We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bourgiest experience of my life and I loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Getaway
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bourgiest experience of my life and I loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My fiance and I came here for what we jokingly referred to as our pre-honeymoon, but it might have just been the real thing. Everything about Koa Kea was perfect and thoughtful from check in to check out. The worst thing I can say is that everything is dreadfully expensive - but it is definitely worth the emptying of our checking account for beautiful accommodations, wonderful food, great service. And you can't beat that view.

Room Tip: We had a garden view and it was what we could afford. If you could, you probably want to spring for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,058
    175
    50
    19
    4
See reviews for
80
1071
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Koa Kea at the end of May. Our room was on the second floor with a view of the ocean, the sunset, and the pool. It was pretty impressive - when we checked in, the hotel person at check-in showed us two different rooms and let us pick! really - when does that happen? There is a great package that includes breakfast each day plus a $50 credit at the pool, restaurants, room service etc. Don't go without this - breakfast will really cost you. The room was very nice - but it was the view and the service that made our stay so enjoyable. There are only 120 rooms so they get to know you and your preferences. Of special note were the valet guys - they were super helpful when it came to ideas and directions - so friendly. Also - Red Salt - the restaurant is wonderful! Poipu is quiet - so if you are looking for r and r this is a great spot. I highly recommend the Koa Kea for the discriminating but not snobby traveler.

Room Tip: You may want to avoid the first floor if you want to use your patio - people are walking by - not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The setting, The first class feeling and amenities. The quiet, clean and beautiful grounds all rolled together in a "teak it easy" Kauai kind of way made this a very special stay four our 10 year anniversary.

100% of the Staff was 100% awesome.

$6 to have your 6 star breakfast (souffle pancakes with fresh strawberrys!) delivered and setup on your terrace to watch the beach and surfers. best $6 I've spent in my entire life.

This hotel is about 3x more expensive than what I'd normally pay around the world. IMO it's 10x better.

loved it and want to build my own at home.

Room Tip: West Wing Grand Deluxe better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Poipu is a little sun trap and this hotel is a little slice of luxury right on the beach. The pool area is great, complete with poolside jacuzzi. Great food and drinks at the pool bar. Lovely sea views. The rooms are contemporary and beachy - dark wood and aqua colours. Everything is pretty new. There's a gym. We had a room facing out over the pool and to sea. We watched sunsets from our balcony. Red Salt, the restaurant, is a must! People come from all over the island to this place.
We loved being on the beach as my husband surfs. There are restaurants in walking distance - Keoki's Paradise does a great hula pie!
This was a great way to chill out at the end of our honeymoon. It was very peaceful because its a boutique hotel - we had just come from the St Regis and dont think a stay at the neighbouring Hyatt - the other glam option around here - would have been what we were looking for at that point. We wanted to wind down at the end of our holiday, catch some rays, potter out in the evening. We could see whales from our sun loungers -a bonus of going at the time of year we did. We also did a boat trip relatively nearby with Capt Andy's whale watching - cannot recommend enough!
Do not overlook this place - it's amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ok, when you finally FIND the Koa Kea resort in Poipu, you will arrive at what looks like an overhauled old hotel. Don't miss the tiny tiny sign at the shared driveway or you will drive around Poipu looking for it.Yes, the service is lovely and friendly. Really, valet parking, while a nice touch, not necessary. We can see our car, can't we just go and get it?? The pool area is nothing flash. It looks like a residential pool not a resort oasis. There is no beach in front of this hotel. It has a boardwalk where people parade along looking in at you. If you want sand, you have to go in front of the timeshare next door with about a thousand other families. Fabulous. Not. Certainly not my idea of romance. The rooms were nice but nothing special. The balconys not the slightest bit private. The only thing we loved about the Koa Kea was the service an Red Salt restaurant. That I must say was very very good. We've been to romantic resorts, but this is just a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is the best hotel I have seen on any of the Hawaiian islands. In general I find that Hawaii is lacking in intimate, low key luxury hotels. Koa Kea fits that bill. The service was uniformly excellent -- friendly, helpful and professional. For example, the valets always asked where we were going and then made sure we had directions, offered useful advice on snorkeling, hiking, and where to park, gave us beach towels when we forgot to get them ourselves, offered bags for muddy hiking shoes, etc. The same was true at the restaurant, the pool desk and throughout the hotel. The rooms are not huge, but they are very well appointed and designed. They felt larger than they actually are. The shower is great. The pool area and lawn overlooking the ocean were never crowded and, best of all, never noisy (almost no children or large groups). The poolside drinks were excellent and reasonably priced. The hotel's restaurant was the best that we tried on the island. Breakfasts were great. I liked that the two adjoining beaches weren't directly in front of the hotel. The result was that almost nobody walked in front of the hotel along the ocean and the property felt private in what is a fairly developed area. Poipu Beach Park is very close -- it has good snorkeling and frequent visits from monk seals and sea turtles. It was great to be able to go snorkeling at the beach and then return to the relaxing ambiance of Koa Kea. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I love this hotel. The location is perfect. The rooms are nice and beds amazing - they have feather beds which i thought would be hot, but they were incredible. The pool is small, but there are plenty of chairs and lounges. We walked through many of the other resorts around and no where was as peaceful and relaxing as this. The frozen coconut mojito is to die for! Red salt (the restaurant) is heavenly and I loved staying somewhere that had the best restaurant on the island. The staff at the hotel are all super friendly and go out of their way to make you comfortable. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.