We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kauai's Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Kauai's Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our recent stay at Koa Kea was outstanding. As has been mentioned in so many reviews, the attention to detail from the moment you arrive until you depart makes for a hotel experience that is a cut above a typical resort hotel stay. We took advantage of the IPrefer program that we learned about in a Tripadvisor review, booking an ocean front room and getting an upgrade to deluxe oceanfront. Our room was spacious, with a super comfortable king sized bed. Our bathroom had a deluxe shower as well as a large bathtub.
Our room was steps away from the beach. While not large, it was uncrowded and the variety of activities was impressive. We snorkeled daily and saw many fish, one sea turtle and tons of other marine life including a diverse array of sea urchins. We enjoyed watching the surfers and boogie boarders as well.
Breakfast at Red Salt was included in our room package and made for a great start to each day. Dinner at Red Salt was outstanding as well.
We decided while there that we will return to Koa Kea as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Oceanfront was great, but our ground floor room was not private, so book otherwise if that is what y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    216
    61
    24
    5
See reviews for
94
1,273
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We loved our stay at the Koa Kea. Everyone was so nice and the service was spectacular. We had an oceanfront room with a lanai, which was amazing. The bed was super comfortable and luxurious, the shower was amazing (sounds silly but it was a daily pleasure), the coffee in the room was great, and being right in front of the ocean and seeing sunrises and sunsets was spectacular. I loved how they don't try to nickel and dime you the whole time you are there (e.g., there are some reasonably priced wines on the menu, snorkel gear rental was super cheap, and breakfast was included in our room price.)

I would definitely come back to this hotel.

As an aside, the 4 stars on the otherwise 5 star breakfast was that they didn't have real maple syrup. It was weird to be eating these luxurious breakfasts with that nasty corn syrupy stuff with fake maple flavor. Small detail on an otherwise amazing stay.

One note: we paid more for this hotel than I have ever paid for a hotel in my life, so I can't really speak to the value per se.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Koa Kea is tucked in between the much larger Marriott and Sheraton resorts and every time you pass by these others you're reminded how nice and peaceful the resort is. Beautiful little beach that is nice and quiet right in front. If you prefer more activity, Poipu beach is within 5 min walking distance.
Classy rooms, high service, valet parking and great restaurant (Red Salt). Poipu is actually a very good location as majority of Napali coast tours depart from the southern part of the island as well as the entrance to Waimea canyon. Further Poipu provides some nice shopping possibilities. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Partial sea view rooms vary a lot in how much sea you actually see. Ask for the ones closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Wonderful location, very attentive, friendly staff. Personal feeling while be a beautiful clean and modern establishment. The rooms are great. None of them are far from the courtyard, beach or front desk. I would like to have seen some additional causal items on the 24 hour menu. Overall, I would highly recommend the Koa Kea!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Koa Kea for 4 days dring our honeymoon. The hotel staff were amazing, from the minute we arrived and were personally shown to our room to the moment we checked out and our bags were loaded into the car for us.

Breakfasts were amazing, the wait staff were friendly and enthusiastic, and dinner at Red Salt was incredible!! We also recieved a bottle of champagne on our first night there in honour of our honeymoon.

We absolutely loved our time here. Will absolutely be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Relaxation, comfort, friendliness. Excellent food, understated classy ambiance. If this sounds attractive, than Koa Kea is your place. A calm oasis. The North Shore is an hour and a half away, but coming back to the peasce of Koa Kea makes the trip worthwhile.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I celebrate (hid from?) my 40th birthday at Koa Kea. While making our reservation by phone, I confessed this tidbit to the reservation agent (.... whose name is escaping me... thanks 40.. which is unfortunate because he was just so very friendly, funny, and engaging). From the start, 6000 miles away, our experience was wonderful.

Upon check in, the welcoming employees upgraded us to an ocean front room. What a beautiful surprise! As if that were not enough, a few minutes after my husband and I settled in, a knock on the door announced a complimentary bottle of champagne, and a most unexpected birthday card. After 5 days in the hustle and bustle of Honolulu and Waikiki, Koa Kea offered us the peace and beauty of Kauai, together with the true aloha spirit.

The room was clean, comfortable, and relaxing -- everything we needed! We were close to the beach. There were no children (that we saw) at the resort, making it particularly relaxing and quiet. We had one meal (breakfast) at the Red Salt, which was lovely. All of the service was amazing, the valet employees and concierge were helpful without being the least bit pushy, and my husband and I enjoyed our stay more than I can express in this review. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.