We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Good location and nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in an oceanfront room. The sunset views were very nice from our balcony. The room was nice enough for us at a beachfront hotel. We did not plan on using the hotel as a resort but did sit on the beach a few days. We rented beach chairs from a snorkel company and used them on the hotel beach and other beaches when we drove around the island. The hotel is close to a lot of dinner options and is in a good location for getting to other sites on the island. We had some issues with the internet but the router they provided fixed the issues. We found the staff to be very nice and accomodating. There was an issue with our bill but the front desk fixed it quickly. The fitness room is really dated and needs more equipment. I would have preferred to be outside but with the time difference I was up way before sunrise so that may not be an issue for you. The parking is easy to find and close to our room so we did not use the valet after the first night. It is free for gold or plat members for the entire stay. Turndown was a bit spotty but housekeeping was good otherwise. We had no issues with a dirty room that others reported. We saw a few bugs on occasion but with the balcony doors what do you expect?

Room Tip: Room in the ocean wing have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    351
    168
    82
    36
See reviews for
208
559
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sheraton for 11 days in October in a Garden view king room. The grounds are beautiful and the location can't be beat!!! We will definetly return to the Poipu area next time we visit Kauai :)
*Our room was very quiet and overlooked the pool. The room it's self is not on the fancy side just your typical Sheraton room. We enjoyed our location and liked being away from the action of the ocean side. The first 9 days on our trip we didn't have people on either side of us so it was nice and quite. But the last few nights people came to the room next to us, you could hear everything though the walls, laughter, alarms going off, tv it was very very annoying.... It wasn't there fault it was just that the walls are paper thin.
*the location is amazing we loved walking the beach in the morning and enjoyed laying out a Poipu beach and swimming in the waves!
*For breakfast if we ate in site we would go to lavas and tab coffee and a baked item or egg sandwich, the staff was very nice and the food was yummy. We ate at the pool side bar 2 times the food was pretty good, I would not go out of my way to eat there but it was perfectly adequate and convient.
* one downside is that once the sun has set, there is no where to sit outside and have a cocktail and an appitizer. They are missing out big time on the opportunity of keeping there guests on site for dinner. Yes they have rum fire, but it is enclosed, it has a beautiful location, but who wants to go to Hawaii and sit inside!! We had stayed at the Sheraton on the Big Island the previous year and it was so nice to be able to sit outside and there patio at night and have a few cocktails, and a small bite to eat.

So all in all we would return as the location and price can't be beat. With a few improvements this hotel has great potential.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had our gorgeous sunset wedding and honeymooned there also. Staff was amazing, Friendly, Easily accessible and so ready to help everybody!!! The views are stunning, Resort is well kept, reasonably priced and awesome awesome awesome location!!! We can not wait to go back and have the greatest SHERATON KAUA'I EXPERIENCE AGAIN!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband & I went on a "baby moon" to Hawaii in September. He is a platinum Starwood member & we have stayed @ many of their properties. The room we got here was not one of he better ones we have stayed in though there was not really anything blatantly wrong with it.

He dining options @ hotel were extremely limited. There was the Rum Bar which felt mor like. Club atmosphere than a Hawaiian one or a little overpriced counter service cafe. We went into the cafe o ask for a plastic knife to use to cut up a mango my husband had bought @ a former market & were shocked to hear she wanted to charge us for a plastic ok. Yikes!

That said, we did enjoy the pool and beach area which was beautiful. We rented. Cabana on the sand for a 1/2 day which was nice. Alo rented a boogie board for very reasonable price.

Room Tip: There was no breakfast restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Very open and airy facility. Excellent valet service. Excellent snorkeling at beaches adjoining property.
Easy access to Waimea Canyon access roads and ocean blow hole.

Our partial ocean view room had about 2 sq ft view of ocean through trees over the parking lot from the balcony at the very back of the property. The room was somewhat crowded with 2 queens.

We stepped out for early morning presentation and left privacy flag on door for about an hour. After returning, removing flag, and touring for the day, returned to find room unserviced. Even the request for added towel set for 3rd person requested 8 hours earlier was not fulfilled until after dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton Kauai for my first 3 nights on Kauai in early November - my room was on the garden side of the property so it was a little walk to the beach, restaurants and activities but that didn't bother me at all. My room was beautiful and extremely relaxing. Loved the free parking for my rental car. The resort fee of $25 per day isn't extremely appealing but most hotels have some type of resort fee per day anyways. On the days I wasn't hiking the Pihea/Swamp trail - i didn't get to the beach area later than 8 or 8:30. Great snorkeling and exotic fish, unfortunately I never saw a sea turtle. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. I even took a lei class which was fun too...overall it was a great time at the Sheraton though I definitely spent more time exploring the island, the canyon, Kalalau Valley, etc...vs. really staying around at the resort all day. There's soo much to do in Kauai...get ready to have lots of fun! The towel service which is included in the resort fee - I received 2 towels out at a time and that works really well.

Room Tip: My room was extremely quiet, never heard neighboring guests which was nice. The patio's were ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

very cheap room. Airconditioner was so loud and we have to turn it off to sleep. The room was small. The bed and bedding are extremely uncomfortable. The matress is so old and so cheap that it doesn't support at all. We had back pain every morning woke up. The bedding materials are very cheap fabric and uncomfortable. The comforter is heavy and thick and unsuitable for the weather. They changed our breakfast package from "buffet" to "order meal". Very limited choices. Beside egg dishes and juice or a slice of fruit, there is really no other things. The waiter/waitress were confused about what was included in our package. One morning they told us we can have this that, then the next morning we ordered the same thing, another waiter told us we can not have that... The garden was beautiful, but bull frogs was barking all night long loudly. My son was woke up by it and can not go back to sleep. One day, the hourse keeper left our room open all day until we came back later evening. I called them to tell them that the door was broken and would not shut close if you pull it after you. You had to slam it really bad to lock it. The beach is lovely, the servie desk at the beach was terrible. The rental price is very high. We should have just buy a boogy board for my son with the less money. We have Mai Tai included in our package. But when I present the card for the Mai Tai, the bar tender was like almost angry at us. We ended up gave away 80% of our Mai Tai cards. Feels like the hotel is not doing very well. They have high vacancy rate. So instead of improving the service, they try to cut other to make profit, such as meals, alcoholes. Will never use them again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha calanesth,
Thank you for selecting Sheraton Kauai for your accommodations in the islands and for reviewing your recent stay. We make note of all of our guests’ valuable feedback to further improve our services and were disappointed to learn of your negative experience with us. We apologize for the challenges you faced with regard to your bedding; in the future, please feel free to reach out to our housekeeping department, who can assist with making your bedding more suitable for your preferences. Your comments regarding the confusion of your breakfast inclusion have been sent to RumFire management for clarification, and your additional observations have been shared with our team so that we can continue to improve our guest experience. We look forward to the chance to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.