We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for $179 Night. Not worth more.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Portland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Ok for $179 Night. Not worth more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel was supposedly refreshed a couple years ago in a $16mm refurb. Unfortunately, most the money was spent in public areas. One staff member said $6mm was spent for Rum Fire restaurant alone.
So the rooms are plain to say the least, very basic Sheraton fare. Look at the website and what you see is what you get. We we're "upgraded" to ocean front, BUT NO SPG Platinum Suite Upgrade. The front desk did a real tap dance around that. If you stay at the Sheraton because the price is low, you definitely need to get ocean front. Even the ocean view rooms are not great. And garden view would suck. Otherwise don't stay here. If the price is over $200 or you can't get ocean front. I would head elsewhere. The Marriott and the Grand Hyatt are close and much nicer.
WiFi in the room did not work. And for $30/day resort fees, it needs to work. On the second day, they provided a router to use and admitted the resort is looking to get a new internet provider, so in the meantime, all the guests are saddled with slow or non existent wifi. The front desk also suggested I park myself in the Link area to use the public computers, which I did the first day.
Rum Fire is a good restaurant. It's pricier than comparable restaurants and we only ate there once for dinner because we know the restaurants like Merriman's or Roy's that are in the area, which are much better and similar or lower price points. We also noticed the service was painfully slow even with about 2/3 of the tables empty.
The pool area is so-so. Nothing that great and no resort feel like you have at the Grand Hyatt.
Staff seemed to be quite pleasant and happy and service was quick, probably because there weren't many guests.
Valet brought our car and 5 minutes later he's calling me to say come back to the resort. It turns out the Altima rental car had a keyless remote and he had kept the keys in his hands as we drove off in the rental car. I couldn't believe it, but at least he had the forethought to call the cell phone when he realized the problem. They might want to have the phone number for each guest written on the claim check attached to the keys, so they can call a little more quickly.
Link computer area was added in the refurb and exactly what you would expect. The Link cafe/coffee shop has also been added and is an easy place to get a coffee, though we enjoyed walking up to the shopping center to grab coffee. It gave us a morning walk and got us off a fairly boring property, other than the location on the beach.
To sum it up, the ONLY way I would go back is for a low price. I'm used to Platinum Suite upgrades and when the property has well less than 50% occupancy and several suites are vacant (I checked and I even toured one) it's not worth the little time I have to travel for pleasure to be feeling miffed or slighted. It just wasn't that great of experience. And when I'm traveling for pleasure, I want the experience or I won't go back.
If you want a cheap room, this is probably the place on Poipu. Just don't have high expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    488
    246
    115
    62
See reviews for
309
806
32
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was a horrible hotel. They charge a $30.00 a day fee plus tax for stuff you'll never use and services they do not provide. We put the sign on our bed to have the bedding changed and they never changed it (we stayed for 6 days for our honeymoon!), they say they leave two waters a day complimentary for their guests, we only saw that half the time we stayed. When we first arrived, we mentioned we were on our honeymoon and when we got to our room it was 2 double beds! We went and complained and were told that we were outside of our category (whatever that means) but that they would "help us out this one time" and give us a king bed, even though that is what we reserved!
The pools were all cold and not heated and the garden pool was dirty.
Our toilet in our room ran about every hour or so, so we had to sleep with the bathroom door closed or it would wake us up in the middle of the night.
One of my biggest complaints is that the book of information they leave in the room for you is inaccurate. It stated that the Lava restaurant opened at 10:30 but when we went down for brunch, we were never greeted or asked for our order and when my husband went up to find out what was going on, a waiter told him that they don't open until 11. My husband looked at his phone and said, my phone says it's 11:01 and walked back to my table to collect me where we promptly left and did not return.
If that wasn't the worst service I ever had, I would like to note that the staff at the front desk at the Sheraton was completely rude as well. They made it seem like an inconvenience to help us. They also insisted on charging an additional $50.00 a day to my debit card because it was debit and not credit. I am still waiting for that money to be released.
The last night was simply the worst and we were ready to go home and never come back to the Sheraton. We had not one, but three cockroaches come through the bathroom vent. Completely disgusting. I've stayed at 2 star hotels and never experienced cockroaches in my room, let alone a supposed 4 star hotel.

I would not ever stay here or ever recommend the Sheraton hotel in Kauai. Don't stay here. Take your $30 a day fee and spend it on a room at the Marriott down the street. Their beach is way better for snorkeling anyway.

Room Tip: Save the $30 a day fee they charge and book a room down the street at the Marriott. Way nicer for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Aloha KKW1483,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sheraton Kauai Resort, and we are very sorry that your expectations were unmet during your visit in several areas, particularly with our lapse in service for your daily cleaning, the inconvenience your toilet caused and the in-room compendium, which we are working on updating due to recent changes at the resort. With regard to our resort fee, which includes parking, complimentary Internet and our Kids Eat Free program among other amenities, the included services are open to all guests, and we are unable to adjust the fee based on what services go unused. We are especially sorry for the unpleasant experience you had with cockroaches in your room. The resort is diligent in its weekly pest control maintenance, and such instances are unusual despite the tropical environment in which we are situated. We would welcome the chance to discuss this further and encourage you to reach out to me at 808-742-1661 at your earliest convenience. I look forward to connecting with you.

With warm aloha,
Elaine Leung
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this Sheraton, clean, well kept. We loved our upgrade to the oceanfront side. (away from the pool) staff are A-1 very helpful and accommodating . They had free valet parking and a free shuttle to locations in the poipu area.

Room Tip: Definitely get on the ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

In October we decided to go to Hawaii over Christmas. Plenty of time to book a room. I'm Starwood Platinum and decided to use points at the Sheraton Poipu. They have just completed a $16M renovation project and they told me they had upgraded us to a Ocean View Room. I was really excited until I got to our room, then I was like RU Kidding me? Take a look at the ocean view pics from the balcony and you be the judge.

Two Double beds, tiny room, tiny bathroom, tiny balcony, can tell you none of the $16M in renovation money went into building #3. If you stay here you want a Deluxe Ocean View.

Room Tip: Ocean View means views of street, telephone poles, parking lots, tennis courts and a bunch of other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha Scott D58,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort for your December trip to the islands and for taking the time to share your experience following your stay. We appreciate feedback from loyal Starwood Platinum members such as yourself, and were disappointed that you were dissatisfied with your room category. As the resort was nearly at full capacity over the holidays from earlier in the year, we apologize that we were unable to relocate you to a room that would better meet your expectations, such as our beach front or ocean front rooms, which tend to be in highest demand. Again, we thank you for your patronage and look forward to the chance to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Wanted a central location for the islands activities with nice accommodations and good value - Sheraton fit these well. We stayed in the Garden View rooms - in fact, we were in Building 8 which is the furthest from the beach and this worked. I read the reviews on here about the Garden View rooms being too small and too far and you should upgrade to the ocean view ones; I think it depends on what you are looking for - if it is your honeymoon and you want to have a once in a lifetime experience with the ocean at your front steps or don't mind paying a good sum extra - go for it. For my wife and me, we liked being able to come back from a long hike at Waimea Canyon or any adventure up North and not be in the middle of the action unless we wanted to, which was a 200' or so walk to the beach/pool complex. Room size was more than enough - probably a little tight if you get two double beds and try to fit four people in it but that is to be expected at any resort. Comfortable bed and always well cleaned each day. Had a smaller pool outside our balcony, which was barely used - so this was an option as well.
No issue with service - we had a 9:30PM flight out and the staff offered us a "hospitality room" to clean up before heading to the airport, which allowed us to be able to enjoy the entire day at the pool and beach instead of wasting it waiting or heading to the airport nasty - great idea!
Weather in December is hit or miss - colder (70's) days, we opted for a hike or visiting another part of the island - sunny days for the beach / pool area. We were there 5 days and 2 were pool / beach days and other 3 were better suited for off property activities - which were excellent - some of the hikes on both the West and East side of the island will be the best your have ever hiked both in scenery and challenge. Don't expect to enjoy a December vacation at the pool the entire time - renting a car is essential!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great hotel- property lovely but spoiled by weather and lack of amenities. If you want rain and wind- then stay here. If you care about rooms and views then stay here. If not, literally just beside hotel sharing same beach is called the Plantation - much cheaper. Other options available too. It was so cold and windy we could not even sit outside and sunbathe. Forget about swimming on the beach too - strong undertow and huge waves. Water is not calm. Hugely disappointed. Kauai is more for " hippie types" who want seclusion and a remote experience. Hiking and sightseeing are only things to do. We chatted with a couple in the pool who had booked 9 days there and looked horrified. It was only day 2 and they realized they had seen most everything and weren't sure how they would spend rest of time . We left a day early ( lost a nights pay) but felt we had to get out of there!! Rain rain rain- wind wind wind. Nothing to do! Staff told us best weather with little rain is in summer- well who wants to go there in summer?? With 90% humidity? Crazy. Thank god we only spent 3 days there. Hugely disappointed. Research a lot before you go there - focus on weather and activities. You can't get around if u don't have a car - no buses or taxis are there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is the second Sheraton property we stayed at during our first trip to HI. Similar to our first stop at the Sheraton Maui, great location but average service and rooms. Located on Poipu Beach which is excellent for familes and beach activities. Although beach gear kiosk is available at hotel, we suggest renting gear outside for better rates and flexibility. Nukumoi surf shop at Poipu Beach Park is a great place to rent all your beach gear! Restaurant RumFire at the hotel is poor service, expensive and bad quality. Avoid at all costs! Much better places to eat at nearby Poipu Village Shops. Convenient cafe at the hotel for food and drinks to go, but very expensive! Wifi available but weak signal, very annoying especially since there is a resort fee. Depending on which building your room is at, could be a very long walk to lobby area/beach/pool or self parking area. Two pools available however only central pool by the ocean seemed to be cleaned during our stay, probably because busy season is just coming up. Gardens and pool area at second building needs maintenance and attention. Upgrades available for SPG are unreasonably costly. Rooms do not have enough hooks for hanging clothes, especially wet bathing suits and towels. Can't hang on balcony due to strong winds and rain on the island. Overall, great location but disappointing for Starwood quality and service.

Room Tip: Ensure to get clear directions to elevators and room at first as it is very confusing to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.