We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

When we arrived, one day after the grand opening, we were awe-struck upon entering the hotel. The Koa Kea is designed to impress with its clean & contemporary stye - elegant, yet understated and very comfortable. White leather sofas with jolts of colourful toss cushions, exquisite shell themed lighting, everywhere you gazed in the 'great room' styled check-in area lounge, bar and Red Salt Restaurant was a visual treat.
Guests arrive at the hotel to an awaiting valet and never have to park or retrieve their car again. A quick call to the desk, any time of day and your ride was waiting for you. Upon arriving we realized that we would be challenged to actually want to leave the resort over the course of the next 7 days. ALL staff were gracious, helpful and absolutely thrilled to be at your service after months of training prior to opening. The Poipu Beach setting is spectacular and as close to the sea as you can get without getting wet.
Lunch is served at the thatched roof open air bar at the lovely pool and hot tub. Breakfast and dinner are at the Red Salt Restaurant with its innovative, artfully presented cuisine. All menu items caught or produced locally. We ate many meals at both places and were never disappointed.
The small but chic spa is lovely though we didn't take advantage of the many treatment options available. The fitness facility is well equipped with plenty of machines (though our daily tennis schedule meant that we didn't take advantage of this either) Shopping is at a small gift shop adjacent to the lobby.
We received the opening special upgrade from garden view to a stunning ocean view room, however upon arriving to our room, it was discovered that the flat-screen TV was malfunctional. We were thrilled to discover that we would be further upgraded to an ocean front room. Imagine being able to go to sleep to the sounds of the sea, sleeping on the most luxurious bed, with down-filled mattress topper, down pillows, and decadent high thread count, Egyptian cotton linens.
The sumptuous bathroom provided large marble stall showers, dual shower heads (one rain shower).
The stunning contemporary design found in the beautiful lobby, lounge and restaurant carried over to the guest rooms. We were able to view several of the rooms at Koa Kea and all were uniquely designed and beautiful. All in-room amenities and services that you would find in a 5 star hotel were found at Koa Kea.
We found the Koa Kea by chance surfing the web and no reviews were available yet while we were researching our trip to Kaua'i, but this was the best chance encounter outcome that we could have ever imagined. We only intended to stay 4 nights but lengthened our stay to 7. Here's hoping that the beautiful experience we've had this past trip will be repeated when we return in the future. Thanks to all staff, keep up the great work. Mahalo, Mary & George

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,077
    181
    51
    19
    4
See reviews for
82
1092
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

I did not stay at Koa Kea but spent time at the spa. I loved many things about the spa and it's employees and there were only a few small things that I didn't like. My massage with Greg was wonderfu and one of the best I have ever had. It wasn't a typical rub down but more of an evaluation my body and where I had pain and then he made it better. So if you are looking for some who can help with chronic pain this would be the therapist for you. It was my Grandmothers first time at a Spa and her first massage. Her massage therapist was very sweet and understanding and made my Grandmother feel very comfortable. The only draw backs were that if you are not a guest at the resort you have to be escorted to the spa and that they had a hard time with there comupters at the end. They would bennifit from a receptionist to help make appiontments, ring up clients. ect.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San DIego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed at Ko'a Kea in April as part of a 10 trip to Oahu and Kauai. We had stayed at the Sheraton on Poipu our last time to Kauai and were excited for the opening of this new hotel just down the beach. Our room was beautiful with deep, dark wood colors and a modern feeling to the designs. The bathrooms are generous with a fantastic rain shower in marbled tile. As comfortable as our own bed at home is we have to admit that the down comforters and plush mattresses were some of the best we have had in a hotel. It appears that all of the rooms have some partial ocean view, we had a gorgeous view of the surf crashing over the offshore reef and we could watch surfers testing their skills. Ko'a Kea is about as close to the beach as you can be in a hotel with the fantastic Poipu beach just a few steps away.

We expected with it being a new opening that we would run into some glitches but all of them were very minor and handled quickly and efficiently by the friendly hotel staff. For example our television volume did not work so they just let us have the adjoining room to use for the rest of our stay. We realized that since they were newly opened they did not have full occupancy but it was still very nice that they allowed us to use both rooms.

The pool area is great with a black bottom that keeps that water temperature nice and warm. With the thatch roof bar right next to the pool it was a great place to relax and enjoy a drink. At night they light up the gas tiki torches all around the property that gives it a wonderful tropical flair. We always looked forward to coming back to the hotel after sight seeing or just spending the day at the beach.

We can just not say enough great things about this hotel. The front desk staff was superb, the bell service gave great directions and information about the island. We had our kids with us and they enjoyed the hotel and being able to go to the beach and pool each day with snorkeling just down the beach and surf to play in. If you are looking for a smaller hotel in a perfect setting and more personal service than the larger hotels around the area then try Ko'a Kea on your next visit to Kauai.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

After much research and reading reviews that scared us away from other hotels, we decided to stay the later half of our trip at the Ko'a Kea which at booking time was not yet open for business and had no reviews but who sold us with their website pictures, amenity listing and special opening rate. A risky decision for cautious people, but one that had a big payoff!

The hotel setting is placed upon a stretch of Poipu beach that has immediate access to all water sports - snorkeling, boogie boarding, surfing or just beach walking and watching the waves roll in... the grounds as expected were impeccable, well laid out and private from neighbouring accommodations with an outside bar (which we hope extends it hours until or past sunset and increases lunch offerings beyond two choices, and adds draft beer or Kauai brewed choices), large pool with new fluffy towels and separate hot tub which at the end of a day of beach going or exploring the island refreshed us for an evening of dining. Red Salt was only open for breakfast and dinner during our stay. Breakfast was our favorite meal of the day and did not disappoint starting with self made espresso in our room with real cream provided and in the restaurant - the best eggs benedict! We liked it so much we had it three days in a row. Dinner service a bit of a disappointment as staff not quite flowing yet - a minor detail as the food is why we were there. Menu choices provided classic fine dining ingredients with a contemporary fusion twist showcasing local ingredients. "Ono" - delicious!

Retiring to our room (garden view & top floor and looked exactly like the website photos) was the best way to end the day in paradise with a high quality mattress, linens and duvet, spacious bathroom with ammenties, free internet, 42" LCD flatscreen and semi-private lanai. Evening turn down service a nice touch with a much appreciated chilled bottle of water. We were provided an early checkin/out with only complaint being that we were not offered an upgrade upon checkin as other guests we spoke with were.

We especially appreciated the gracious staff and management who went out of their way to accomodate any request and shared their stories of life on Kauai. We look forward to our next trip & stay!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed here for our last two nights on Kauai. This boutique hotel exceeded our expectations. The week we were there this newly opened hotel was operating as a "soft open", however we didn't experience any big "kinks". Each and every staff member bent over backwards to make our stay wonderful. The attention to detail was fabulous -the decor, the amenities (the beds and linens are fabulous), the grounds, the service -everything. What's better is that you get that a sunny Poipu location without the trappings of a large touristy-styled hotel. The Ko'a Kea Hotel is luxurious without being pretentious. It's quiet and relaxing with 5-Star quality service.

The u-shaped layout of the building (built on the footprint of a previous hotel destroyed by Hurricane Iniki) offers privacy from the other hotels, giving a nice feel of seclusion. You can easily stroll along the beach on a manicured pathway that winds past the new Marriott Condos in one directions or past the Sheraton in the other.

We HIGHLY recommend the Red Salt restaurant for dinner. If this place doesn't receive a Michelin star for it's cuisine we'd be surprised. The fish is locally caught and fresh. Menu items change depending on what is available. Breakfast can be a little pricey and slightly underwhelming but it is still good and the service is still top-notch. You can choose to eat breakfast on your room's balcony or in the restaurant.

We overheard some people (not guests of the hotel) on the pathway complain about the cost of a night's stay. We can only say that we found a great deal through Hotels.com and the price of staying at the Ko'a Kea was worth every single penny. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.