We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Time....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Good Time....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for several nights last week. The Beach carries the day, so if you decide to come, ask for a Ocean View, otherwise, you will end up across the Street in the Garden area. You get what you pay for so spend the extra money on the better room and the great view. It is Hawaii after all.

When I checked in, they offered 2 double beds when I originally booked a King for my wedding anniversary. After a 10 minute wait, they found one. If your not happy, you have to tell them.
The WiFi is way below par, but apparently they "plan" to upgrade it soon. Two of the concierge folks are order takers and were not overly proactive as you would expect and I had to ask them repeatedly for a recommendations (for example, several commented to us that all the restaurants in the area were great, and to just pick one), another day we were sent from the "activity" desk (which was not busy) to the busy Concierge area to line up just for just a map and sites to see in the Island. Bizarre. Everyone seemed to have clear boundaries on tasks, rather than be more proactive or helpful. Not what you would expect from a Sheraton. Elaine the Manager that responds to these reviews on this site needs to do some more coaching and observing of her staff and working the room live and solicit the feedback as it happens rather than writing platitude comments after the fact. If you stay, I recommend you rent a car at the Hotel and explore the island. The Lava Bar and Grill has great food service staff were helpful. The Rum Fire Restaurant is ideal too. The guys at the front of the Hotel greeting clients and arranging luggage and taxi's were outstanding. Cleaning staff not so friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean view room away from the busy pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha Loews,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai for your wedding anniversary and for your great comments regarding our location and restaurants! We are pleased to hear that we were able to assist with your bedding and thank you for your patience while you allowed us to find a more suitable room for your needs. While we are happy that your overall stay was positive, we appreciate your observations regarding concierge and housekeeping and will share your comments with our team. We take our guests' feedback seriously, and for those guests we were unable to connect with at the resort, reviews provide the invaluable insight that helps to improve our services. We hope you will join us again at Sheraton Kauai soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    387
    194
    94
    41
See reviews for
229
639
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was a little skeptical at first from reading some bad reviews but am so happy we stayed with the Sheraton! We were there for thr honeymoon- 3 nights in Kauai and 4 in Maui- we wish we booked more nights in Kauai! The beach in front of the Sheraton is perfect! It was so peaceful there and you cannot beat the sunsets!! We at at Rum Fire one night and were satisfied with our meal. We got the amazing shrimp lumpia for our appetizer that was delicious!!!
The rooms were perfect and the bed was super comftorble. We had an oceanfront view room that was superb! Book this place! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha KRLBoston,

There are many hotels in the islands, and we thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai for your stay. It is always a joy to hear when we have created a memorable stay in the islands for our guests. As you did not have a car this time, we hope you took advantage of the resort's shuttle service around the Poipu area! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two wonderful nights. The room had a wonderful view and balcony so we could enjoy the luxurious setting including the awesome sunset. Wifi in the room needed a booster modem but worked fine after that. We did not have a car but would plan to have one another time. The pool and beach areas were great. On site restaurant was terrific.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Let me acknowledge the fact that we stayed during the valentines day period, and that to us meant having a memorable time, not as we were to realise, being ignored because the hotel was quite well occupied.
The concierge lady was least helpful and kept looking at her watch, (no, it wasnt valentines that day) and asked us to figure out on the map, quite in contrast to our experience at other hotels, where they were delighted to be of help.
We were given a champagne voucher, as we were on our honeymoon, for which we were transfered from one hotel restaurant to another, finally we gave it to our airport porter and wished him luck getting it.
The rooms are hardly the description on the net, there are two sets of buildings, one on the beach and the rest are huddled across the street, meaning far beach view rather than beach view.
The toilets are the noisiest i have ever experienced and the wallls the thinnest, resulting in you waking up in the middle of the night as if the room had come down.
To make matters worse, the front desk is as non challant as the rest of the hotel staff.
The only ray of hope was the tour activity guide Isaac, who went out of his way to help us and saved us some money as well.
All in all, the most disappointing property ever visited, even though its set in a beautiful landscape. Such a waste!

Room Tip: the lifts are at the corner of building complexes, so if you choose a room on the higher floors, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha anishkila,

Mahalo for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort and for sharing your feedback with us. While we are pleased that you enjoyed our setting and that Isaac provided you the great service expected of a Sheraton Resort, it is with disappointment to read that several of your expectations were unmet during your stay. Please accept our apologies for the lapse in service you experienced at the concierge and with challenges you had with redeeming your bottle of champagne. We are currently working to improve the delivery of champagne to guests. Further, we have shared your comments with our team to ensure we are providing the aloha service that our valuable guests expect when visiting the islands. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope for the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great location. Half the resort has been updated and looks out on to the beach. I was across the small street in the half that has not been updated. Room fine though and good beds. The man that helped me with my luggage was great. I was traveling alone on a break from children and life and he suggested I text my husband or tell someone at the hotel where I would be hiking or swimming in case something happened as I was alone. He, the concierge and the activity desk woman all gave me great ideas. Pool right by the beach with a hot tub, bar and restaurant. You can rent cabanas near the pool but it is pricey otherwise lawn chairs. Amazing view. People surfing out in the water and boogie boarding. Besides the woman that checked me in EVERYONE was really friendly and helpful. Laundry facility for all the sandy clothes so don't over pack like I did! We will return for sure. I never ate at the hotel. I went to Living Foods and got food to go or Kukuiula Store in Koloa for fresh made juices with beets, greens, ginger, cucumbers and more. Da Crack Mexican Food right next door was fine too. Beautiful gardens. Hibiscus and other tropical plants everywhere. Lots of families having a great time. Also, it rains a lot in Kuai but while I was there, no lightening and it is totally warm.The rain comes and goes so don't worry too much. I went swimming and walking and hiking and kayaking in the rain and it was great. Just be careful of slippery hikes as there are some when it rains. I swam at the hotel and the beach by the hotel in the rain. Warm and actually kind of nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly remodeled section close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We were booked with this hotel from our travel agent for our honeymoon. Upon arrival they were going to book us in a "garden view" room when we paid for a "partial ocean view" and claimed they were going to upgrade us. Then they said they could only give us two full beds. Remember this is our honeymoon and the hotel was aware. Also my husband is 6'6". They said they would temporarily put us in a garden view for one night and move us the next day. However moving the next day was a bit of a hassle and had to call 3 times for luggage assistance. Overall a waste of precious vacation time. I will say they were apologetic and did credit us the resort fee each day. The property is nice and located well. Great beach and the pool is right there. The food was average at best. I wouldn't bother with the restaurants there with so many other close choices. We did the prepaid breakfast Buffett and it serves its purpose but going back I am not sure I would do that again. I am not sure what the cost of other hotels in the area cost. If the Sheraton is significantly cheaper than its worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Aloha nsebald5,

Congratulations on your honeymoon and thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai for your momentous occasion. We are pleased you enjoyed the proximity of the resort to Poipu Beach. We apologize for the inconvenience in getting you settled into your room, and are pleased you were able to connect with our team to correct the error. We have shared your comments regarding your breakfast experience with our team to continually improve our services. We hope you will join us again at Sheraton Kauai in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A blizzard in Denver that caused some 500 flights to be cancelled necessitated a two day delay in our departure. After an outstanding job by our AAA rep, everything was rescheduled except for our full week's stay at the Sheraton Resort, which had to be cut to only six days (they were fully booked for what would have been the seventh day, and we spent the final day at another resort). We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the beach, lava rocks and endless waves. What a marvelous way to begin each day on our balcony, coffee cup in hand, looking out on the ocean! There are a couple of swimming pools at the resort, one adjacent to the Lava Lounge, where one can obtain drinks and food items. Although conveniently close, the pool and bar were just around the corner from our balcony, so we were never annoyed by any noise, nor crowds of people gathering beneath our balcony. There are some half dozen "fire pits" scattered amongst beautiful flowering plants where guests would gather in the evenings (we forgot our marshmellows) and one of them allowed for a majestic view of each evening's sunset. Ryan was the friendly concierge who provided great advice and answered countless questions for us. He said he had lived in Kauai for nearly 25 years, so he definitely knew his stuff. In giving us dining ideas, he mentioned one of his local favorites: The Kalaheo Cafe & Coffee Co (casual dining) which we tried. It has been a long time since we've dined where each employee seemed to really enjoy his/her job. Friendly, efficient, smiling staff and the breakfast was outstanding. We would definitely stay at the Sheraton again, should we return to Kauai.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean. As there are no obstructions between the resort and the ocean, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha Ken70Plus,

Thank you for staying with us during your week-long stay in the islands! We are sorry that your trip was delayed, but are pleased that you had a pleasant stay once you arrived. Thank you for highlighting our excellent location and your concierge, Ryan. We have shared your feedback with our team and look forward to the chance to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.