We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Poipu
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Experience!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Like a few of the travelers that had mixed reviews, I was also in the same thought of what we will be expecting when we arrive. I was quite surprised! The partial beach view room was more than we expected. We were lucky to have one on the top floor. The room was surprisingly clean, unlike bad reviews that I read about these particular rooms. The view was great! We were fortunate to watch a private luau on the grassy area below our balcony, hearing the splashing of the waves and enjoying the nice breeze when we woke up each morning and relaxing on the balcony after returning from our day adventures. The beach was perfect, only a short stroll across the street from our room. Not sure why travelers were complaining about the walk. We enjoyed the beautiful flowers and landscape each time walking to the beach. The beach near the hotel was beautiful, unlike some of the beaches on the island. Most of our time was spent on that beach.
The staff was awesome and very friendly! The two in particular were the concierges, Aaron and Randi! Very helpful with places to go and eat and recommendations of where to visit. We wanted authentic Hawaii food and they knew places to go where the locals eat. We stayed away from chain restaurants knowing we can eat the same food in the mainland.

Now the negative… Not very many, except the food at the Rum Fire could have been a little better. We ate there once only because we were tired from the plane ride and didn’t want to venture out that evening. Food at the Lava’s was ok, expected for a typical bar/grill restaurant.

My wife and I will visit this hotel again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    349
    165
    82
    36
See reviews for
205
556
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LAWRENCEVILLE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The good: Clean room, comfy beds, lots of pillows. Friendly desk and cleaning staff. Great location. Great price through Hotwire (we let them select the property, so we can't complain about a run of the house room). In fact although we ended up in the buildings across the street, they put us on their "preferred" fourth (top) floor. Had refrigerator and coffee maker. Gave us a free bottle of champagne and two free Mai-Tais. Cost us about $200 per night, prepaid. We self-parked, so there was no parking fee.

The bad: No help with bags to our room if we didn't accept the "first night free" valet service. This really stunned me. I have never been to a property with these amenities where no one offered to assist without something attached. (When I heard first night free valet with $10 per day charge beyond the first night, I thought; "hmmm. So, I ask for the car in the morning because it's the next day, do I incur a charge? And even though the property charges $10 per day, I'll bet the valet's have their hands out every time they deliver the car.")
The $31.00 per day resort fee was a little steep, particularly when you have to sign into wi-fi every day to authenticate your use. Oh, did I mention one of the perks for the resort fee was "one day free valet service?" Bar and restaurant are pricey by our standards, but then so is most of Hawaii. The main restaurant was closed for part of our stay due to an insurance company's conference.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have just stayed at the Sheraton for a conference, had an ocean front room, which Los out over Poipu beach, which was very nice.
Good access to the conference facilities, restaurants, and the pool and beach.
Staff were friendly and prompt, and went out of the way to help with a couple of requests.
Close to golf courses and the Poipu shopping village, which has a good selection and food outlets.
The restaurants were nice, and the food fresh and tasty.
Would recommend as surf beach s close, and the waves were regular and good for surfing.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are great, some are quite a walk away from the restaurants and bars however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Aloha MatP361,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience at Sheraton Kauai Resort. We appreciate feedback from our guests and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your group program at our resort. Thank you for recognizing our friendly team and our excellent location. We hope you will join us again on Kauai soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect because the reviews for the Sheraton are pretty mixed. The property is very large, the main property is on Poipu Beach and the other part is across the street. We booked a deluxe garden room and got lucky that those are actually on the main property that sits on the beach. I think the other rooms that are on the beach are the deluxe ocean front, ocean luxury and ocean front suites - the rest are in the buildings across the street and I'm glad we were in the main building. You can tell that the lobby and rooms have been remodeled but the hallways show signs of an older resort. Overall we loved our room, it was clean and comfy and the bed was very comfortable. As some have mentioned the wifi is hit or miss which is disappointing because the resort fee is a bit high. You should make sure you're a starwood member because then at least you get a wrist band to wear for discounts at the resort restaurants which is something at least. Skip the buffet breakfast it's not great. We got 2 bottles of water every day and we loved the shuttles which you can take advantage of to get to restaurants close by in the Poipu area (they will pick you up too) that was one of the best things about it. The ocean front pool is nice but the pool is a bit small just due to the layout and can get over crowded in the afternoon...but you're on the beach anyway. I would recommend renting a bungalow for the day ($100) it gives you a nice, private area to lounge and order drinks and swim. Also, I had a massage in a cabana by the beach which I would also recommend. The restaurants on the resort are just ok, overpriced but it's Poipu...we ate at Rum Fire the first night just because it was easy - the view is great though. Overall we loved the staff they were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay - if we stay again we'll pay a bit more for the deluxe ocean front room. Oh - yahh the resort fee is high ($30/day) but we knew about it before hand and expected our vacation to be pricey.

Room Tip: If you are going for ocean front go for deluxe ocean front, ocean luxury and ocean front suites othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Last weekend my wife and I booked the Kauai Sheraton for a two night stay. We checked in on Saturday afternoon and took advantage of the first day free valet parking. After checking in and getting to our room we decided to shower and head down to the bar, Lava’s, for happy hour specials and then enjoy our complimentary Mai Tai’s. To our dismay, our room had no hot water. The best the shower could provide was warm water. You could not shut the door to the toilet and tub if the toilet lid was down, a very small room. Not a good introduction to the resort. So with about 15 minutes left of happy hour, we took a seat just outside the bar area. No one came to serve us, in fact, no staff even ventured into that area. We then got up and moved into the actual bar area and sat at a high table. Again, no staff ventured in our direction. The staff was busy talking with people at the bar as if they were old friends, and yet the bar was only about 20% full. The bartenders never looked up from their mixing to make eye contact outside their area. Finally, a young man passed by and without even breaking his stride, asked if anyone had helped us. When we said no, he stopped and came back. I expressed our desire to partake in happy hour and he said he would have to check the clock. He left and when he came back he said it was over. My wife replied, “It was not over when we got here, you just never came.” He said he would have to ask his manager, so he left again. He came back with a menu and I asked for 2 happy hour mai tai’s and he took our complimentary cards as well. In about 5 minutes another person delivered 1 mai tai. Another 10 minutes passed before a member of the staff walked by. I asked about the other mai tai’s and again he left to see where they might be. We finally got the complimentary ones. Never did get the second mai tai ordered as a happy hour drink. The service was horrific. Lava’s was a complete disaster, tables were not being cleaned and birds were landing on the tables pecking at the leftover food. Some tables sat filled with dirty dishes and food for 30 minutes or more. We wanted to express our dissatisfaction over the lack of service, but because no one came back to receive our payment, we were unable to do so. The “team”, as often referred to by the management, did not care about our lack of service. We planned to eat at Rum Fire for dinner, so we returned to our room to dress for the evening. We had come to the Kauai Sheraton to relax and be spoiled by the resort and all it had to offer. As we walked up the walk way to the restaurant, a young woman stopped us and told us the restaurant was closed and would open on Monday. We noticed that there was a conference going on at the hotel and the restaurant may have been closed to the guests not involved with the conference. She quickly added that Lava’s would provide dinner. That really sent us reeling. We explained to her about no hot water, the poor/no service we had already experienced in Lavas, and now she tells us there is no restaurant on the grounds for dinner. She explained that a shuttle was available and would take us wherever we wanted to go for dinner. Of course our first question was would it collect us after dinner and bring us back? We were doubtful of all services available to us at this point. She asked our room number and then led us to the valet area for the shuttle. We expressed to her how upset we were with all this. I had hoped that our concerns would have been addressed during our stay, but apparently management is the main part of the problem. There is no real management. My major question would have to be, when we checked into the resort, why were we not told about all this. If a resort is understaffed or poorly staffed or facilities are closed, the guest should know in advance. I half way expected to be told that the beach and ocean was closed as well. Wi-Fi is only free for a 24 hour period of your stay. The computers in the lobby were not working. There were four computers in our building and only one seemed to be working. We stood for around 40 minutes waiting “our turn.” Time is precious when you are on holiday. For $320 a night plus a $30 resort fee, you would think Wi-Fi would be available to all guests at all times. What a waste of my money. The service in this Sheraton is atrocious and nothing was done to make our stay as comfortable as it should have been. For the dollars we paid, we should have come away with a smile on our faces and memories to last a lifetime. We did not feel like a guest of the facility; we felt insignificant and unimportant. We could not wait to leave and will never stay there again. In fact, it has tainted my view of all Sheratons. Frits van Paasschen, Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, CEO, should go to the Kauai Sheraton on the sly as a tourist, book a room and get an honest view of this resort hotel. Upon reading this review, I do not wish to receive an apology from the management. My advice to the traveler is to choose another hotel that will allow you to enjoy the beauty of Kauai during your entire stay. After spending all that money to get to Hawaii and spending $350 a night at the Kauai Sheraton, I am forced to say “you get what you pay for.” This is not a 4 star hotel. The best part of this resort’s location is the beach and you can visit it for free 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go with the highest star rating available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
On behalf of the Sheraton Kauai Resort thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We would like to apologize for the issues you encountered. We have forwarded your information on to our maintenance team and food and beverage team. It is our goal to provide the "aloha spirit" to our guests and feedback such as yours can only help us to exceed future guest expectations. We would also like to apologize that you had difficulty logging on to our internet. This amenity is included in the resort fee throughout your stay. It requires logging on to our website every 24 hours to ensure that our guests are the only recipients of the internet service. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful panoramic views of our ocean front setting and do hope that we may create warm memories for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

the Sheraton is definitely in a stunning spot. beach, surf and turtle spotting right in front of the hotel.
our ocean view room was nice, with a super comfy super king bed, a small balcony overlooking the pool and beach and a roomy bathroom. the decor was good but not great - three bath was marked and some of the fixtures and fittings needed updating. might sound like I'm being picky bit it's just that I expected a little more luxury from this hotel for the money.
it's also more reminiscent of a3-4* hotel in the extra &hidden costs - there's a $30 per day resort charge to cover internet, phone callsand the activities program, whether you want them or not! you can't use the hotel's sunloungers on the beach - you must pay $50 for a cabana or lay on the sand if you want a view of the ocean while you bake.
the water sports equipment is also very expensive ($8 per hr for a snorkel set!) take the free hotel guest shuttle to the shops near da crack (just ask, they'll know) and a full day's hire is $4.
I found the hotel staff very pleasant and friendly without exception.
finally, the thing that really griped me about the Sheraton was the waste. the disposable plastic cups in plastic wrapping, the four plastic bottles of water per room per day-in spite of the availability of water fountains. the toiletries which were added to every day even when unused. no ceramic coffee cups just Starbucks cardboard cups in the rooms too. EVERYTHING disposable and not reused.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Aloha JilOb,

We appreciate you for choosing our resort and for taking the time to share your review of your stay. We were happy to read that you had a great time at our beach and enjoyed our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed, ocean front room, and the warm service provided by our friendly team. However, we apologize that some aspects of the resort fell short of your expectations. With regard to plastics at the property, plastic cups are required poolside as a safety issue. In room, guests are encouraged to utilize the recycle bin for recyclables, and our team members also work to recycle whenever possible. Complimentary water bottles are provided in addition to the option of enjoying our water fountains. As the resort fee covers services such as parking, cultural programming, shuttle service and more, and is open to all of our valued guests, we are unable to adjust the fee based on what services go unused. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. If you would like to speak to a member of our team directly please connect with the manager on duty as we we hope for the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I returned to the Sheraton for our first anniversary, after having a wonderful experience the previous year for our honeymoon. The previous year, the hotel was still undergoing some renovation (none of which impacted our stay at all), and we were blown away when we saw the completed result the next year. Everything detail was well thought out resulting in a relaxing and beautiful resort. What we love most about the hotel is how it enhances the natural beauty of the beach, rather than overshadowing it with an overwhelming pool area or other extraneous things. The sunset view is unparalleled, and we were lucky enough to be able to watch it every night from our spacious balcony. Try and get a room in building 1, the view of the ocean is amazing, and we loved being able to hear the crash of the waves from our room.
The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable, from friendly greetings, to great service at the pool restaurant and the new RumFire. We have had the luxury of staying at beautiful resorts around the world in high end hotel chains (St. Regis, Ritz, Fairmont), and we felt that our stay at the Sheraton was comparable. Because of the wonderful treatment from the staff and the resort amenities, we will be returning for our 2nd anniversary as well!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Aloha SHB820,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai for both your honeymoon and first anniversary. We are always pleased to hear from guests who have had the chance to see the resort before and after our renovation and are thrilled that you enjoyed the enhancements from your previous stay. Mahalo for considering us again for your next honeymoon, and we look forward to welcoming you back with warm aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.