We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton for two nights after renting a house on the North Shore with friends for a week. I am giving this hotel 4 stars for the service and incredible location. The beach is wonderful and will not disappoint. The second day I was there I had to leave very early for a snorkeling trip. When I asked the valet for my car I asked him if there was anywhere I could get coffee that early. He told me that McDonalds near the port was probably my best bet. Five minutes later he came back with my car and a cup of coffee for me. He'd gone out of his way to get it from the employee lounge so I wouldn't have to drive a half hour at the crack of dawn before I got coffee. It was such a simple genuine act of kindness that it put me in a good mood for the rest of the day. That was the one that blew me away, but the staff consistently demonstrated the "aloha" hospitality we all hope for in Hawaii. Leona at the front desk also went above and beyond to help figure out a way for me to stay in my room for an extra half day since my flight out didn't leave until midnight on my last day. The rooms and restaurants are good plus, not great. The room service Poke is yummy if you're into Poke.

Room Tip: There are two complexes. If you booked a "garden room" try for one on the beach side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    387
    194
    91
    41
See reviews for
228
637
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had garden view room across the road from the beach and main hotel. A little farther to walk but the view of the garden and pool was very nice. The grounds are nicely groomed and quite attractive.

Staff was friendly and helpful except for massage that never returned our call.

Breakfast at RumFire was good and ocean view from restaurant is excellent. Food at snack bar by the pool and the deli was poor and we did not want to risk a bad dinner when there were so many good options nearby.

The beach seems to the the longest and best in the Poipu area. If you want a beach experience with your hotel, I would highly recommend the Sheraton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here, because it was the best value I could get for Poipu. My husband and I spend most of our time sightseeing, and don't really care for luxury amenities where we stay; we just need a nice, clean hotel just to sleep in. The Sheraton is situated in a great location in Poipu; The main roads to Waimea and Kapaa are easy to get to from the resort and Our room was clean, but were a bit dated and bare bones. A good perk was free internet for up to 4 devices in the room. The beds were uncomfortable at least in my non-oceanfront, but full ocean view room. I guess you get what you pay for.

However, we spent most of our first evening in Kauai walking around the resort. The pool is kind of small, the hot tub temp is a little too cool set at 95 at that time of the day. The Lava restaurant is kind of beachy cheesy, but definitely has a "on vacation" kind of feel. However, all of that is fine and serves the purpose of calling this place a resort. The beachfront location is the real gem of this resort. The waters are relatively calm on the beach due to off shore reefs breaking the strength of the waves.

While the fitness room does have a good view of the ocean, it is kind of small and the few equipment pieces face the tv which is on the adjacent wall. They also offer complimentary morning yoga on certain days.

Breakfast was included with our resort package, which is served at the RumFire Restaurant. Although the menu stayed the same, what was included in our "free" breakfast changed everyday depending on the waiter. For instance, two waiters said fruit was included, and two waiters said fruit was additional. Free breakfast options were mostly egg-based dishes, ranging from "healthy" egg white omelets and wraps to more rich whole egg omelets with bacon or sausage. Several of the days, we saw whales during breakfast.

The staff was friendly, professional, and prompt. We had an error on our bill, it was researched and taken care of in a matter of minutes. If you want luxurious rooms at this resort I think you have to pay the price for the oceanfront rooms, but if you want a clean room, in a great location, with basic resort amenities then Sheraton can be a good value when staying in Poipu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Kauai from 12/29/12 - 1/6/13. This is a beautiful hotel, with beautifully kept grounds and very clean. It is very centrally located so that most activities aren't too far away. It sits on a small bay that I was told at the time of making my reservation that the ocean in front of the hotel was very safe and calm for swimming, even for my 8 year old son. It was a bit rougher than described; my son did swim in the ocean but stayed very close to shore.

Check-in was very smooth and efficient. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. The hotel claims it has wi-fi throughout the hotel but our room, #1138, had no such access.

The pool is not managed very well; there were never enough towels for the guests, and we'd have to come back several times to see if towels had been delivered. There are also not enough chairs around the pool, so of course people would come early in the morning and claim chairs that they wouldn't end up using until hours later. There are no bikes on the property, either for riding outside or stationary bikes for the exercise room.

Food at Lava's was absolutely terrible, not worth a fraction of the $65 per lunch for 2 kids and 2 adults (and we didn't order any alcohol). The hummus was watery, and the meat in the Philly cheese steak sandwich was completely dried up and barely edible.

Overall, it was a nice stay but this is a 3 star hotel, certainly not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake winnebago Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Aloha Paulie, Mark, Cindy and all the other great people we shared time with! You guys made us feel so welcome & blessed! We love & miss you guys. I am counting down the days until a hui hou! Sheraton Kauai resort has done a great job in delivering the Aloha spirit & making us feel like 'ohana! This is our second time first trip was 9days 01/12 second 14 days 01/13! Hotel is set on perfect beach~kid friendly waters unless storm surge~whale watching is awesome from beachfront deluxe~highly recommend the upgrade. Paulie & Mark make the best drinks(fair warning they could make you lolo!) LOL lots of things walking distance resteraunts shops ect..Couldnt ask for more! mahalo nui loa, a hui hou! Kelly renae :)

Room Tip: room 1144 the only way stay!!! oceanfront deluxe double vanity & larger closet! nani!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I visited this hotel in 2007 just to get a feel for it. I was staying elsewhere at the time. I remember not being impressed at the time. I simply looked "dated".

WOW! What a difference now! It looks and breathes like a completely different property. Our deluxe ocean-view room was awesome with a super-comfy bed and great (and private) and unobstructed view. We actually saw whales from our room!

The staff was super friendly and very happy to answer any questions we had. They also have convenient free shuttle service to different nearby hotels, beaches and restaurants. I recommend tipping the drivers. Randy was particularly nice.

The restaurant has been completely gutted and replaced with an outstanding new eatery called Rum Fire. They were open for breakfast and dinner (no lunch) and we were very happy with the service and quality of the food. If you need lunch, Lavas is located pool-side and has great Mai Tai's and food.

We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After reading the mixed reviews a few months ago from when the property was under renovation, I was pleased to see the recent positive reviews of the results of these changes. I'm a fan of Sheraton hotels and have always received excellent service being a Starwood Preferred Guest member. Our flight got in early morning, so we called ahead to see if early check in was available. We weren't able to check in around 11am, but in the meantime, we had full access to the resort and were given complimentary drink coupons to have mai tais at the Lava Lounge, complimentary valet parking the first day and ton of resort activities. You're paying a $30 resort charge, so take advantage of all the "complimentary" services and activities.
Definitely visit the concierge desk to get info about Kauai and surrounding restaurants/places on interest. Also, they will give you a reusable bag when you do shopping. Kauai has eliminated the usage of plastic bags for all vendors, so be sure to grab one otherwise you'll be doing a juggling act.
Our room was clean, comfortable and had a nice view overlooking the garden side pool and ponds.Beds were super comfortable and we slept like babies. First day was bright and sunny, so we drove along the West side, Waimea Canyon and South shores. Second day was rainy and dreary but driving was still spectacular being able to see waterfalls on the faces of the mountain. Hanalei is a peaceful and magical place to drive to. Very lush and tropical. All in all, it was an enjoyable Anniversary and we have nothing but praise for Sheraton Kauai.
Mahalo nui loa to Zana (front desk) and Cynthia (concierge) for their excellent customer service. Aloha!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.