We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, lovely resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
4th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small, lovely resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Loved this small, intimate resort. Just one pool, terrific bar service (best Mai-tais). Quiet and very few kids. Perfect for an adult R&R vacation. Our rate included breakfast which we had delivered to the room so we could sit on the balcony and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Be sure to order the soufflé pancakes; they are incredible! Although Red Salt is a great restaurant, my only complaint is that it is indoors. No outside dining available other than the pool bar.

If you are looking for multiple pools and restaurants, and a kid-friendly atmosphere, this isn't for you. If on the other hand you you want a small, quiet luxury hotel, it's the perfect choice!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    197
    55
    22
    4
See reviews for
88
1,171
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed 7 days at the Koa Kea for our honeymoon and we were very impressed. The front-desk and bell/valet staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and always went the extra step to make our stay a great one. We visited the Red Salt restaurant for breakfast every day and had dinner there a couple of times - the food is excellent, as is the service. The facilities were very nice and the only minor disappointment (stressing "minor") is that the ocean view room we had was in the main building and it was a little far from the ocean to fully appreciate the cost difference for the view, although it was still nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Small, nice hotel, but not number one as on Kauai as far as I am concerned. Also during our stay had the opportunity to visit the Hyatt and Marriot. These hotels are much nicer as far as the beauty of the resorts and the rooms. Kind of shakes my faith in using trip advisor for determining where I will stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and loved every minute. The resort is extremely well maintained, rooms are clean (and serviced twice a day). Staff were resourceful and friendly with excellent knowledge of the island. Driving instruction/direction cards to the main attractions are available at the concierge. Easy access to the pool, bar and beach. Not much more you could want from a resort get away.

Room Tip: We had the partial ocean view which was great. By the look of it - the Ocean View would be outstandi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Lovely hotel for a change way from the larger ones. Staff were all terrific. Breakfast great and Red Salt for dinner was right up there with the best. Was worried at first when within 30 seconds on being shown our room we were asked to look at another room for $200 a night upgrade. We declined to look. Our room was in a nice position it was an end room on the ocean front which may be smaller than other rooms on the whole floor looking at the floor plan on door but was fine once I moved the piece of furniture from the end of the bed. Could not walk past when someone was sitting on chair at desk.
I would go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool and ocean view rooms are the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the hotel during our trip to Kauai. We had an amazing experience. Our room had a partial ocean view. The rooms itself were immaculate with modern design and furnishings. Each room had a balcony. The beds were super comfy. The room was spacious. The service was superb from the hotel desk staff to the valets and bartenders/waiters. Our package including the breakfast option which included the continent breakfast buffet plus one hot entree item. We are both vegetarian and there was a good variety of options. Marlina, essentially was our server every morning and was always cheerful and personable and she took care of us well. The pool side bar had a good food selection and quality. We dined at the hotel bar/restaurant (Red Salt) on our last night. Justin, one of the sushi chef's at the bar was AWESOME! He gave us personal attention and made us 2 different kinds of vegetarian sushi rolls. The best vegetarian sushi rolls that we've had! There is a small beach connected to the hotel but a larger more public beach is within a short walk from the hotel beach. There was great snorkeling just next to the hotel beach and. Snorkeling equip can be rented from the hotel for a small hourly fee. We also had a $50 per day resort credit that could be used for food, drinks, as well as to purchase food/souvenir items from the boutique store. The concierge staff was very helpful in helping us plan and book a Napali coast boat cruise. There are many great restaurants nearby in Poipu village that are about a 10-15 minute walk or 5 minute drive. The hotel is about 20-30 minute drive from Lihue airport.

All in all, a wonderful experience. Definitely a great place for a romantic couple getaway/honeymoon. We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again at this hotel when we come back to Kauai!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This review is long overdue. My husband and I spent 5 nights at Koa Kea Hotel and Resort in September 2013 to celebrate our 25th anniversary. This boutique style hotel was everything we were looking for, very clean, beautifully landscaped, quiet with the most remarkable staff. Everyone who works here goes out of their way to help make your vacation special. The restaurant on the property is amazing and the spa, although small was wonderful. We look forward to going back to the Koa Kea this year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#3 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.