We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I thought the hotel was pretty average. One thing that I think they could use more of was hooks in the room to hang stuff on (wet towels, bathing suits, etc.) and more drawers! They only had 3 small ones in our room and we were staying 10 days! I had to use the chairs and table for my clothes. I also did see one small roach in the bathroom on one of our last nights but it crawled back into the hole it came out of. Housekeeping was great! Always gave us fresh towels and extra ones too!

Checkout is at 11am and they charged us $50 for a late check out of 2pm. Thought that was a little ridiculous since most people going back to the main land need a late checkout.

The beach was really nice and we saw a sea turtle on our 1st day! I was able to take one culture class while I was there and it was just okay, they were running really late (about 15 mins) and we had some place to get to so I was only able to do part of it. The couples cabana massage was wonderful and the ladies were really professional.

I thought Rum Fire was WAY over priced and the Link cafe was also over priced ($7 for a plane sandwich! on store bought bread). And they wouldn't let you substitute things in the cafe which was a little annoying.

I would stay here again if they were offering a really good deal but I will most likely try another hotel next time.

Room Tip: I would try and get something on the ocean side of the hotel if possible, the lanai's were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    370
    181
    84
    40
See reviews for
219
598
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very good location on the beach and somewhat secluded at the end of the road. Overall the room was nice, after all this is not billed as luxury hotel. The king rooms have a little more space, which you lose with the double bed rooms. Only a small bench to sit on in the room (double) no other chairs so you either sit on the beds or on the balcony (not a bad choice).

The staff was very accommodating as our first room (king) had a connecting door (pet peeve) and they moved us to another room (double) that was more to our liking.

They have a 'shuttle' on request if you would like to be dropped off or picked up at a restaurant or bar near the hotel. Really consists of an SUV that they will have one of the staff drive you to your destination and you call for them to pick you up. There is no schedule and it's all first come first serve. We had no problems using the shuttle for happy hours (so we could both drink). I would recommend the bell desk give you an idea when they would be ready to take you as it depends on how busy the staff is. Primarily they just say, 'it will be a little while'. If they would just say it should be 10-15 minutes at most I'd be fine with that, but the way they say it you don't know if you will be sitting there for 30 minutes (we only sat there for 10 minutes at most as the car was there just needed a driver). It's a good service, especially if you don't want to drink and drive.

Which leads to the curious bar situation. Lava is open 11-5, Rum Fire is open at 5:30 so oddly no coverage for 30 minutes. Besides that they have no 'happy hour' which caused us to look elsewhere for happy hours. If they had had something for happy hour we would have stayed on property instead of leaving.

Besides the beach, the property is conveniently located near Kukui'ula Village Shopping Center (a little more than a mile) and Poipu Shopping Village (around 1/2 mile), which gives you easy access to some stores, restaurants and a high end grocer. Koloa is only 3 miles away for some additional shops and restaurants.

IMO you come here if you want to get away from the more commercialized parts of Kauai (Lihue and Kapaa) but still want something near by (as opposed to Princeville). Considering that it's roughly 50 miles to Princeville on the top side and 30 miles to Barking Sands on the West side you are not too far from anything you might want to do on the island.

Room Tip: If you are not on the beach, buildings 5, 6 or 7 are quite choices. King rooms have more space to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon early November and to be honest I was I little worried because of some of the reviews on here. They could not be more wrong. We were treated great from day 1. They knew our names and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We also got an upgrade from garden view to ocean front which was absolutely amazing. The resort is first class and the pool was super refreshing after laying in the sun. At night they had fires going in the middle part of the resort you could sit around which looks nice and was great to just relax. That was the best part. It wasn't crazy busy with people everywhere and kids running around. The whole atmosphere was relaxing and laid back which I'm sure everyone wants when they go on vacation. The only minor negative I could say is there should be more selection on the menu at their restaurants rumfire and lavas on the beach. Great food just not enough on the menu to select from. Like I said do not believe the negatives you hear on this or any site. This was the best resort I've been to and we will definitely be back. Words and pictures truly cannot describe the beauty of Hawaii. Everyone has to go once in their life and Sheraton Kauai will not disappoint.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in an oceanfront room. The sunset views were very nice from our balcony. The room was nice enough for us at a beachfront hotel. We did not plan on using the hotel as a resort but did sit on the beach a few days. We rented beach chairs from a snorkel company and used them on the hotel beach and other beaches when we drove around the island. The hotel is close to a lot of dinner options and is in a good location for getting to other sites on the island. We had some issues with the internet but the router they provided fixed the issues. We found the staff to be very nice and accomodating. There was an issue with our bill but the front desk fixed it quickly. The fitness room is really dated and needs more equipment. I would have preferred to be outside but with the time difference I was up way before sunrise so that may not be an issue for you. The parking is easy to find and close to our room so we did not use the valet after the first night. It is free for gold or plat members for the entire stay. Turndown was a bit spotty but housekeeping was good otherwise. We had no issues with a dirty room that others reported. We saw a few bugs on occasion but with the balcony doors what do you expect?

Room Tip: Room in the ocean wing have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sheraton for 11 days in October in a Garden view king room. The grounds are beautiful and the location can't be beat!!! We will definetly return to the Poipu area next time we visit Kauai :)
*Our room was very quiet and overlooked the pool. The room it's self is not on the fancy side just your typical Sheraton room. We enjoyed our location and liked being away from the action of the ocean side. The first 9 days on our trip we didn't have people on either side of us so it was nice and quite. But the last few nights people came to the room next to us, you could hear everything though the walls, laughter, alarms going off, tv it was very very annoying.... It wasn't there fault it was just that the walls are paper thin.
*the location is amazing we loved walking the beach in the morning and enjoyed laying out a Poipu beach and swimming in the waves!
*For breakfast if we ate in site we would go to lavas and tab coffee and a baked item or egg sandwich, the staff was very nice and the food was yummy. We ate at the pool side bar 2 times the food was pretty good, I would not go out of my way to eat there but it was perfectly adequate and convient.
* one downside is that once the sun has set, there is no where to sit outside and have a cocktail and an appitizer. They are missing out big time on the opportunity of keeping there guests on site for dinner. Yes they have rum fire, but it is enclosed, it has a beautiful location, but who wants to go to Hawaii and sit inside!! We had stayed at the Sheraton on the Big Island the previous year and it was so nice to be able to sit outside and there patio at night and have a few cocktails, and a small bite to eat.

So all in all we would return as the location and price can't be beat. With a few improvements this hotel has great potential.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had our gorgeous sunset wedding and honeymooned there also. Staff was amazing, Friendly, Easily accessible and so ready to help everybody!!! The views are stunning, Resort is well kept, reasonably priced and awesome awesome awesome location!!! We can not wait to go back and have the greatest SHERATON KAUA'I EXPERIENCE AGAIN!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband & I went on a "baby moon" to Hawaii in September. He is a platinum Starwood member & we have stayed @ many of their properties. The room we got here was not one of he better ones we have stayed in though there was not really anything blatantly wrong with it.

He dining options @ hotel were extremely limited. There was the Rum Bar which felt mor like. Club atmosphere than a Hawaiian one or a little overpriced counter service cafe. We went into the cafe o ask for a plastic knife to use to cut up a mango my husband had bought @ a former market & were shocked to hear she wanted to charge us for a plastic ok. Yikes!

That said, we did enjoy the pool and beach area which was beautiful. We rented. Cabana on the sand for a 1/2 day which was nice. Alo rented a boogie board for very reasonable price.

Room Tip: There was no breakfast restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.