We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Great Staff. Great Mai Tais.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location. Great Staff. Great Mai Tais.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was going to give this place 4 stars because, well, it's just a Sheraton. There's nothing super fancy or extraordinary about it. But really I couldn't fault it an entire star just because it wasn't the Hyatt.

Rooms are clean and beds are very comfy. We had a deluxe garden room, and it actually had a very small, partial ocean view. The rooms are in no way "spectacular" but they were just what we needed - nothing more and nothing less. Which is good, because I don't want to pay for "more" that I don't need.

Location was excellent. A nice swimmable beach is just past the pool (no huge waves to contend with), and it's also a short walk to the Poipu Shopping Village. With a large sign just off the main road, it's also pretty easy to find.

Restaurants on premises have their pros and cons. Rum Fire is great for breakfast if it's included in your stay (otherwise it's overpriced) and I'd say skip it for dinner. Lava's is good for lunch or a snack, and darn it if they don't make a great mai tai (and I don't even like mai tais).

The only problem we had is that the air conditioning unit wasn't working one of the nights. After a call to Guest Services, a repairman came right up. We had the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door, so the front desk called us to make sure it was okay if he knocked. Wow, way to be on it. The next day they called to make sure the air was still working properly. Additionally, my mom left a note asking for a shower cap, and not only did they leave us 2, they called up to make sure we got them. Great follow-up service here!

Room Tip: Our deluxe garden room at 1407 had a slight ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    343
    161
    81
    34
See reviews for
196
542
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

From an entrepreneurial couple traveling with a 6 month old baby.

Bravo:
- Location is excellent. Right on the water, access to beach, snorkeling, beautiful sunsets.
- Tennis Courts, and they are lit at night! (They are in need of upkeep but still useful)
- Garden Rooms are fine! Very pretty garden view and pond.
- Centrally located elevator access is convenient for baby stroller.
- Self Service Laundry $2.00 to wash a load an d $2.00 to dry a load. Awesome and convenient!
- Fridgerator and Coffee in room - we used both!
- Daily maid cleaning staff were sweet and very professional. Room was always clean and well stocked. Thank you cleaning ladies! Be extra nice to the service people :) they are grandma's who are working hard to support families and have such a happy loving attitude.
- Crib for the baby was brought into our room. Thank you!
- Staff all around from front desk, bell man, to house keeping. All super professional and friendly!
- Snorkeling is decent and a very close walk by. A Sea Turtle came up on the beach to sun bath!!! Reminder DO NOT STEP on REEF.


Boo:
- Internet service and ATT cell coverage no good. We had to take calls outside of the room because
- $30 Resort Fee (but it includes internet, so...?)


Tips:
Eat off site for the best options and bring it back. There are a lot of mom and pop food shacks that make great stuff at cheap prices. Take it back to eat at the beach or in one of their cool fire pits for a nice sunset dinner or picnic. Their fire pit areas are dimly lit, have views of the ocean, and has music pumped in. Very nice!

Rent a car to explore the island and have lots of flexibility on where to eat, shop, and sightsee.

Rent your snorkel gear off site, you will get a better deal.

Conclusion, this is a GREAT value (when you can get a great package deal or special rate) for it's location. We have been to the the St. Regis and to the Grand Hyatt all much better in terms of amenities, decor, etc..., HOWEVER, they will not be at these prices. We felt this was a great fit for us next to renting a vacation rental condo.

This place is not the fanciest and does not compare to St. Regis or Grand Hyatt but it is good value for the money. I would come back! They do offer special deals, the one that brought us in was the one that included a car rental. Shop around!

Room Tip: Tips: Eat off site for the best options and bring it back. There are a lot of mom and pop food shac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The location is terrific and I will say we had some wonderful experiences with some of the staff, those experiences are what keep me from rating our stay lower. Without dragging into every detail (small rooms with broken/stained fixtures, overpriced BAD food, front desk issues, etc.) and experiences, the overall feeling we had was "eeehh".
We've stayed at Sheratons a lot and have been to the one in Maui (loved it) and Hawaii (Really Loved it), but this one left us missing those two, I think what happened is, our stay was bookended by two large groups and those groups took a lot of focus and energy from the staff. The staff was nice (we REALLY liked Candie at the Concierge Desk, she was great!), but overall we we're met with the "sorry we have a group . . ." excuse. I get it. They are big revenue. I can't really fault the Hotel for taking care of the big customer and would say if you have a large group event this may be a great option. In the future, As a couple traveling, I will take my SPG points and Vacation Money to a different Resort when we go to Kauai.
If you are looking at the South Shore of Kauai for a get away as a couple or the family, I can't recommend this hotel, but the area around there is really nice, the people are great, and there are some FANTASIC place to eat off property. We saw some other resorts that looked nice that may be more accommodating than what we had.
Again, it's not horrible (it could be fantastic under different circumstances) we were just hoping it would compare to the stays and service we have had at the Sheraton's in Hawaii (Kona), Maui (Kaanapali), and San Francisco, but it just didn't come close to our expectations. To be fair, we had High Hopes.

Room Tip: Ocean view . . .Rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Aloha long4vt,

Mahalo for your loyalty with the SPG program and for choosing Sheraton Kauai Resort during your recent stay in the islands. We love to hear positive feedback regarding great team members such as Candie, but were very disappointed we were unable to meet your expectations in other aspects of your stay. We would appreciate you reaching out to us regarding your experience to learn better how your stay was impacted so that we may continue striving to satisfy each of our guests. Please connect with us at 808-742-1661 and ask for the guest services manager. We look forward to the chance to turn your experience around and welcome you back to the resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenberg village, ca
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have spent a week or more at the property the last 4 years. In fact, we already have a 14 day trip scheduduled for 2013. The staff, from Lonnie at check in, Emily in the dinning room, room attendants, pool staff and management all are helpful and want you to enjoy your visit. Unfortunately some of the recent changes have not been successful. Loosing the point for sundet drinks was a large loss. Management is looking for ways to improve the undesirable changes. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We like the ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I are here for our honeymoon and stayed in one of the garden view rooms. Honestly, many reviews said to not stay in the Garden View rooms and enjoy the ocean, but to be honest, you can walk 1 minute and enjoy the view. In fact, the rooms don't have screens so you can't have the doors open to enjoy falling asleep to the sound of the waves. The Sheraton is a 5-10 minute walk on the beach to the MAIN beach Poipu, but the Sheraton has their own beach which is just as nice (just as good for snorkeling) without all of the people and crowds with gorgeous bathrooms, food service, and drinks steps away. Gorgeous place to enjoy a sunset. The Rum Fire restaurant is not as well known it seems b/c its not too busy, but those views are to die for. Even if you go for breakfast and enjoy some eggs, bacon and potatoes its worth the view. If you want to rent snorkel gear its $15 from Sheraton, $10 form Marriot and $7 at the place next door so its clearly overpriced for the same quality equipment. The concierge was BEYOND helpful. Candy, our rep was amazing and very helpful. We sought her out each time we had questions. There are shopping and food plazas (both cheap and expensive) less than 1 mile away. Its in a great location on the island and the views and pools are amazing. Even in the garden rooms the furniture and fixtures are nice, you can tell its Sheraton quality. Parking was great and once again, you can't beat the location. Typical comfortable bed and amenities. We did not give a five star b/c of pricey food and because of the noise that you can hear between adjoining rooms. Did this ruin our stay no? Is this probably typical at any hotel in this area made of cement? yes! We got a great deal via AAA and are for sure paying hundreds less than others so well worth every single penny! This hotel is great for couples, families, and work. Really, not too many kids around, but if you have a family you'd be welcomed. You get a free coupon for one free Mai Tai and we got a complimentary bottle of champagne when we mentioned our honeymoon (in advance). Beautiful gardens and land on site.

What do I want you to hear...many of these reviews dis garden rooms and to be honest they are not bad and I don't know what people are expecting- its a great resort and the talk around town when you say you are staying at the Sheraton people know you are staying in comfort. ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this resort for 4 nights and had a fabulous time! My room was very nice and perfect size for just me, I had alot of space, the beds were amazing! Mahalo's to Paul, Vance and Mark from Lava's and Rum Fire! Had a blast at both places. The food at Lava's is good, the food at Rum Fire, not so good, but the atmosphere is fun and the bar is beautiful. Another mahalo to Laura, the hotel manager who was not only helpful, but was very friendly. The view from the front lawn during sunset is one of the best in Hawaii!
Everybody was friendly and had smiles on their faces. The only thing I would change would be to get a garden pool bar, or some sort of action at that pool. My room overlooked the garden pool, but I couldn't help but want to be overlooking the ocean pool, as there were more people, and more activity. It would be nice for those people who just want to sit by a pool next to their room, if they had someplace to get a cocktail or snack. Doesn't take away from the beauty of the hotel though.

Room Tip: upgrade to ocean view, but if you can't get that, ask for a garden view overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Sheraton isn't perfect, but you can find deals that make it about half the price of the Hyatt. The grounds are very nice and well-maintained, as is the beach. We stayed in the "garden" section away from the beach, which had its pluses and minuses. The rooms were somewhat bland, and bathrooms were small & dated. But we had a nice balcony overlooking the garden pool and it was very peaceful. The garden pool was great because it was hardly used by anyone. It felt like we had our own private pool. If only they had towels and cold water to drink. We had to cross the street to the main pool to get fresh towels--a major inconvenience. But my biggest complaint is that there is almost no shade around either pool. If you want shade, you have to rent a covered lounge at $50/day, or a "bungalow" at $100/day. I think the resort fee should cover at least an umbrella, but there are so few around the pools that they are virtually useless.
One other complaint is the bedding. Mattresses are quite comfortable, but the comforters are so heavy that they are more suited to Alaska than Hawaii. And there were no light blankets in the closet. Some minor upgrades could make this hotel much nicer, but for the money, it's fine.

Room Tip: If you don't spend much time in your room, save some money & stay in the garden units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.