We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton Kauai Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Lehi, Utah, United States
1 review
“Sheraton Kauai Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I just got back from an 8 day stay at the Sheraton Kauai. We were celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We had a terrific time and everything at the hotel was top notch. When we got home we discovered our I-Pod was missing. We called the hotel and spoke with Jan. She said she would do whatever it took to try and find our I-Pod. Within 30 minutes we got a call from Jan telling us that she had located our lost item and she would be sending it to us in the mail. Thanks to Jan and all the staff that made our special vacation so special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha sharonparrholmes,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai to celebrate your momentous 40th Wedding Anniversary. We are so pleased to hear that you had a terrific time, but more importantly, we are very happy that Jan and our team were able to help locate your missing iPod. Wishing you many more joyous anniversaries, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    339
    156
    80
    34
See reviews for
194
531
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this resort over 5 years ago when it actually look and felt like a more traditional Hawaiian hotel that promoted the local culture. We were very disappointed to see that they have "modernized" the hotel and created a more touristy destination. It's still located at the beach which is a great plus since you don't have to go far to swim in the ocean. The current could be a little too strong for the little ones though so be careful.

We stayed in a Garden room which felt cramped and the bathroom was on the small/average side. Although the gardens were well maintained and beautiful, the room definitely could use renovation. The room was towards the end/corner of the property and the hallways getting there could use more lighting during the evenings. It was raining the day after we arrived, and there was a big leak coming down the ceiling in the middle of the walkway to our building! One time walking back to our room, two groundskeeper (wearing orange) was just sitting on the hallway floor leaning on a post and having a conversation, not minding that the guests were walking right past them...

They removed a very nice restaurant (Shells) and in its place installed about 6-10 cabanas that you can rent for the day beside the pool for $100. The children pool connects to a 4-5 foot pool without barriers, so make sure you keep an eye on your little ones in the pool. The new restaurant in the property definitely did not feel Hawaiian, but more of a restaurant you would find in Los Angeles, so you may want to walk over to The Plantation Restaurant next door if you want a more authentic experience.

The wait staff seemed a little understaffed since it took a while to get our drinks, and when we decided to get it at the bar, the bartender wasn't very friendly. The front desk however was very friendly and professional.

Overall I would not recommend this property at its current state. I'm sure you can find other better options in Kauai for your money and island vacation experience.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Kauai is a unique island as you cannot drive all the way around. Northside is nice but few beaches and fewer restaurants. so Poipu is where the action is. Minutes from dive shops, the famous Poipu beach and 45 minutes from the canyon. This hotel offered us location, good service, a wonderful view and a relaxing vacation. We were privileged to see Monk Seals (endangered- only 1300 left) land on the beach to rest. The hotel quickly roped off the area to keep them safe. The pool was nice by the beach but the best pool was across the street. Very quiet but no restaurant. I was the only one there for an entire day and it was very peaceful. The water has a good surf to it so lots of surfers to watch. The sand is ideal for castles or just strolling in. You can be at the Spouting Horn within 10 minutes, Botanical gardens within 5 and lots of nice restaurants within 5 minutes as well. No dressing up here- shorts are ideal at every restaurant we visited. Check-in was easy and check out time gave us a courtesy room to shower after we were at the beach before our 9 p.m. departure. If you're a Starwood Platinuim member, valet parking is free.

Room Tip: It won't matter what room you get. Ocean view or garden view. All are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel grounds were nice enough. The pool area kept the same short loop of music going all day and every day. Lots of young adult party people with plenty of noise and drinking. However, the staff was apologetic and attempted to fix the problem of the noise.

The location was good.

Room Tip: Top floor of a building, ocean view or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in a garden room at the sheraton kauai for 6 days. Got an extremely good deal through the sheraton website (through pleasant holidays) for a package deal (airfare, hotel, and car). I tried to call the hotel before our trip to inquire how much an upgrade to an ocean view room would be, and was told it was $400 extra per night. So, the garden room ended up being just fine. The garden suites are across the street from the lobby, which sounds odd, but its not too far. The self parking lots can seem like a long haul when carrying heavy bags. The room was on the older side and a bit small (for 2 double beds). The bathroom definitely could use some updating as well, but everything was clean. The beds were very comfortable and the bedsheets & pillows were of good quality. On the website, Bliss bath products are promised but the actual bath amenities were generic and not Bliss! Service throughout the hotel was excellent and the cleaning staff were all very friendly (which contradicts some previous reviews). There is a hot tub, a standard pool, and a smaller shallow pool for children. There is a $30 per day resort fee as well, but when I rented a boogie board, I was charged $8 per hour. My sister and her family ate at the Lava restaurant on the property and kids meals are free with the purchase of an adult meal. She said the food was pretty good, yet pricey. There is also a cafe that has sandwiches, salads, pizzas, drinks, and coffee with extended hours-- pricey, but cheaper than a meal at one of the restaurants.
I tried to workout in the fitness center but was disappointed that the only cardio machines- 1 elliptical machine and 2 treadmills were very old and noisy. Seems that 3 machines is quite lacking given the size of the hotel. There were a few free weights available for use.
The hotel is on the southern shore of kauai and has its own beach on the property. The beach was very nice with soft white sand and we enjoyed swimming in the ocean everyday. We were lucky to see a few monk seals that apparently "beach" themselves on the property on a somewhat regular basis.
We booked a snorkel/catamaran tour up the na pali coast at the activities desk. The woman was very pleasant and helpful-- and after I inquired about additional discounts, was informed that there is a 10% discount with a AAA membership.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha hellomachka,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai for your 6-day stay and for taking the time to share your experience at the resort. we are pleased you were satisfied with your garden room, but apologize for the error on our web site regarding our bath amenities, which has since been corrected. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly team, and have noted the areas for improvement such as our fitness center. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This resort is in a good location along Poipu beach. The resort itself is huge and consists of several buildings divided by a road. The room we had appeared to have been recently remodeled, but was still not very clean. Quite a few hairs from the previous occupants had been left behind in the bed and shower. Service was OK here. I have had much better. We did speak to a concierge who was helpful in answering our questions, but then quickly jumped into one of those sales pitches about attending a 2 hour information session on vacation home ownership or something like that. Only ate one meal on property; a breakfast at Lava's, which was not too bad. The pool appeared to be alright. They have 2 (there is a smaller one in the complex across the road). Doesn't compare to the Hyatt's pool that has a lazy river and saltwater lagoon. My honest advice: stay at the Hyatt. It might be a little more price wise, but it is worth it. They have excellent service and the best pool on the island.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room in the main building of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha wjhmcm,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai and for reviewing your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our location, however, we apologize regarding the level of cleanliness in your room. Your experience is not indicative of our standards and we have shared your comments with our team to ensure this is addressed. We welcome you to connect with us to discuss your experience further. Please call 808-742-1661 at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We really wanted a beachfront hotel in Poipu, and the Sheraton has got the beach! We booked 5 nights, and since we really wanted the ocean view, we choose a Deluxe Ocean Front room. On checkin, my wife's Starwood Resorts membership got us a courtesy upgrade to an Ocean Luxury room, and wow! it was a Luxury. You can't bank on a courtesy upgrade, but it's nice when you get one. Thank you, Sheraton and Starwood.

Overall, we were delighted with our stay. Our room was great, the staff and service was good, the hotel grounds are lovely, and hotel amenities were good. Even the free WIFI mostly worked, although there seemed to be a couple of dead spots in coverage in our room.

We got some tips from the concierge on local dining and activities. One restaurant recommendation (Keoki's Paradise) was great. Another was not (Josselin's). We asked at the activities desk about helicopter tours, and the lady told us that she could get us the best rate at Blue Hawaiian. Seemed funny to me, since the rate she quoted was significantly higher than the rate on the Web. The activities desk said that the rate I saw on the web was only for 5-day advance sales. I called the tour company and they gave me the same rate over the phone for a flight two days later. Make me wonder how much the activities desk is into this for making money.

The package we signed up for included a breakfast buffet. That turned out to be a disappointment. We had just finished stays at three different hotels on the Big Island. The Sheraton's breakfast buffet was pretty sad in comparison. Every day there was one potato dish, one scrambled egg dish, bacon, sausages, and oatmeal porridge. Pancakes? Waffles? Nope. A couple of pastries. The fresh fruit was really sad. This is Hawaii, for heaven's sake. Where's the papaya? OK, not every hotel can have an omelet station for breakfast buffets, but we missed that too. If the buffet wasn't part of our package, we would have been better off ordering à la carte.

The pool and the beach are obviously big draws at the Sheraton. The pool is smallish by the standards of Hawaiian resort hotels, but it wasn't too crowded while we were there. There are only a few umbrellas (three, I think), so finding shade is tough. Lava's restaurant and bar is parked next to the pool, so ordering lunch or a drink is easy. The beach is nice, although it has reasonable slope so it's not a wide spacious beach. There's always some surf, so it's pretty popular with kids with boogie boards. We rented a covered beach cabana one day ($50, I think). It was a nice way to have a spot at the beach with some shade. The surf makes snorkeling a bit more challenging. Near the beach it's too stirred up and sandy, but there are a few pretty fish further from shore. I wouldn't say that this is a great snorkeling beach, but if you have a mask, you'll see something if you swim around for a while.

Lunch at Lava's is fine. Sandwiches, salads, burgers and fries. Nothing special. We went to the "Rum Fire" restaurant one evening. It has great views with windows all around. I found it excessively air-conditioned, to the point of being cold. Pricey menu. Service was excellent. Of the dishes we had, the Ahi Poke stood out as being really good.

We didn't sign up for a Luau, so I can't comment about the food, drink, or atmosphere. However, our room had a balcony view of the stage, so we watched and listened. I seem to have a knack for staying in hotel rooms in Hawaii that overlook the Luau. This one didn't strike me as quite as big a production as some Luaus I've seen elsewhere. The stage group was more pan-polynesian than most, so there was more music and dance from places like Tahiti / French Polynesia, New Zealand, and so on. The fire dancer was having an "off" night.

Bottom line: Beachfront at Poipu is premium. The Sheraton is a good place to get it.

Room Tip: This hotel is all about beach. Go for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.