We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing location, beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing location, beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in October 2013. The room was clean and cosy, the beds very comfortable. We had a balcony with a garden view that was quiet and very relaxing. The pool is great and the beach even better. We used SPG points and rented a pool cabana for the day. it comes with a TV, lounger and very comfortable chairs. I highly recommend this location. Just a heads up that on top of the per night charge there is a $30 dollar a day resort fee here, but that seems pretty standard for Kauai. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: I only rate the breakfast poor because of the price for the buffet at $25 per person. the food was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    387
    194
    92
    41
See reviews for
228
638
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, CO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a beautiful resort in Poipu. There is a wonderful beach. The rooms are well appointed.
The bed and pillows very comfortable. The entire atmosphere is beautiful and relaxing. Walt and some others whose names I unfortunately can not remember, at the concierge desk were very helpful. The few glitches we had were promptly and pleasantly handled by Leah (the desk clerk), Peter (the night manager) and Laura (the day manager). The internet is spotty, but Laura did bring a router for our room to help us out. They are upgrading internet service and this will probably not be a problem in the future. Also, there was a cockroach in the bathroom but they did fumigate with an earth (and people) friendly product. One must remember, this is Kauai and the resort is surrounded with lush vegetation so there are bugs and chances one can find its way into a room. This is no indication whatsoever that the room was dirty in any way. Laura did give us a discount on the resort fee which we felt was very fair. Overall, I would recommend the Sheraton Kauai Resort as it is beautiful, located in a great area, rooms are great and the staff very helpful and they are there to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Aloha DL2010Litleton_CO,

Mahalo for sharing your recent experience at Sheraton Kauai Resort. It is always a pleasure to hear from our satisfied guests, and we thank you for bringing attention to the great service you received from our team. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our Internet, but appreciate your kind understanding regarding our planned upgrades this year, as well as your understanding of our tropical environment. We hope you will consider Sheraton Kauai for a future visit, and look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a restful stay, manicured grounds, pleasant balconys and maybe a surf view, this is right place. Good for young couples with maybe one preschooler in tow or empty nesters. Probally too "dull" in activites for tweens, teens or singles. Rooms are a bit compact by American stds, but nicely furnished. We stayed in building 5, top floor, facing seaward and enjoyed the view (at a garden rate). Try Tortilla Republic nearby for a reasonably priced dinner with style.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were very pleased with our 10-night stay here! The resort is lovely & the staff incredibly helpful. Our room was on the third floor of a building that overlooked both the pool & the beach; initially we were concerned about noise but there was no problem. The Lava's restaurant/bar is located not far away but again, noise was no problem as it shuts down at 7 p.m.

The room itself was large, with an entry area table, & immaculate. The tub was clogged the first night but it was fixed immediately. The Sheraton has a wonderful long beach in front of it, far nicer than the Hyatt. We went over to the Hyatt to have a drink & check it out & were surprised that no rooms seemed to have the views that the Sheraton oceanfront rooms do.

We did yoga several times & were very happy w/ both instructors that we had. And don't bring a yoga mat, folks, they're provided.

One small quibble is the limited dining, especially since our package included a $25/day dining credit which didn't include alcohol. Lava's is open for breakfast (very expensive breakfast) & lunch, but only serves a very limited evening menu & closes early. Rumfire serves a very nice meal at dinnertime, but that's the only time it's open. There is a small shop w/ deli/coffee, etc. There are restaurants within walking distance but it would have been nice sometimes to be able to stay on the resort grounds for a meal.

All in all, we had a great time & would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms might cost more, but the view is more than worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Aloha TexasClaire,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and mahalo for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our great location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. We hope you will think of us again for a future visit to the islands and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Out of my roughly 100-120 Hotel stays, it is the first time that I (we) would recommend a higher rating as 3 stars given by booking. However, this should be the reason for getting a room for an incomparable good quote and in addition you stay at one of the mt nicest hotel beaches of Kauai, even better than St Regis in the north of the island. And out of season times, the weather conditions are the best at Poipu meaning only a little bit of rain.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was absolutely nice and vauable for the price we paid
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Came here on a trip and just didnt get good vibes here. There is nothing special about this place. I can see why they are reaching out. Place is a bit out of the way. The beach isnt really great and the pool was dirty.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are sorry to hear that our property and ohana did not exceed your expectations. Many of our guests find our sunny southside location pleasing as we are in the middle of Poipu area. We do provide shuttle service in the Poipu area for our guests to enjoy all the restaurants and attractions located down the road. We hope to welcome you back to help create found memories of Poipu Beach.

Warmest Aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It had been many years since I had been to this area and we were looking forward to a great stay. The front desk was extremely friendly and they gave us a free upgrade to an ocean view room that was away from the noisy pool area. The room did have a great view and deck but was at the top of the stairs which proved very noisy. Our four day stay at this hotel was surprisingly noisy throughout - in the mornings, through the walls at night, etc. There was at least a one inch gap at the bottom of the door which let in a lot of noise and morning light. The bathroom was small but nice. The pool area was total chaos, everything was extra, especially a lounge chair at the beach. The entire pool and beach area is very public and you could tell that people were using the area that were probably not staying there (large coolers, etc.). No one told us that there was a quieter adult pool nearby and we didn't discover it until the last day. The bar and restaurant were not recommended by anyone - there or online. The concierge desk wants you to use their services but when we just went to ask for advice and comments about our already booked activities, they were less than helpful. All in all, it was a disappointing stay and once we discovered the nearby Grand Hyatt, we knew that was where we'd end up next time.

Room Tip: Request ocean view area away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Aloha,
On behalf of the Sheraton ohana thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are so glad to hear that our front desk team shared their "Aloha Spirit." We apologize for the noise around the pool area. The pool is designated just for our guests but all beaches in Hawaii are public. We are happy to hear that you found our garden pool more pleasing. This area is typically a quieter space as most of our guests prefer to swim ocean front. Should you have any further comments please do not hesitate to reach out to Guest Services.

Warmest Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.