We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Beach, Nothing for Free” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Kodiak Island, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Beach, Nothing for Free”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I recently spent 7 nights at the Sheraton Kauai resort. The beachfront amenities are wonderful. The pool is nice, with great towel service. The beach is incomparably perfect... just 20 steps from the property, with golden sand bottom and great temperatures. The staff were really friendly and quite helpful, from the concierge to the cleaning staff, to the excellent bartender at RumFire (Benjie).

However, I was overwhelmed by their zeal to zap you for another $40 every time you turn around. The onsite dining was overpriced (walk to the north end of the beach and eat better food at the nicer Koa Kea resort for better prices, especially at lunchtime). The coffee shop charged $4.50 for a drip coffee. The resort fee is $25, and while they offer all sorts of classes, I didn't find the value worth the cost.

I had no car for the first three days and this was fine. It's reasonable walking to all sorts of dining, shopping, beaching, and more. However, if I was going to pay their full listed price for this property, I'd consider going down the street to Koa Kea, which is much more intimate and much more classy.

Finally, I was traveling solo and found that the crowd here tended to be "resort" which also means "couples" or "honeymooners" or "elderly people from New Jersey." Again, I think a more boutique hotel would have provided better opportunities to meet and mingle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    387
    194
    91
    41
See reviews for
228
637
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Is it the Island Beauty or the Hotel charisma.. I don't know.. But I N'joyd my stay at the Sheraton. Reception was pretty helpful and there was a lady very cheerful, full of energy.. Leeona (I presume I got the name right). She set the tone of my stay perfectly right with her smile and bubbly talks. Rum Fire food was good and they served my special food request of Vegetarian.

A Must place to njoy your stay in Hawaii..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent a week here and purchased an upgrade to have ocean front in the Ocean wing. Its a great location, love the beach, love the pool and the breakfast buffet is wonderful to start your day off. The Front Desk staff were incredibly friendly and accomodating. If you want rain, stay on the North side of the Island, if you want beach and sun, stay on the south side and stay here!!

Room Tip: Pay for upgrade and get a ocean front room away from the main pool. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Had an oceanview room. Great view every morning, watching the locals boogey boarding, surfing, and beautiful rainbows from the early morning showers. Had access to the pool area and beach with out any issues on getting lounge chairs. The staff was really great. They actually made you feel like it was resort. The Valet Guys were the best of any of the three Sheratons our family stayed at while in Hawaii. Whether directions, suggestions of places to eat, opening doors for my family or taking care of my luggage. They made them feellike royalty.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on right side were quiet and away from the pool and all the people traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon and loved every minute of it! The resort is stunning and our room was very comfortable. The resort is on the smaller side, so you almost feel like your are at a boutique hotel. The pool and beach were never crowded. Even though there were families there with kids, it was never loud. Honestly, we found the resort to have a romantic feel despite that it isn't geared for couples only. It is in a good location right on Poipu beach and is only 1.5 hours or so from the North Shore and about 30-40 minutes to the canyon. We will definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I recommend Grand Hyatt down the road. If you are spending money here then go to a place that really looks after your needs. Do not do this trip cheap. There were a lot of great things at this resort, minus the construction during our stay and the staff trying to sell us an upgrade if we went to their north resort for a 2hr time share presentation!!! The coupon DOES NOT WORK!!! You get an additional coupon for 50% your next stay at a Starwood property. The discount only applies to higher rates (rack room). We were going to use that coupon to stay at the W in Chicago and was give a nightly rate of $290.00. That is half of the rack room rate. I got a deal on hotels.com for $250.00. No discount... Terrible staff. We go married on the beach and my wife hates that place so much, I have years to convince her to go back to Kauai... We will one day, but we will never stay at the Sheraton Kauai....

Room Tip: You need an ocean view room if you cant get to the Hyatt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Spent 7 nights on this property. Staff very friendly and helpful except one morning at 6:30 AM we were woken to an evacuate alert. We went to the lobby as instructed after 20 minutes and no staff to offer us instructions or to let us know why we were awoken. After asking a fellow tending to the pool, (he had no clue there was an evacuation) and seeing others returning to their rooms, we returned to our rooms. We have no idea as to why there was an evacuation. Later in the day we sought out an answer, but we were never told. We were given a "coupon" for a free breakfast when we asked. If you are looking for a good meal, dine off property. Rumfire ~ don't waste your money, from food to evening lighting in this place it is lack luster to say the least. Lava's pool side, we walked in a few times to simply get a drink, while everyone was friendly, the service was lacking, we waited up to 15 minutes to get our drinks after we ordered, at one time we waited that long just to get service once we were told where to sit. We gave Lava's multiple opportunities to step up the service during our stay, as it was so convenient, and it fell short each time. The one thing we did notice about the Sheraton in general; it seemed short staffed in all areas of dining, The link Cafe just had one person working during the peak times.

Room Tip: If you are seeking a quiet room ask for rooms in building 1 or choose a garden room across the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.