We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is our goal to go back ASAP! Wish we stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It is our goal to go back ASAP! Wish we stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Sheraton in Kauai. The hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Our room was oceanfront and we could not have ask for a better view. Opening the sliding door at night and falling asleep to the sounds of the waves was priceless. We enjoyed beautiful sunrises on poipu beach as well as whale watching. Our experience was top notch and we have made it our goal to get back to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    432
    226
    105
    55
See reviews for
266
723
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The beach is nice and the rooms are sizeable with great views. The hotel and the amenities fall short of a “resort”. The staff does not really understand the concept of catering to clients expecting a four star experience and the nickel and diming on your final bill is rather insulting.
Bars close at 10:00 p.m.
Pool service ends at 5:00 p.m.
Shuttle service is over at 9:30 p.m.
18% gratuity added even at a buffet
Ran out of various staple items
Wi Fi is advertised but works only in the lobby and even then sporadically
Turn down service advertised but non-existent and our friends actually had a “not” turn down service where a cell phone was left on their bed and the clothes were all over the floor creating a breach of trust and security did nothing to add to their comfort as it was clear the phone belonged to a staff member
Overall this is not a bad place it is just not a 4 star hotel and thus misrepresents the expectation one has going into it and thus is very underwhelming as an experience. This place has tuned me off to the Sheraton brand unless I am travelling on business and simply do not care.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our second trip to Kauai, and of course had an amazing time on the island. The first time we stayed at the Koa Kea, which was pricier than the Sheraton but a fabulous hotel all around. The Sheraton was fine; if you want to stay on the beach in Poipu, don't want to spend a lot of money and don't care about service, the Sheraton fits the bill. We had several problems. On our arrival, we were told our upgrade (Starwood preferred gold members) was a room across the street with a view of the parking lot. The lady at the front desk did not embody the aloha spirit to say the least. We spent the first night there, before being upgraded the following morning to ocean front, only to find not one, but 2 roaches in our room. We moved rooms again. Upon our departure, we were informed that the late checkout for gold members was not available for our room. We were moved, count it, for the third time, to another room simply to shower before our red eye. The waitstaff at Rumfire, the bartenders, front desk people, etc were just not very friendly. The best service we had was the conceierge and the cleaning people. The pool also has a ridiculous policy of wearing wristbands if you use one of their towels. I felt like I was at a cheap Vegas hotel.
We will not stay at the Sheraton again; I plan on booking our next trip with more notice so we can stay at the Koa Kea. In my mind, it's well worth the money.

Room Tip: If you stay here, make sure you book ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Aloha Joanie D,

Thank you for your loyalty in the Starwood Preferred Guest program and for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sheraton Kauai Resort. We are happy to hear you had an amazing time on the island, but were disappointed to read of some the negative aspects of your stay. With regard to our SPG Gold guests, kindly note that while we are pleased to offer an upgraded room and late check out when available, these services are not guaranteed, particularly during peak season times such as the holidays. However, this should have been relayed to you with aloha, and we are sorry that you felt it was not conveyed to you by our staff. With regard to the pool, as the resort is located in a popular beach area, for the benefit of our guests, the wristbands ensure the pool and resort facilities are utilized by registered guests only. We would welcome further discussion regarding your stay and encourage you to connect with us at 808-742-1661. Wishing you a lovely start to your year.

With warm aloha,
Elaine Leung
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Based on the reviews we upgraded to an oceanview room on arrival and it was well worth it for the view alone.
The location was fantastic but the sea was very rough so don't expect to be able to swim unless your a very strong swimmer.
The restaurants around the hotel were fabulous and we ate out of resort each night bar one. The hotel restaurant lacked atmosphere and for the price the food was okay.
The rooms were nice, but again the hotel is very pricey for what it is.
If you want to lie on the beach on the beds you must paid, if you want to lie in the bungalows you must pay....we got the impression that making money was the core objective of the hotel.
This hotel is a nice hotel but does lack any atmosphere and any hawaiian feeling which is a real shame...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This continues to be a superb hotel with its own lovely stretch on Poipu Beach. When 1st built over 40 years ago it was much smaller and the only building in the area, but now has been joined by a few more hotels & a number of condos & houses; yet it is still very quiet. The restaurant & bar has been completely renovated, re-opening in mid-2012. The food is terrific, wine list reasonable & the view cannot be beat. The pool is fine but nothing special, however the beach is lovely. The staff are all very friendly, knowledgeable & eager to please. Rooms are very comfortable & all with lanai (balconies). Most of the hotel rooms are across the street from reception, restaurant, pool & beach so best to ask for ocean view on beach side of hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

In reading through the reviews just now, and sitting on the beach in front of the Sheraton as I type, I have to admit there is a lack of respect and manners from many of the tourists. Many are nice and courteous, but just as many are impatient, rude, and disrespectful of their fellow guests and staff.

My husband and I have stayed here for 3 nights from 12/28 -12/31 and have had no issues. We did our research, booked an ocean front room and knew to expect the $30 daily resort fee. Yes, if you book just an ocean VIEW room, that is what you will get. If you want ocean FRONT, well, book it then!

We got a great rate booking through the hotel website 8 months in advance (yes, because it is the holidays). All our expectations have been met. Service is friendly, relaxed, and sincere- which I hope we as guests have been to them.

If you are looking for finger-snap service and to be pampered at the expense of other guests' comfort, this place is not for you. Look past some of your creature comforts at home and see the natural beauty this island has to offer- we've seen amazing sunrises/sunsets, enjoyed the unique flowers and birds on this island, whales passing by off shore, and were even rewarded with seeing a monk seal come to shore to relax for the day in front of our cabana. Life is good. :)

If there were one reason I would not stay at this hotel, it would be because of the rude tourists staying here. The staff do a wonderful job managing them, IMHO.

Room Tip: Note the difference between ocean FRONT and VIEW when booking. BIG difference. We got a front on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We wanted a quiet place for a romantic getaway. From the valet's greeting when we arrived to the "aloha" when we left, our stay at the Sheraton Kaua'i was wonderful.

We had reserved a "luxury" oceanfront, and really wanted it to be quiet, private-feeling but still have a nice view. After talking it over with the young lady at check-in, she recommended a room for us and it was perfect. Upper floor (high ceilings!), balconies facing the pool (gorgeous sunrises!) and ocean (monk seals! whales!), no upstairs neighbors, no sounds but the waves on the beach and the breeze in the trees. Awesome.

All the staff we dealt with was warm and helpful, and we felt like friends coming to visit rather than hotel guests. Special shout-outs to Lahela, who took such great care of us at check-in, and Shantelle, our concierge who was spot-on in suggesting things we might like to see and do on the island.

About the only less-than-wonderful thing to report was Rumfire. We had dinner there a couple of times and, while the food was very good, the prices were a bit steep and the place had a feel that didn't really fit with the rest of the property. It is almost like it was trying too hard to be "cool" on a property that has a much more laid-back feel. Instead of a simple pina colada, for example, they had some vanilla-infused thing that wasn't great and didn't seem tropical at all. I wish it had been more like the rest of the place - open-air, casual and less "sterile". On the flip side, we loved Lava's and got lots of snacks - and great pina coladas - from there. And we loved that there are no touristy/overpriced shops on the property.

Would definitely stay here again. As a previous poster mentioned, Kaua'i is not as "busy" as some of the other places, so if you're looking for bars and parties, this isn't the place. And, although Poipu is more likely to be "nice" in December than the north shore, it's still winter here and wind/rain do happen. But the rain is only occasional, the skies are gorgeous, and if you're looking for romance, relaxation and casual tropical beauty, you won't find a better place than the Sheraton Kaua'i.

Room Tip: for-sure book an ocean-front. Be aware that the "luxury" ocean-front rooms are only on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.