We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Washington, DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel was a great place to spend the first part of our honeymoon. The property is great- including the beach and pool areas and on-site restaurants. And since restaurants and shops are within walking distance - It's also in a great location for when we wanted to get off property and not need a car (they have a shuttle as well). Our beachfront room was even more fantastic than we'd hoped for.

Room Tip: When booking- read the room descriptions carefully. They offer a lot of different types- but at lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    387
    194
    92
    41
See reviews for
228
638
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We are so happy with or choice to stay here. We believe they went above and beyond our expectations. The location is awesome. The activities offered on property are a bonus. The beach is very swimmable and great snorkeling! I just loved our maid service she was very cool!
The amenities on property were perfect. I loved having the gym and grab and go store as well as the restaurants.
The most impressive to me is on our check out date we had a very late evening flight, they stored our luggage and gave us a room for a half hr to clean up. So we were able to have a full beach day and not worry about showers and such before our travel back to the mainland. my daughter who is 13 loved it and it is very safe for her to just do her own thing.
I would stay here again:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This resort is amazing! The remodel is beautiful. We had an ocean front room, it was very clean, the decor was modern not "Hawaii" cheesy. The bed was excellent. I was 6 months pregnant and had no complaints! Food was very good, usually I am not a fan of buffets, but the breakfast buffet was pretty awesome! Everything you could want and more. We can't wait to bring the family back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for several nights last week. The Beach carries the day, so if you decide to come, ask for a Ocean View, otherwise, you will end up across the Street in the Garden area. You get what you pay for so spend the extra money on the better room and the great view. It is Hawaii after all.

When I checked in, they offered 2 double beds when I originally booked a King for my wedding anniversary. After a 10 minute wait, they found one. If your not happy, you have to tell them.
The WiFi is way below par, but apparently they "plan" to upgrade it soon. Two of the concierge folks are order takers and were not overly proactive as you would expect and I had to ask them repeatedly for a recommendations (for example, several commented to us that all the restaurants in the area were great, and to just pick one), another day we were sent from the "activity" desk (which was not busy) to the busy Concierge area to line up just for just a map and sites to see in the Island. Bizarre. Everyone seemed to have clear boundaries on tasks, rather than be more proactive or helpful. Not what you would expect from a Sheraton. Elaine the Manager that responds to these reviews on this site needs to do some more coaching and observing of her staff and working the room live and solicit the feedback as it happens rather than writing platitude comments after the fact. If you stay, I recommend you rent a car at the Hotel and explore the island. The Lava Bar and Grill has great food service staff were helpful. The Rum Fire Restaurant is ideal too. The guys at the front of the Hotel greeting clients and arranging luggage and taxi's were outstanding. Cleaning staff not so friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean view room away from the busy pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha Loews,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai for your wedding anniversary and for your great comments regarding our location and restaurants! We are pleased to hear that we were able to assist with your bedding and thank you for your patience while you allowed us to find a more suitable room for your needs. While we are happy that your overall stay was positive, we appreciate your observations regarding concierge and housekeeping and will share your comments with our team. We take our guests' feedback seriously, and for those guests we were unable to connect with at the resort, reviews provide the invaluable insight that helps to improve our services. We hope you will join us again at Sheraton Kauai soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was a little skeptical at first from reading some bad reviews but am so happy we stayed with the Sheraton! We were there for thr honeymoon- 3 nights in Kauai and 4 in Maui- we wish we booked more nights in Kauai! The beach in front of the Sheraton is perfect! It was so peaceful there and you cannot beat the sunsets!! We at at Rum Fire one night and were satisfied with our meal. We got the amazing shrimp lumpia for our appetizer that was delicious!!!
The rooms were perfect and the bed was super comftorble. We had an oceanfront view room that was superb! Book this place! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha KRLBoston,

There are many hotels in the islands, and we thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai for your stay. It is always a joy to hear when we have created a memorable stay in the islands for our guests. As you did not have a car this time, we hope you took advantage of the resort's shuttle service around the Poipu area! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two wonderful nights. The room had a wonderful view and balcony so we could enjoy the luxurious setting including the awesome sunset. Wifi in the room needed a booster modem but worked fine after that. We did not have a car but would plan to have one another time. The pool and beach areas were great. On site restaurant was terrific.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Let me acknowledge the fact that we stayed during the valentines day period, and that to us meant having a memorable time, not as we were to realise, being ignored because the hotel was quite well occupied.
The concierge lady was least helpful and kept looking at her watch, (no, it wasnt valentines that day) and asked us to figure out on the map, quite in contrast to our experience at other hotels, where they were delighted to be of help.
We were given a champagne voucher, as we were on our honeymoon, for which we were transfered from one hotel restaurant to another, finally we gave it to our airport porter and wished him luck getting it.
The rooms are hardly the description on the net, there are two sets of buildings, one on the beach and the rest are huddled across the street, meaning far beach view rather than beach view.
The toilets are the noisiest i have ever experienced and the wallls the thinnest, resulting in you waking up in the middle of the night as if the room had come down.
To make matters worse, the front desk is as non challant as the rest of the hotel staff.
The only ray of hope was the tour activity guide Isaac, who went out of his way to help us and saved us some money as well.
All in all, the most disappointing property ever visited, even though its set in a beautiful landscape. Such a waste!

Room Tip: the lifts are at the corner of building complexes, so if you choose a room on the higher floors, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha anishkila,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for sharing your feedback with us. While we are pleased that you enjoyed our setting and that Isaac provided you the great service expected of a Sheraton Resort, it is with disappointment to read that several of your expectations were unmet during your stay. Please accept our apologies for the lapse in service you experienced at the concierge and with challenges you had with redeeming your bottle of champagne. We are currently working to improve the delivery of champagne to guests. Further, we have shared your comments with our team to ensure we are providing the aloha service that our valuable guests expect when visiting the islands. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope for the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.