We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large property on beach, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Large property on beach, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We chose the ocean front room and were so glad we did. This property is so large that it goes across the street. If you get a "garden view" you are most likely going to be across the street from the beach which is close but not quite the same as being on the ocean side. The garden rooms are nice, I'm sure, and you can save a lot of money so if that's a factor than stick with garden and just do the short walk. There are some garden rooms on the beach side but you would have to ask for them specifically, I think.

Our bed was comfortable although it seems that the sheets didn't fit that well. The flat panel TV was nice and large. Our room looked over the pool but we didn't hear much noise luckily.
The room was rather sparse but clean. We didn't hear noise from other rooms or the hall.
The housekeeping was fine. The bathroom and products were fine but nothing amazing,
all very basic in my opinion.

The beach at the property connected to other beach hotels so we could walk down the beach a bit although sometimes you climb on rocks to get places. They have a beach desk where you can rent snorkel and surf gear on property, very convenient.

The hotel has a shuttle to get around Poipu so you really don't need a car if you're staying local but we did have a car so we never used it.

The gym was very small. There was only one elliptical machine, a treadmill or maybe 3, some free weights and a few other things. It was super small considering how many rooms there are at this property. I chose to do a brisk walk instead.

The front desk was efficient. Lots of travel type desks but they aren't there all hours which was a bit of a surprise. They have travel companies as well as a concierge which was a bit odd.

Overall, I'm glad we stayed here and had a nice time. Ate in Rum Fire for breakfast. It has an awesome ocean view which we really enjoyed seeing the whales as we ate.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean front room so you're on the beach side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    381
    188
    89
    41
See reviews for
226
622
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very relaxing, great weather (especially if you compare it to the north side of the island of Kauai) and is close to great restaurants... Especially for watching sunset over the ocean!!
For sunset you should make a reservation at "The Beach House" restaurant or go around 5pm and sit in the bar for a wonderful view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just loved this place!!
We had a fabulous room overlooking the ocean -- we could hear the waves hitting the beach.

Also these folks understand what service is.
There was a special promo for the restaurant if you are a SPG member. They did not have it listed, but they honored it anyway.

Also, we had a problem with our rental car on the last day (the tire was looking quite flat), and the two valet guys just got right in there and they changed the tire for us. How is that for fantastic???!!!!

The rooms were very comfortable, large and with a great 4-poster bed and balcony with seating. We had problems with the wi-fi - but we asked them and they provided a router for us to use, which got us up and running quickly.

Great location too, and also meant it was pretty easy to get around the island.

Room Tip: Take a beach view room -- you won't regret it -- We overlooked the pool and found it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We started in a partial ocean view which was just o.k., but with the friendly staff we were able to upgrade to ocean view which was amazing....a view of paradise! For the money this location is a great view, deal and their beach beat the Hyatt's! The food was delicious and the service was excellent! And the sunsets were breathtaking!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here in mid-January. The rooms were about 90/night.

The pillow, blankets, and mattress were comfy! Shower had no issues. Room had a balcony, fridge, and large flat screen.

Location was good, short distance from two different shopping centers and a short drive to this little town area where Koloa Fish market (for poke) is located.

The property is right on Poipu Beach!

The rooms were not that big not modern but who needs that when you're in Hawaii? Hardly in the room anyways!

The staff are all very Hawaiian, aka nice, laid back, and hospitable. Laura was super helpful! She may be one of the managers there. The valet guys, Sean and Danoli(?) were also helpful and always friendly. Just love that about Hawaii(ans)!

When tides are high, you can cliff dive near by at Shipwreck Beach. It's a short drive from the hotel. I did not personally try it. I wanted to but we weren't sure if the tides were high enough. A good indicator is watching locals do it if you've never done it (at that location).

Would definitely stay here again!

Another added bonus:
Big jacuzzi and pool!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in November and it was fantastic. As soon as we pulled up in our rental car we were impressed with this hotel. The service was great and the hotel itself looks fantastic. The lobby is open to the outdoors, like a lot of the buildings in Kauai, and opened up into a manicured courtyard filled with exotic plants and gas fire pits with circular seating around them.

We knew we had picked a good hotel right then. Our room wowed us with a balcony opening up to the ocean with amazing sunset views every night. We would sit and drink wine and watch the sun go down and it was just surreal.

The hotel property is in a great location, right on a perfect beach that is okay to swim, snorkel and lay in the sand. Which is sort of a big deal in Kauai because there are tons of beaches but lots of them are too dangerous to snorkel or swim at and not very many that are safe are right behind the hotel.

The pool area sits between the hotel and the ocean and is way nice. There is a kiosk that rents all sorts of pool and beach equipment, including beach cabanas with drink service. We rented one and watched our six year old play in the surf and boogie board.

The onsite restaurant was incredible, very expensive and the service was top notch. Some of the best tasting food I've ever had. The hotel has these huge lights that shine out onto the lava rocks along the shore so you can watch the waves crashing out of the huge windows in the restaurant while you eat.

One thing to keep in mind though is that the property is split into two parts and we got the impression the part on the other side of the street was not at all like the one we were staying at. We sort of figured that some of the more negative reviews we read before we came referred to this other half of the hotel because the part we stayed at was wonderful.

Room Tip: Just do the valet parking, its so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It is a bit hard to rate this one, our garden view room was perfectly adequate for the price range, with comfy bed, clean and well maintained. The location is pretty good, close to the airport, waimea canyon, etc. We like the north shore better and we had a really good time at the Westin a while ago, but this time opted for poipu because of the weather this time of year. The hotel has a nice beach and not so great pool area. The pool and area around it is relatively small and was quite crowded. Service was a mixed, friendly and good at check in, just average afterwards (and no I was not jerking anybody around, they were just really uninterested in their customers).

Now there are a lot of little things that add up to a negative impression for me. Of course we knew about the resort fee before booking but one still gets very little usable in return (2 bottles of water and internet), basically a lot of stuff (beach chairs called cabanas) cost extra, which is completely ridiculous given the 30 USD resort fee. The pool bar closes at 5 / 5:30 and rumfire is just poor value. Restrooms at the pool never got cleaned during the day, although that would have been necessary. One afternoon the pressure of the only beach shower was so low that it was not usable (presumably because preparations for a luau were made on the lawn next to it). The wifi was not usable most of the time and slow when it worked (seems like they did not install enough access points to get a strong enough signal), wired internet access was fine though. There were some issues with the TV as well, in sequences with quick cuts or fast movements (i.e. high data rates) the picture would break up and stutter (typical sign of a weak cable signal). Also, there was only one usable electrical socket in the whole room.

Finally house keeping made a lot of noise next door in the morning, obviously cleaning a room makes some noise but moving furniture around at 8 to 9 AM, really?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.