We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel but loved yoga with Antonia Elizabeth Joy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kauai Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kauai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Kauai Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok hotel but loved yoga with Antonia Elizabeth Joy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The hotel is mediocre in my opinion. Very limited options for breakfast (either $23 buffet at the restaurant or instant oatmeal from the cafe). The elevator was not working in the section where we stayed. And the room/bathroom could use some updating. But the highlight of the hotel stay was yoga with Antonia for two mornings. A warm woman that made everyone, no matter their skill level, feel very comfortable. Against the backdrop of the ocean, her class was the perfect way to start the day in paradise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainele, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your positive review of our Resort. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sheraton Kauai Resort and Joy's Yoga made such an impact on you. I will share your kind words with her. She will be very excited to hear that she had such an impact on your stay.
Again thank you for taking the time to post your comment. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay on Kauai.
Mahalo,
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    338
    156
    80
    34
See reviews for
194
530
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My new husband and I just got back from Kauai where we stayed at the Sheraton Kauai Resort for 8 nights. Personally, I don't think the online website pictures do this hotel any justice. The grounds were awesome...the beach was one of the best on the island, the pool was clean and just the right size (never too crowded, either), the lobby was stylish and felt hip and the courtyard with the fire pits and torches was inviting and made you feel like you were in Hawaii! ;) We stayed in a partial-ocean view room...and while I was bummed at first that we weren't in the main part of the hotel (off the lobby), we were happy to find our room in excellent condition, plenty of room, clean and the balcony with chairs and a table was an excellent treat for us to sit and enjoy the view from across the street. Also - the bed was super comfortable.

We did at the hotel's new restaurant - Rum Fire and thought the food was very good. It was pricey, but the quality of the food was worth it. We also ordered food pool-side and everything we ordered there was quite good as well. There wasn't a huge selection...but the fish and chips were awesome, as was the hummus and cocktails were all very good.

The Lava Cafe was closed due to renovations and while I'm sure some people were super pissed that construction was going on in the pool area during our stay...I have to say, the noise was minimal and I hardly noticed that work was taking place. They were very discrete.

Another plus to this hotel is the location. It's in the middle of Poipu area...very close (within walking distance) to shopping and restaurants. The weather seemed to cooperate much better for us on the south end of the island...so if I ever get a chance to go back, I think I'll stay here again.

Only downside was the bathroom. I felt the room with the toilet and the shower could be bigger. Needs some updates. At one point during the week, our hot water stopped working. It was slightly inconvenient, however, the staff at the hotel fixed the problem right away...so it wasn't a problem for long.

Bottom line: This is an excellent hotel for a reasonable price in Kauai. It offers a cozy place to lay your head and a pool to soak up some sun. It doesn't make you feel so pampered that you feel you can't leave the hotel. If you're looking for a super cushy resort...then the Hyatt down the street is what you're looking for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abtwil, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Due to the fact that i was redeeming points on this three night stay i was pleasantly surprised by an oceanfront groundfloor room! Magnificent view and easy, uncrowded beach. Restaurants/Bars onsite are limited but good. Only downside: room keys did malfunction twice and i had to endure a rude frontdesk lady and be escorted to my room by a totally incompetent securty guard to verify my identity as a Platinum member.

Room Tip: If possible choose the beachfront property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainele, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comment in regards to your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all and any feedback we can get. I do apologize for opportunities you addressed in your post. I have shared your comments with the operations team as well as the General Manager.
As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to speak to a representative of our resort please contact the resort directly at 808-742-1661 and ask to speak to the manager on duty.

Mahalo A Hui Hou,

Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was our second stay at the Sheraton Kauai and we had a wonderful stay but the hotel is still in need of improvement. We stayed in an SPG preferred deluxe oceanfront room on the 4th floor which had the most amazing view of the ocean but the room itself was disappointing. Our room was extremely musty, like it hadn't been used in a long time, and there were a lot of deficiencies and mold in the bathroom. The closet was too dusty to put our clothes in so we kept them in our suitcases the whole week.

Pros:
The beach is fantastic. We saw humpbacks every day from the beach and from our lanai.
The food and service at Rumfire was outstanding. Much better than the old restaurant.
Lava was good for bar snacks and drinks.
The front desk, housekeeping and valet staff were all very friendly.
The business center has improved since our last stay. It now has four computers and a printer.
Cabanas by the pool are a nice addition and fairly priced.
We liked the first day free valet.

Cons:
Rooms are still in need of repairs post-reno. Someone should do a walk-through and check for deficiencies.
Torch lighting is now done by maintenance and they do not keep a regular schedule. The torches are supposed to be lit at sunset but some nights they were 30-40 minutes late.
Disappointed there is no longer outdoor seating at the new restaurant Rumfire.
Concierges need customer service training. All the other staff were lovely to deal with.
Wi-fi in our room never connected. We finally asked to borrow a wireless router and had no problems with internet for the rest of our stay.
Cafe/snack bar is only open for a few hours (closes at 11am).
The hotel no longer hosts an evening mai tai hour. Hotel guests used this time to meet and mingle and listen to and watch live hawaiian music and dancing. It's too bad they discontinued it.

All in all we had a great trip. The property looks great but we also loved it before the renos. More attention and money should have been spent upgrading the guest rooms.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront room by the rocks if you like it quiet or an oceanfront room by the pool if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainele, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your positive review of our Resort. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. I was happy to hear that the weather cooperated during your stay. Thank you again for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay on Kauai.
Mahalo,
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the Sheraton Resort on our rcent trip. Were given an ocean view room on a top floor. Was not expecting such nice accommodations. Pool area was great and yes there was the construction noise but it was not intrusive.

Would recommend the property without any reservations (sorry for the pun).

Room Tip: Try and get on a high level floor with a pool or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainele, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your positive review of our Resort. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay on Kauai.
Mahalo,
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

All perfect, way better than Hilton Honolulu,

Hilton had a lot of fancy stuff, but Sheraton Kauai made me feel in another world

Room Tip: Maybe a Room near parking lot? or Room near beach?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainele, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your positive review of our Resort. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sheraton Kauai Resort. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay on Kauai.
Mahalo,
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We liked to new upgrades and thought Rum Fire was very nice for dinner. Wish we knew about the "no beach attire" dress code in advance. Got up at 5:00am for a cruise to the Na Pali coast and would have loved a warm shower. No luck... Like many other reviewers we we on the fourth floor and neither room was able to take a comfortable shower.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kauai Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your recent review of the Sheraton Kauai Resort. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful dining experience at Rum Fire. I have shared your comments with our operations team. I apologize for the opportunity you faced with the shower and you can trust that our engineering team is looking into it.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. As a management team we take all comments seriously. If you would like to speak to a member of our team directly please contact the resort directly and ask to speak to the Manager on duty.
Mahalo,
Guest services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Kauai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kauai Resort

Address: 2440 Hoonani Rd, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#6 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kauai Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Sheraton Kauai Resort on Poipu Beach in Hawaii has the Hawaiian Rainforest Spa, water sports, two pools, a weekly Auli'i Luau, and 50,000 sq ft of indoor/outdoor meeting and event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Kauai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kauai Hotel Poipu
Sheraton Poipu
Poipu Sheraton
Sheraton Kauai Resort Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kauai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.