We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location With Beautiful Grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Orlando
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Location With Beautiful Grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay. The grounds are wonderful. The pool is nice, not the greatest you might find on the island but more than adequate. The restaurant is good. What makes the grounds unique is that there is a "white" sand beach. This allows the kids to get their feet wet and play in the sand. The rooms are clean, although a little tired and in need of renovation. I would recommend this hotel for families as well as adults who just want to kick back and relax. There isn't a ton to do on Kauai, so make sure relaxation is what you are looking to do. Access to the airport is bout 30 minutes, so be careful if you are intending to take a cab as it is over $50 each way and there are no cabs readility available at the hotel, they must be summoned. I would strongly recommend a car to get around in.

Room Tip: There are a vast array of buildings to choose from, some close to the beach and some not so close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    381
    188
    89
    41
See reviews for
226
621
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place was amazing from start to finish! When we checked in, Chris at the front desk was awesome. He talked us through our stay and let us know the lay of the land. He was definitely on his "A" game that evening we checked in. Danilo in the valet area was awesome! As we came back daily, he checked with us to see if anything needed to be taken to the room. Great guy! Need a great voice to help you? Jan in Guest Services was our answer. She helped us daily and answered any questions we had. Our daily pool and beach essentials were taken care of by an enthusiastic young man named Archie...I called him Arch. This guy was non-stop! He took care of you the way a resort should. Be sure to stop by and see this cool cat! Last but not least, Josie. This is the sweetest housekeeper one could have. She made sure daily if we needed our room cleaned and did it with speed and class. Thank you Josie for always looking after us. This play is a hidden gem and a must stay!

Room Tip: If you have status, aim for the Ocean Front Deluxe; 510 sf...you will face the ocean daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

OK, you pay too much to stay here, and really pay too much to stay close to the ocean but really why come here and not pay that much? Great help, great parking, great view. If you want a complaint, really.... Three drawers for one couple to have for a week?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Booked an oceanfront room for 4 nights and was pleasantly surprised! We considered other properties such as the Hyatt and Koa Kea, but the Sheraton seemed to have the best rate for the price (included car rental). I was a bit nervous reading some of the negative reviews, but all in all our stay was great! I think the key to this hotel is booking an oceanfront room. The Sheraton has a separate wing that is across the street with no views- I would have been very disappointed if I had booked there (not sure if rooms were worse, just based on pure location). The view from our room was excellent and the rooms were always kept clean-although bathroom could have been a tad bigger. Housekeeping didn't even take our tips despite leaving them! I liked the fact that the Sheraton beach is at the end of a strip of hotels/condos so it felt a bit more private. Location was OK- we did drive everywhere though. Link cafe was way overpriced- go to the big save market which is a 10 min drive. Customer service was also great- we had a broken light in our room and maintenance came immediately. If I were to stay in Kauai again, I would definitely consider the Sheraton for a return visit. Great location, big enough but not overwhelming (like the Hyatt), and great value- just book the oceanfront and you will not be sorry!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Love the Poipu beach area in Kauai. Hotel has an amazing view of the ocean and a beach side pool. All staff encountered during this visit was very pleasant and helpful.

The new Rum Fire restaurant is Beautiful too - an amazing view of the ocean from every seat in the house! Food was very good and staff very pleasant and attentive. Modern and peaceful - will return for sure.

Room Tip: Two sides to the hotel Best view of the ocean is from the Ocean side but the Garden side has scener...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I thought the hotel was pretty average. One thing that I think they could use more of was hooks in the room to hang stuff on (wet towels, bathing suits, etc.) and more drawers! They only had 3 small ones in our room and we were staying 10 days! I had to use the chairs and table for my clothes. I also did see one small roach in the bathroom on one of our last nights but it crawled back into the hole it came out of. Housekeeping was great! Always gave us fresh towels and extra ones too!

Checkout is at 11am and they charged us $50 for a late check out of 2pm. Thought that was a little ridiculous since most people going back to the main land need a late checkout.

The beach was really nice and we saw a sea turtle on our 1st day! I was able to take one culture class while I was there and it was just okay, they were running really late (about 15 mins) and we had some place to get to so I was only able to do part of it. The couples cabana massage was wonderful and the ladies were really professional.

I thought Rum Fire was WAY over priced and the Link cafe was also over priced ($7 for a plane sandwich! on store bought bread). And they wouldn't let you substitute things in the cafe which was a little annoying.

I would stay here again if they were offering a really good deal but I will most likely try another hotel next time.

Room Tip: I would try and get something on the ocean side of the hotel if possible, the lanai's were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very good location on the beach and somewhat secluded at the end of the road. Overall the room was nice, after all this is not billed as luxury hotel. The king rooms have a little more space, which you lose with the double bed rooms. Only a small bench to sit on in the room (double) no other chairs so you either sit on the beds or on the balcony (not a bad choice).

The staff was very accommodating as our first room (king) had a connecting door (pet peeve) and they moved us to another room (double) that was more to our liking.

They have a 'shuttle' on request if you would like to be dropped off or picked up at a restaurant or bar near the hotel. Really consists of an SUV that they will have one of the staff drive you to your destination and you call for them to pick you up. There is no schedule and it's all first come first serve. We had no problems using the shuttle for happy hours (so we could both drink). I would recommend the bell desk give you an idea when they would be ready to take you as it depends on how busy the staff is. Primarily they just say, 'it will be a little while'. If they would just say it should be 10-15 minutes at most I'd be fine with that, but the way they say it you don't know if you will be sitting there for 30 minutes (we only sat there for 10 minutes at most as the car was there just needed a driver). It's a good service, especially if you don't want to drink and drive.

Which leads to the curious bar situation. Lava is open 11-5, Rum Fire is open at 5:30 so oddly no coverage for 30 minutes. Besides that they have no 'happy hour' which caused us to look elsewhere for happy hours. If they had had something for happy hour we would have stayed on property instead of leaving.

Besides the beach, the property is conveniently located near Kukui'ula Village Shopping Center (a little more than a mile) and Poipu Shopping Village (around 1/2 mile), which gives you easy access to some stores, restaurants and a high end grocer. Koloa is only 3 miles away for some additional shops and restaurants.

IMO you come here if you want to get away from the more commercialized parts of Kauai (Lihue and Kapaa) but still want something near by (as opposed to Princeville). Considering that it's roughly 50 miles to Princeville on the top side and 30 miles to Barking Sands on the West side you are not too far from anything you might want to do on the island.

Room Tip: If you are not on the beach, buildings 5, 6 or 7 are quite choices. King rooms have more space to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.