We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing, beautiful site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Poipu
orange,ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“relaxing, beautiful site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Partial ocean view was so much better than most under that category, lovely and comfortable as well. The property is tucked nicely in front of the ocean and a small snorkeling beach. The Poipu location is perfect for access to activities, restaurants and shopping...and staying right there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,084
    181
    51
    21
    4
See reviews for
83
1099
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We chose to stay at the Koa Kea for the second part of our honeymoon, after viewing practically all the hotels on the island over the internet beforehand. It was exactly what we hoped for, our room was one of the ones NOT overlooking the pool which was our preference and meant it was quieter and more private.
We did use the pool a few times and it's very nice and compact, it never got too full but we generally used it at the very beginning or end of the day as we were out and about during. It's mainly a place for couples (of all ages), I don't remember seeing any children, which I expected, as it's more of a boutique hotel than a complex.
The rooms are very stylish, nice big beds and a lovely shower room, the TV had lots of channels which my husband was pleased about. The outside space for each room was peaceful and I only ever saw a couple of people at the same time as me using theirs (screens between each rooms' outdoor space might be nice).
The staff at the hotel are very friendly and knowledgeable, we booked a helicopter trip through the concierge area and it was very easy. We were able to get single coffee pods at reception when we'd run out in our room. Also the valet's advised me about driving an automatic (don't use your gear foot for the brake, use your accelerator foot :) ) They were also very good for directions, they have little direction cards which were great.
I would definitely recommend the restaurant for both breakfast and evening meals, I had pancakes for breakfast more than once and the vegetarian option for the evening meal I had twice (on different nights). My husband thought there meat dishes were very good.
The beach in front of the hotel is lovely, but if you are not a strong swimmer I recommend walking through the Marriott to the end of the beach and snorkelling there - I am a very weak swimmer, so I hired a float at the hotel as well as all the snorkelling gear.
If I ever go back to the country I will definitely go back to the Koa Kea, as a romantic honeymoon destination I don't think any hotel could beat it, that said I would probably also book a few days on the north side of the island too, as I would liked to have seen more of that than our couple of drives over there let me.
Finally the complimentary wine that was brought to our room on arrival was very nice :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

amazing place staff was excellent we had room 380 the best on property, great ocean front views. worth the money. from the moment you arrive the journey begins. the valet parking
staff always welcomes you back by name . my wife loved the mai ties. the room was amazing the bet comfortable. Welcome to the KOA KEA the HIDDEN GEM of KAUI.

Room Tip: room 380 best on property get an oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had stayed in the hotel for our honeymoon and were thoroughly happy with our experience.
The staff is very friendly and we felt very welcomed from the beginning with our encounters with valet and reception. Valet parking is required for all guests and is included as part of the daily resort fees, which we did not mind at all.

The hotel welcomed us with a complimentary bottle of champagne along with complimentary tastings of macadamia nuts in our hotel room. The room itself was nicely sized and the king bed was so fluffy and warm, it was the most comfortable bed ever! We were also extremely happy with the size of the shower and the fact that there were double showerheads in our bathroom.

Our room was on the first floor and it overlooked and opened into the pool and ocean area - we loved being on the first floor because we had our own reclining chair and it also gave us easy access to the pool / beach area. We were able to enjoy sunset dinners in our lanai - I would recommend staying on the first floor for those reasons.

Breakfast at the hotel's restaurant Red Salt was great. We loved loved the waffles there, served with crushed macadamia nuts and accompanied with a duo of coconut and maple syrups - (we also tried their lemon souffle pancakes and I personally prefer the crunchiness of the waffles over the softness of the pancakes).

My husband was able to take a surf lesson that was offered by the hotel. I would recommend to book in advance as there are only 4 slots per session, and two sessions per day.

We also took advantage of the spa services and had a couple's oceanside massage. The cabana was right by the entrance to the beach and for most of the 80 minute session we were in harmony with the sounds of the ocean and the great hands of our masseuses.

Overall we absolutely loved our stay at the hotel - what a great way to start off our romantic honeymoon!

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor, ocean view for easy access to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We loved the Koa Kea. It is a relatively small, intimate property which we enjoyed. Because of this is was much quieter than other properties along the beach walk. We noticed those hotels, since they were larger, had many people around the pools and more children. They are probably perfect for families but that is not what this trip was about for us. We didn't have to fight for space at the pool or the pool bar. The staff was very attentive, professional and accommodating. I was celebrating a significant birthday and several friends had mailed or requested delivery of items to great me in our room. Everything was there waiting for us which was a nice surprise and very nice of the hotel staff to make it happen. The Red Salt restaurant was great. Yes it is pricey but it was a terrific splurge - twice. We will definitely stay here again for another significant celebration! We completely agree with the #1 ranking on TA. It is well deserved and we concur.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Perhaps our thoughts are colored after a stay at the St Regis Princeville but expectations were high after reading the reviews and for the rate. If you're used to St Regis, Four Seasons-style service, you'll be disappointed.

Very good renovation of a motel era building, lobby evokes a Denihan or W hotel feel and rooms are modern and well-appointed. Typical of boutique hotels, the rooms are small (1/2 the size of our Princeville room at same price) and elements of it's motel roots detract from appearance (70's era stonework and exterior stairs). They must have run out of money after the interiors (which are very well done).

It's the little things that disappointed...for example, no lei's upon arrival (odd in Hawaii) and they give you 6 Nespresso capsules for your machine in the room but don't fill it again whether your stay is 3 days or week... what luxury hotel doesn't refill the in-room coffee??!? They make you buy more at the boutique - this kind of nickel and diming is unacceptable at $500+ a night. They give you pool towels but don't set up for you, no cooled towels at pool and they make you rent chairs for the excuse for a beach.

Locationally, you are right on the beach and the sound of the waves from your balcony is fantastic. We were in room 338 and that whole row 330-340 have great ocean views. As it's a small hotel, it's not the child-filled theme park feel of the larger hotels - we had a two year old and loved the lack of crowds, groups and screeching kids.

For F&B, Red Salt is great, excellent food and nice wine list, reasonably priced. The pool bar is a disappointment, cheap sweet drinks with well spirits set at Bacardi / Malibu level... beers are limited to Coors, Bud and Miller...really??? Have they missed the craft/local beer craze....or am I really at a Ramada??

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We absolutely LOVED this hotel -- our favorite of 4 incredible hotels on 4 different islands during our honeymoon. The staff was professional, attentive, and always remembered our names. We got upgraded to a 1-bedroom/ocean-front suite-a dream room. The food at Red Salt was absolutely delicious-breakfast AND dinner-(try the Mahi) and the resort was generally quiet - a perfect relaxing, romantic honeymoon getaway. We also loved the location in Poipu-- close to other restaurants and activities.
Exceeded all expectations. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.