We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Tinley Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very, very pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very good hotel with ideal Kauai setting. Rooms and beach access are wonderful. Skip the luau and don't eat at the Fire Restaurant!!!!! Poor food and lousy service cost way too much! Overall very good value. Concierge, Jean, did a great job recommending and planning our five day trip so that we were able to experience everything we wanted to. Kauai is still my favorite island, and I am glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    349
    165
    82
    36
See reviews for
205
556
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently visited the Sheraton Kauai on our honeymoon and had a lovely stay. We enjoyed the location and thought the hotel was beautiful. One or two things weren't exactly up to par but the staff were very helpful when we approached them. We also received a voucher for 2 complimentary mai tais on arrival which was a nice touch. The bed was AMAZING. I have never slept the way I slept on this bed and we are now looking into buying one for our home. Last, but most certainly not least, we watched some truly beautiful sunsets from the Sheraton Kauai.

Room Tip: The resort is extremely large and if it is within your budget it is worth your while to book an ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Aloha alexricia,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials and thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your honeymoon. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the resort and the comfort of our Sweet Sleeper beds. We apologize for the one or two challenges you faced but are happy that our team was able to assist. We hope you will consider returning in the future and experience Kauai's lovely sunsets again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have to admit the public spaces were beautiful,and the room was nice,but it was hard to get past a cockroach crawling across my laptop screen as I was checking e-mails,I had seen several little bugs crawling around the desk and sink but thought maybe all the in and out traffic to the balcony was the cause,then I see one up close and personal with my glasses on and was not well-pleased to say the least!For this kind of money I had expected better! Also the prices for their breakfast buffet was outrageous,$17 for a continental that is usually free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Aloha,

On behalf of the Sheraton ohana thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We would like to apologize for the pests you encounter. While there are a number of different creatures that love to share the tropical environment with us we do have a strict pest control regiment that our property follows to ensure to keep critters out. We apologize again for any disruption this has caused. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy the the staff and the property. Our ohana prides themselves on creating connections with our guests and we love to hear what our guests think. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Sheraton on Poipu Beach. The room on the 3rd floor was very nice, clean with a wonderful balcony with a fantastic view! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. Aaron at the concierge desk was especially helpful with sending us to all the places we wanted to see on the south shore, and also some of the recommendations that he made were great!
The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet even though our room was directly above the Lava restaurant. To our surprise, we were also directly above the grass area next to the pool where the Luau festivities were held and we were able to watch from our balcony. We were in the end building next to a parking lot, which made for easy access to the car. The beach in front is wonderful for swimming, snorkeling and watching the surfers in the distance.
All in all the Sheraton is a great choice for a nice hotel in Poipu. The Rum Fire restaurant is also very nice with delicious meals and very good service. The view can't be beat! The Lava restaurant serves good drinks and a tasty burger at lunch.
I would certainly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay while visiting the beautiful island of Kauai! I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in October 2013. The room was clean and cosy, the beds very comfortable. We had a balcony with a garden view that was quiet and very relaxing. The pool is great and the beach even better. We used SPG points and rented a pool cabana for the day. it comes with a TV, lounger and very comfortable chairs. I highly recommend this location. Just a heads up that on top of the per night charge there is a $30 dollar a day resort fee here, but that seems pretty standard for Kauai. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: I only rate the breakfast poor because of the price for the buffet at $25 per person. the food was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a beautiful resort in Poipu. There is a wonderful beach. The rooms are well appointed.
The bed and pillows very comfortable. The entire atmosphere is beautiful and relaxing. Walt and some others whose names I unfortunately can not remember, at the concierge desk were very helpful. The few glitches we had were promptly and pleasantly handled by Leah (the desk clerk), Peter (the night manager) and Laura (the day manager). The internet is spotty, but Laura did bring a router for our room to help us out. They are upgrading internet service and this will probably not be a problem in the future. Also, there was a cockroach in the bathroom but they did fumigate with an earth (and people) friendly product. One must remember, this is Kauai and the resort is surrounded with lush vegetation so there are bugs and chances one can find its way into a room. This is no indication whatsoever that the room was dirty in any way. Laura did give us a discount on the resort fee which we felt was very fair. Overall, I would recommend the Sheraton Kauai Resort as it is beautiful, located in a great area, rooms are great and the staff very helpful and they are there to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Aloha DL2010Litleton_CO,

Mahalo for sharing your recent experience at Sheraton Kauai Resort. It is always a pleasure to hear from our satisfied guests, and we thank you for bringing attention to the great service you received from our team. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our Internet, but appreciate your kind understanding regarding our planned upgrades this year, as well as your understanding of our tropical environment. We hope you will consider Sheraton Kauai for a future visit, and look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a restful stay, manicured grounds, pleasant balconys and maybe a surf view, this is right place. Good for young couples with maybe one preschooler in tow or empty nesters. Probally too "dull" in activites for tweens, teens or singles. Rooms are a bit compact by American stds, but nicely furnished. We stayed in building 5, top floor, facing seaward and enjoyed the view (at a garden rate). Try Tortilla Republic nearby for a reasonably priced dinner with style.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.