We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent clean hotel beautifully located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
pullman
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent clean hotel beautifully located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in the room by the pool with a garden view. We were offered an upgrade to an ocean view room for the price of an arm and a leg. We did attend the presentation and got the upgrade for five days for free. So worth the time. The room is much bigger. The view is spectacular and the bathroom is so much bigger and nicer. The hotel is nice, the pool closer to the ocean is great, but the other one is constantly dirty even though nobody uses it, that's probably the reason. The staff is friendly. I wouldn't mind coming back again to this hotel mostly because of the location

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    432
    226
    105
    55
See reviews for
266
723
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and while the property is in a great location by the beach, upon check-in, they tried to up-sell us on a more expensive room. While I expect that with airlines, I have never experienced this with a four-star hotel. The check-in clerk tried to make it sound as if she were able to give us an even more favorable price on that specific day - NO Thank You! Then, we were told of all the added bonuses of the resort (free parking, tennis courts, internet access, etc.) but they were NOT complimentary. It was actually all included in the resort fee of about $35/night that we were not properly informed of before booking the hotel. We didn't need any of these amenities but did use the tennis courts once and for something we are paying for, they should spend some money to fix the courts because I have never seen such huge cracks on any courts I've played on before. So, having to pay for such crappy courts did not improve the experience.

We spoke with the general manager upon check-out and have followed up with them but they provided little resolution. I often stay at Sheraton hotels in the 48 continental states and have never had an unpleasant experience until I stayed at this resort. Though the location is great, I would definitely try another hotel next time. The treatment was definitely not the usual Sheraton hospitality I'm familiar with in the mainland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Spent the first half of our Hawaii trip at the Sheraton in Kauai. The grounds and location were perfect and the service was great. We had breakfast included which was quite good, but we would not have paid $ for it. The view from Rumfire is second to none. The rooms were average and view from oceanview room was great. I would not stay on the other side of the road in the garden view room and you loose out on the Kauai experience.
The fitness room needs serious updating. One treadmill squeeks like some animal's mating call and there is minimal other equipment.
Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We just returned from 9 days on Kauai. Our trip started at the Sheraton with a beach view room. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional. We picked the hotel because it was close to Lihue, our destination was Princeville. We spent time walking on the beach, enjoying the view and relaxing.

We headed North to Princeville to hike and explore. It was beautiful. We decided to cancel our last night and head back to the Sheraton. Back o. The sunny side of the island at a really casual hotel was the way to finish our trip. Thank you to the staff at the Sheraton for making out trip !

Room Tip: Book a beach view corner room in building six. You will get two decks and will be able to catch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great barrington ,MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I just read some reviews and felt compelled to write that my husband and I had a great time here. We spent 3 nights of our 14 night island hopping honeymoon here. On each island we stayed a few nights at condos or private rentals on the north shore and the other nights on each island at the touristy hotel areas. By the time we reached the Sheraton we were excited to be "pampered". I can't remember our room as anything terribly exciting, but it wasn't bad. It was across the street, which was fine. We don't need a lot of attention or special treatment. We used our Mai tai vouchers and the bartenders where not grumpy over that!!! We had a really fun, nice older lady. RumFire was delicious and the sunsets are stunning!!! I took a few photos which look like postcards!!!
We did a lot of relaxing here, as the rest of our trip was very active...hiking, beach hopping etc. we spent time at the pool and on the beach. Big NY Giant fans and the game was on at the bar. Ordered a few drinks and wings.I rented a cabana for the day, $50... Yes a bit expensive, but a once in a lifetime honeymoon and well worth it! Would do it again. My husband watched some of the game and wandered back and forth. We definitely couldn't have stayed at the Sheraton for our whole trip, as we seemed to rack up quite a bill in the few of days we were there, but we loved it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

The first night our plane was late so we didn't get our beac front room. We got the pool view room. I have to say it was terrible, broken lock and dirty feeling room and bathrrom. We moved the second night and were glad because it was completely different, even the elevator was nicer. We loved it and the cleaning staff was excellent.

We were there during a sunami and we were evacuated to the middle of the island. Even though it was 4 hours it was still a nice adventure. The hotel staff was very accomadating and helpful during the crisis.

Although we prefer the north shore, if we go back and stay at the south end we'll stay at the sheraton again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Well, the multi-year renovation of the facility is over and to congratulate themselves,the Sheraton Kauaii raised their rating to 5-star on the SPG pantheon of stars. And make no mistake, the setting is worth the nickel, the renovated rooms are improved, their beach is terrific, they have added some goodies (a little snack bar where you can get a double espresso, and other stuff) and for sure i will continue to stay there, even though the water slide is no more. And the staff is terrific, happy, smiling, efficient. That said....
I do not know who picked the exterior paint colors, but the scheme is three different shades of brownish/pink and one yellow (about which a Volvo i once owned, which was the same yellow, was labelled the "baby poopie brown volvo" by a garage atttendant who didn't know i could hear him and he used a different word than "poopie") and i cannot speak for anyone else but the colors are really unpleasant..they look more like something you'd find in the suburbs of Cleveland rather than an upscale beach resort. I would love to hear from others - am i the only one to see this?
They now have a really nice business center, and a tv entertainment room, and a concierge station. Unfortunately these are all put cheek-to-jowl next to each other, and so if you are in the Business Center trying to do some stuff on one of the computers, and some kids are watching teletubbies with the tv sound turned up as high as possible to overcome the shrieking, and there are 14 people yakking it up with the concierges...well, it gets kinda hairy.
Speaking of the little snack shop, which is a great idea, a couple of warnings. One is that they do not rotate their stock frequently, and the fruit salad that i bought there was only slightly older than i am. Mealy melon, pungent pineapple.... Also they purport to sell/give newspapers, particularly the NYTimes. O joy. O well, they did have it one day. But not on the others, so I asked where the Times was and the gal said that the guys at the valet station in the front were in charge of getting the Times into the store. So I asked the guys at the valet station. O no, not them, the Business Center handled the Times. And of course, at the business center...warn't them, it was the gals in the snack shop..... I bought the NYTimes at the Hyatt up the pike, there.
Why was I at the Hyatt up the pike? Because the Hyatt up the pike has a real gym in it. The gym in the Sheraton is not worthy of the label. It is the only gym in the history of gyms that does not have a bike of any kind, not recumbent, upright or other. One of the three tread mills squeaks so badly passing whales have tried to mate with it. And the treadmill is either impossible to repair, or no one at the Sheraton (or on the Island....or maybe in the State?) knows how to fix it and so it is rarely used, so make that two treadmills. Nice big space, though, and there is plenty of emptiness in it where one could actually fill with enough equipment to qualify the place as an exercise center and the view of the ocean is first-rate too.
Why ever do they use those really cheap chintzy plastic disposable glasses in the rooms? They fall down when yo put water in them, and they probably have their own section in the landfill by now since every day, new cups.
Speaking of the rooms, there is a small closet, and a three-drawer dresser about the size of a small filing cabinet for your clothes. My beloved filled those in a heartbeat with stuff left over. It may be that the designers thought that no one ever wears more than a bikini for the entire time they are at the resort,and an increasingly dirty one at that, 'cause there ain't a whole lotta room for two person's worth of clothing.
The chaises at the pool are lovely. Except they have a cross bar about where the small of my back hits when i am sitting part way up to read.
They also renovated and redid the restaurant. but that'll be another review
As i said, the location, the quality of the site,the great stafff, the sheer joy of being there will bring me back to the Sheraton at least yearly. But the place is so lovely that when all the stuff they did wrong leaps out at you, it screams...."AVERAGE"

Room Tip: Do not try to stay in Building 1. That one is for me!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.