We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Rocklin, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This a very nice hotel with an incredible view. There are two separate buildings, one on the ocean side and one across the street. We checked in and were given two tickets for free mai tai’s at their outdoor bar during happy hour from 3-5pm. Also, if you are a Starwood Preferred Guest (can sign up for free), you will get a bracelet that if you show it at any of their onsite restaurants, you’ll receive 10% off. We stayed in a deluxe ocean front room on the second floor. The room was nicely updated with a large tub/shower, very comfortable 4 poster king bed and a balcony with an incredible ocean view that had a couple chairs and small end table. There wasn’t a beach from our view, so it made it more private and romantic with the waves crashing on the rocks and high palm trees waving in the wind. There was only a walking path where we occasionally saw some people walking. We enjoyed a nice breakfast on our balcony which we picked up from the small eatery on the first floor. They also had a nice breakfast menu for room service, which was a little more expensive. We also had dinner at the Rum Fire restaurant, which is a fine dining, ocean front restaurant. The food was great and I would recommend this restaurant for a nice romantic evening. During our stay, we also had a couple’s massage in the ocean side cabana. The cabana wasn’t super private, but private enough and you mostly only hear the waves with some occasional voices in the distance. The massage itself was very relaxing. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and definitely recommend spending the extra money to get an ocean front room if you can.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    342
    158
    80
    34
See reviews for
195
539
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar City, Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Sheraton Kauai Resort is a wonderful place to stay. We loved the area and the friendly staff. When we arrived, we received a shell lei greeting from the valets who took care of everything, including putting our luggage and carry on bags into our room. That was unexpected and very much appreciated. We just had to check in and then were able to go for dinner in the Rumfire Grill.

We visited Concierge Shantelle the next morning. She was very helpful and when she made reservations for different dining establishments during our stay, she told them we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. That was a nice surprise when our food servers at different restaurants brought us an anniversary surprise.

The valets were exceptional, fast and very friendly. Dolores on the Activities Desk was very helpful and humorous. The wait staff in Lava's was outstanding and very friendly. It was nice that employees greeted us wherever we were in the hotel. I like the area where the hotel is situated because it's not as crowded as the Princeville and Hanalei area. Also, traffic between Lihue (Airport, Harbor) and Poipu is a lot less than between Hanalei, Kapaa and Lihue. The performers at the Luau were some of the best we have witnessed, the food was really good, and it is right on the beach. We liked the complimentary Hawaiian bottled water in the room each day, the complimentary champagne for our anniversary, the free mai tais in Lava's, the helpfulness of the activities desk and the concierge desk, the layout of the rooms and especially the Heavenly bed! We slept great every night - even the pillows were perfect. And Lava's serves Portuguese sausage for breakfast - you can ask for rice instead of potatoes. Yum!

We were asked by Shantelle if we wanted to upgrade to an Ocean View room, which we did for part of our stay, but we were just as happy with the Garden View room. The grounds are so green, the smell of plumeria is wonderful, and the birds are very entertaining.

I also recommend taking boat tours from Port Allen instead of Nawiliwili Harbor because it only takes 11 minutes to get from the Sheraton Kauai Resort to Port Allen and Waimea Canyon is close by.

It was a great stay! I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the upper floors for a better view from the lanai. Great place for cockt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I used to live on Kauai and we go back at least once a year to visit. We ALWAYS stay at the Sheraton. Last year we got married on the hotel grounds. It was an amazing experience. The Director of Events, Jazmin, was such a great help and made sure things went without a hitch. The Sheraton is probably the best hotel on the south side of Kauai for the price. It's close to restaurants and shopping. I would definitely recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was skeptical after seeing some bad reviews, but was thoroughly impressed after our two week stay. The location is the best on the island. The resort has everything on site, you could never leave the resort grounds and have a great vacation! Everything was clean, the staff was very accommodating, and the price was very reasonable. We live on Maui, so we have high expectations of the resorts, and the Sheraton Kauai met them with the aloha spirit!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our second stay here, and they had remodeled since we were last there. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was devine! Great sunset and ocean views from our room. Must stay there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband wanted to take me and our daughter to Poipu Beach because it was where he went as a child on his first trip to the Hawaiian Islands. We stayed at the Sheraton Poipu. The location is great as the hotel is on the water with views, etc. However, they are overselling what you actually get-- we were disappointed. The beach itself is not that deep so spreading out with your books and towels is a challenge. It was crowded on the beach and the pool. Overall, we should have skipped this property and Poipu. About the hotel. The Sheraton bell staff were slow to help us out of the cab and they seemed pre-occupied -- it was not that busy. We were "upgraded" to an ocean view room which was across the street from the main building in the garden view building on the ground floor. The view we had from our patio was of a funky garden area with multiple telephone/cable wires looking dead on at a sound wall. Hello? The only view of the water that was visible was if you craned your neck and squinted around the telephone pole. We went back to the front desk and were given another ocean view room but for a $100 premium. It was typical low-mid tier room that had updated bathroom areas, new paint and carpet but I did not like the popcorn ceiling and the place smelled like bug spray. I also found it odd that there was only one piece of wall art. Most hotels feature something of visual interest in the room -- even if you're suppose to look at the ocean. The gym was pretty bad and had way too much floor area with no equipment. Staff were mediocre overall and I'd rate the concierge poorly. I called more than 3 times and left a message regarding help with dinner reservations but never got a return call. All in all I'd skip this property unless you are on a tight budget and love the Sheraton brand. Glad we stayed for one nite and beat feet to the St. Regis!

Room Tip: Skip the Garden based buildings unless you want to look at plants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha willylabradoodle,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai for your visit to the islands, as it sounds like Poipu Beach was a great childhood memory for your husband. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel, we are sorry that you were disappointed in several aspects of your stay. We apologize that your first impression of the resort was not of warm aloha from our bell staff. Your comments have been shared with our team to ensure that we are greeting each guest with a welcoming spirit. With regard to our gym facilities, we are planning to upgrade our equipment in the coming months to provide an energizing experience for our guests. We are sorry you were disappointed with the room you were upgraded to upon your arrival. We are fortunate to have a variety of enjoyable views and are pleased you the front desk was able to assist. Guest comments are taken seriously and used as tools for us to better our future guest experiences. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope you will join us in the islands again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel has a nice location
I must say that we were rather disappointed with this Sheraton altho the room and bathroom were very nice. We had an oceanview, oceanfront room with a nice lanai.
Pool area very crowded, small for hotel size, not enough shade or umbrellas so we rented a cabana for $100 per day.
The fitness center was lacking , treadmills out of order, no one at the front desk knew anything, when would be fixed. Broken for 3 days, then just GONE. I asked every day when they would be fixed; front desk took room number and said they would have maintanence call us; no one ever called
The Rum Fire Restaurant service was abysmal. We had one dinner there, first night, would not go back for free! My husband's main course was brought out 10 minutes before mine. His dinner included dessert and the waiter just brought it out, never asked me if I wanted to order anything, I had to ask for it when my husband was served. My food was mediocre but my sorbet dessert was good.
We had the buffet breakfast included in our room price, it would have cost $25 otherwise, I certainly don't think what they had out on their buffet was worth anywhere near $25.
We got lunch at the hotel "delivered" to our cabana 2 days from the Lava restaurant. Mediocre salad and sandwiches, not worth the price charged. One day we went to the Starbucks shop on the property and got the pizza for lunch, best meal we had at the hotel.
Even the turn down service was disappointing, if there are 2 people in the room, why leave just ONE chocolate?
The valets were great and friendly, as were the pool people who took care of the cabanas. Front desk people had no idea what was going on in the hotel other than the rooms.
We are gold members with Starwood; this is the first time we have said that we would NOT go back to this Sheraton
Hopefully the manager was just on vacation the week we were there, as the service was very lax

Room Tip: the oceanfront rooms have a lovely view and are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha scubawife,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for taking the time to share your experience. While we are pleased our bellmen and pool team provided you with warm aloha, we apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations in several other aspects of your stay. With regard to our poolside shade, we will be installing additional shade thanks to feedback such as yours. We are sorry for the lack in follow up regarding our fitness center while the treadmills were being replaced. Your experience at RumFire is not indicative of our service standards and we have shared your comments with our team. We appreciate you voicing your concerns as it will only help us to improve our customer service. A manager will be reaching out to you as we would like to discuss your stay further and turn around your impression of the resort. We look forward to connecting with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.