We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star location and staff, 3 star room…” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“5 star location and staff, 3 star room…”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The location is beautiful and ideal for exploring the 'south' side of the island. The resort is very lush, the beach, while small, is lovely and the most perfect spot for watching the sun rise each morning. The valet, wait staff at Lava, housekeeping, pool staff, & groundkeepers were all very nice, friendly and professional. The concierge was wonderful, making recommendations and reservations for our activities and restaurants. Front desk staff was great too with the exception of the lady who checked us in; lack of interest, basically phoning it in, Ms. Z left a lot to be desired. Maybe that's why she gave us a non-descript room across the road, saying they had no ocean side rooms available. The room, while adequate was dated, the bed very soft/uncomfortable but did have quality linens and down pillows. The bathroom was the smallest hotel bathroom ever. The tub wouldn't drain properly and maintenance couldn’t seem to fix it. The pool/hot tub was nice. Lounge chairs available throughout the day and it didn't seem like other guests were holding/hogging chairs. A few extra umbrellas would be nice to help shade the hot mid-day sun. A resort fee is added to the daily rate, I think it may be $30 per day and includes parking, Internet and supposedly bottled water in your room. During our four-day stay, on two of the days water wasn't left; the housekeeper said they ran out. We had breakfast at Lava one of the mornings; it was fine and adequate, if a bit pricey at $25 pp. We also had drinks and snacks a few times served by great staff, which made it all very relaxing and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    430
    226
    105
    55
See reviews for
266
721
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We loved the Sheraton Kauai Resort for many reasons: beautiful grounds, amenities, location and beach. Wish we could have stayed longer than the 4 days we were there. The concierge was magnificent and we went to him again and again for recommendations. We were tired and hungry upon arrival and got a quick bite at the restaurant there. This was my only complaint...food was only mediocre and very expensive. the rooms were a little small, but staying there is worth it...just plan to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was our 5th time on Kauai but our 1st staying at the Sheraton. Kauai is really a magical isle and the Sheraton was the perfect place to come back and feel the Aloha spirit. Our room was on the ocean side and very spacious, it was also beautiful but that's not all that was amazing. The pool is gorgeous right on the beach. The Lava restaurant exceeded our expectations for all our drinking and eating needs not to mention the view. We walked to little Poipu Beach Park and had the best snorkeling experience ever. Another day we walked to Brennekes for lunch then rented a buggie board and walked right up to Brennekes beach to buggie board and swim but to our surprise a turtle had the same idea. We did have a car and enjoyed many restaurants listed on Trip advisor. What a special vacation it was and now we can't wait to go back thanks to the staff at the Sheraton

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha jazzeej,

It is lovely to hear from a many-time visitor to the island and we appreciate you choosing Sheraton Kauai for your most recent visit. We are so pleased to hear you felt the warm aloha spirit with us and enjoyed our facilities, location and dining. We hope you will think of us again for a future stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

There is nothing like taking the elevator down from your room and walking out to the beach. We booked a deluxe garden view room to ensure that we would be on the beach side of the property. We had a view of the lagoon; it would have been nice if there had been some lighting at night. There was a tiki torch by the coffee shop, but it was never lit.

What I liked about the room - very spacious, lots of lamps, two sinks in the vanity area, two bathrobes, Starbuck's coffee, two comfortable chairs and a table on the balcony, quality bedding, comfortable pillow, the closet access from the room or the vanity area.

What I didn't like about the room - no place to hang a towel in the sink area, one chair - the room was spacious so a little sofa that would sit two people would be nice, two stools instead of chairs at the table, no fan in the bathroom.

The property was beautiful. The beach amazing. It was not very crowded when we visited. Lots of chairs to choose from by the pool, but few umbrellas.

Breakfast was included with our rate, otherwise we would have left the property after sampling it the first day. I do not believe that the buffet breakfast is worth $25 per person. It was basically the same breakfast everyday. Some days the scrambled eggs were good; other days they were slimy. The pineapple was sliced with the rind on and so thin that it was tasteless. No healthy alternatives for meat or eggs.

We ate at Rum Fire on our last evening. The food was delicious and the service excellent.

We would definitely stay here on future visits.

Room Tip: Deluxe garden rooms are very quiett and on the beach side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The wife and I stayed at the Sheraton on Kauai for our honeymoon. The location is excellent, with amazing sunset and sunrise views, a great beach, and easily accessible to all the great locations in Kauai.

The staff is great and they even have courtesy cars to shuttle you around nearby places. It's nice that the resort seems almost private because there weren't very many people around during the time we went. Hardly saw any kids either which was nice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Aloha llikepoptart,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai for such an important milestone and mahalo for your kind words. It is our goal to create a memorable experience for all of our honeymoon guests, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our great location and staff. We hope you will look back on your time with us with much fondness, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Yes, you heard right.. THE most comfortable beds I've slept in since the Venetian in Vegas... and we travel at least once a month to a different hotel. Great quiet resort, not many kids when we stayed and they usually stayed around the kiddie pool. Amazing views specially if you stay in the upper floors. Absolutely recommend the upgrade from garden view to ocean views, unless you really love gardens and have little ones that like to run around.

Great food at RumFire, try their signature beet and bacon salad, and of course a mai tai by the pool at Lava's.... Social hour 5-6pm with 90+ rated wine tastings.

No poi sadly, unless you do their luau. Yes, the luau comes to you, and it's right by the pool. Put a wrap over your bikini and hula away the night :)

The concierges can take care of just about any activities you desire, and you can even rent the snorkel gear by the pool since you are right on premiere snorkel waters.

Ok, so I loved our time in Kauai. Some tips about the island:

Taste the different tuna pokes at the fish markets, specially the one in Koloa Village, along with Haupia or coconut pudding and yes, poi. The homemade poi at the fish markets is way better than the watered down version for tourists at the luaus.

Go tubing or fly the only biplane with an open cockpit over the Fantasy Island waterfalls. It's worth it. :)
Enjoy the island and remember to Live Aloha!

Room Tip: Ocean views ar ebetter in the upper floors so the walker-bys won't see inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

So we were really excited to go this resort but were a little nervous after seeing some reviews. Upon arrival we were told that we had been upgraded to the room that we had already paid for. When we mentioned that they said we were right. I asked if we would get an upgrade from that room and were told we could but only for the last night we were there. We declined and kept our room. Once we got to our room after traveling all day we went out looked at the property and beach and found that bit truly is amazing, but unfortunately that's where amazing stops for this resort. When we returned to our room we could hear our neighbors blasting music and smoking outside there door. This is not what we came to Kauai for. Son I called the desk to see if we could switch rooms. The desk clerk said they would call me back and never did. My wife went down to the front: desk to complain about the noise, to which they did not care. But when she mentioned the smoking they treated that as the biggest thing and sent security to the room. Oh wait wrong room they sent security to our room to tell us to stop smoking. When we asked at the desk to see if we could get a room change they told us the only thing would be to downgrade our room we paid for. We informed them that this was not acceptable and if this was all they could do they should try and arrange accommodations for us at another starwood property. Upon hearing that request an upgrade and another room suddenly became available. The room we switched to was nice and quiet and we truly did appreciate it. As for the rest of the resort the vallets all appeared to hate their jobs and always seemed to be annoyed to have to get a car and they actually could not find our car once. Service on the beach was also disappointing. We could never find a waitress when we wanted to close out our tab and when we did find one it would take 20 minutes to close it out. The one bright side to the hotel besides the beach would be rumfire. The location was awesome along with the food. But over all the resort needs some help with customer service. We heard that they might be making the resort in to timeshares, if this is the case really work on customer service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Aloha spf1313,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our great location but are sorry for the misunderstanding that occurred at check in and when you alerted us to the neighboring disturbance. As noise and smoke complaints are taken seriously, we apologize the room numbers were confused in the rush to respond. We are also sorry for the service you experienced at the pool and valet. As per our communications with you offline, we encourage you to connect with us so that we may learn more. Once again, thank you for the feedback - it can only help us improve our services and exceed our future guest expectations. We hope you had an enjoyable time on the island and will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.