort! I live on Oahu and visit Kauai as often as possible, and try to stay at Sheraton Kauai everytime. The best thing about it is the friendliness of the employees! I generally travel alone and don't expect much attention, but every single person I came across all smiled and said aloha or good morning! It made my stay much more enjoyable and I wasn't hesitant to ask for anything!
My trip started off great from my check in with Leona who was very pleasant and seemed legitimately sincere when she told me to have a good stay! Lava's is a fun place to hang out, mark and Vance kept me company and made me several great drinks! Rum fire is a nice restaurant with a great view! Noel and benji took good care of me during my stay. April, the manager of rum fire was also quite pleasant to talk with and remembered me when I went back the second night!
My room was really nice, the bed was so comfortable and emelda made sure that it was extra clean for me! She even made sure I had extra liquid creamer for my coffee in the morning! She was very friendly!
Frank, at lavas for breakfast, was also very nice!
All in all, I felt very comfortable at Sheraton Kauai and will most definitely return! If you want the aloha spirit when you come to Kauai, I recommend staying here!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    387
    194
    92
    41
See reviews for
228
638
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanata, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was our first time visiting Kauai and we fell in love with Sheraton Kauai the moment we walked into the Front Desk. .. We stayed for 1 night and two full days but would have loved to stay longer! From the moment we checked-in till we checked out - our experience was one of the best we have had. Sissy at the Front Desk truly looked after us; she was not only efficient but also very understanding! We were upgraded to partial Garden and Sea View and a late checkout. Sincerely, we couldn’t ask for more for our short stay!
We were invited to the Social Hour and enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting for SPG members while mingling with other hotel guests. What a great way to meet other travellers from far and near! At a very short notice, we were also accommodated in the Wine Paring Dinner the same evening, the only evening we had on the island. We would like to mention in particular what an excellent hotel restaurant RumFire was/is. The food and the Californian wines to go with it were superb.
Our experience was enhanced by our stay at Sheraton. We had a great time in Kauai exploring the island's beauty and the ocean!

Room Tip: Beach Front or PartiaL Garden and Beach view on higher floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: I believe they have a programme but am not in a position to comment.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Room was so disappointing. Old dirty carpet, dingy, few electrical outlets, poor air conditioning, although maintenance did come fairly promptly to attempt to fix it on two occasions. Very, very tiny bathroom, refrigerator did not work. Nothing about this room resembled a Sheraton--it was more like an old Motel 6. Did not feel like we got what we paid for. However lobby area, pool, access to beach is terrific.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Aloha Madelyn M,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your accommodations in the islands and for taking the time to review your stay. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our public areas, we were disappointed that your room fell short of your expectations, especially as all of our amenities should be in good working order. If you did not speak to one of our team members during your stay, we encourage you to connect with a manager on duty so that we may personally inspect your room. We hope for the opportunity to speak with you soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge AB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very nice hotel, excellent staff. great location on Poipu Beach. The beach immediately in front of the hotel was not particularly kid (the pool would be fine for family's) friendly as it dropped off quickly & the waves broke right on shore but there is Brennecke Beach just down the island a ways. Lots of turtles & a few monk seals cruising the beaches so the snorkeling was really interesting.

Room Tip: We started out in a Garden View room which was very quite & private over looking the Garden but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We are very disappointed with this Sheraton,....the lobby, beach, pool area and grounds are pretty but OMG the rooms are just awful.....dated, tiny, tiny bathroom, old fixtures, AC is not cooling well, despite maintenance man trying to fix it....we will not stay here again....

Room Tip: maybe the rooms across the street are nicer??.......on the ocean side? but the rooms across from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Aloha DonnaL773,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to review your experience. We appreciate you highlighting the public areas and our location, however, we are sorry to hear your accommodations did not meet your expectations. Our guests' comfort is of the utmost important to us, and we welcome you to connect with our team to discuss your stay further. We hope for the opportunity to turn around your impression of Sheraton Kauai and to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have stayed here 3 times. The location, service, and resort itself are top notch.

Paulie, Mark, and Cindy in Lavas beachside bar are outstanding. They give impeccable service and are an absolute pleasure to talk with. Benji behind the bar at Rumfire is also fantastic. He really strives for quality customer service.

If you have the means even just for a night or 2 get an ocean front room. The views are incredible. We have also stayed in the garden rooms and find them to be clean and comfortable. Just a short walk to the main pool and beach. Rooms in both wings are standard hotel rooms, but have everything you need.

Beach is one of the best on the island for lounging and swimming. Resort has snorkel gear for rent at a reasonable rate. Oceanside pool is nice too. Never had an issue finding chairs around the pool either.

Food at Rumfire is great. Free wine tasting 3 nights a week. There are also plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

It would be really hard for you not to enjoy yourself here. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Yes, you are going to have to pay a $28 daily resort fee. All resort style hotels seem to be doing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I have so many wonderful things to say about this hotel. From the beginning of check in we had a very nice receptionist who was very helpful and helped to start things off on a good note;) I was very very happy with our ocean front room. It was spacious and clean and loved our view!!!
We had gone down to Lavas to eat and the food was great. We had a great waitress that was very catering and friendly. Also got Bannana bread from the cafe by the lobby. Loved it so much that I made sure to buy more to take home with me. The ladies that work there are also very friendly. Let me not forget the valet and bell man they were attentive and friendly to.
An overall Amazing experience.
We will be back again next month ;) I encourage everyone to stay at the Sheraton Kauai.
A 5 STAR stay for me!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.