We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to the ocean as you can get without a snorkel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Cupertino
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“As close to the ocean as you can get without a snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a great and very romantic time. The rooms are first class, the restaurant (the Red Salt) is absolutely first class - and they supply the room service food.

It is walking distance from Poipu Beach, several other great restaurants, and quiet.

The salt-water pool is an under-appreciated luxury as is the spacious custom hot tub.

We're going back.

Room Tip: Just ask... most rooms face 'inward' to the pool, a few face directly to the ocean... and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HankSlammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Overall our new favorite resort anywhere!!! Have been to Kauai more than 10 times....this is the best yet!!!!
Great location...great beach ....great view...great food... warm friendly and attentive service....impeccably clean....wonderful pool bar and superb bar food and the valet service is a big plus!! Would go back in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bholmesdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

After 3 nights in Waimea, we spent the 2nd half of our second honeymoon in Poipu. Romantic, serene, beautiful and intimate. This is Not the place to bring kids, and definitely not the place to go if you prefer lots of activities, huge expansive grounds or a wide variety of restaurants. (For that, Go to the Grand Hyatt). Koa Kea is the epitome of the small, personalized, boutique hotel. The staff is attentive to the individual's needs. Twice daily room attendants. Lovely pool with easily available, cushiony lounge chairs. Fantastic poolside drinks, expensive but that's Kauai. Michael at the bar is friendly and helpful with recommendations. Most gorgeous beachside sunsets ever...we will be back!

Room Tip: "I Prefer" members get upgraded...perfect layout for ocean views from every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed on this magnificent hotel from 5/18/13 to 5/24/13. It was a very good experience. We had a beach front room which was amazing. The staff is very friendly, and the food at the restaurant is delicious.

Room Tip: Lower level was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A lot of reviewers call this a boutique hotel, and I think the hotel calls itself that in some of their marketing material. While a touch bigger than what I personally would consider boutique (say 20 rooms), definitely had a more intimate feel than the other hotels we were exposed to or stayed at. Rooms were very nice with fridge, safe, and overall very clean and comfortable. We booked partial ocean view and were upgraded to ocean view, but still was only a partial. However, partial was still enough. The complex is small enough and there are beaches on either side close enough that the view from the room is irrelevant. They have a pool and lounge on the lawn that face the ocean, so you get everything you can ask for. Service was fantastic all around, everyone was helpful whether it came to restaurant recommendations or simply providing extra cups on the spot. Nothing over the top, but great rooms, great service, good location on South Shore, valet parking option only that is equal to price of self park at other hotels, just hard to beat.

Although we went as just a couple, there were plenty of families and even new parents there, but was not intrusive on our experience. So you can really go no matter what your setup needs to be.

Pricey, but completely worth it.

Nice to have: we stayed on the North Shore afterwards at a place that made everything difficult for us. Like having "beach towel cards" you had to exchange for the towels and other similar confusing things. Koa Kea was NONE of that. Everything was simple from getting a towel, to a drink, to getting your car (call ahead right before you walk down and it will be there). We left at 5am one morning and our car and towels were ready with only a 10 minute notice.

Pros: rooms are great, service is great, location is solid for south shore

Cons: not North Shore (regulars understand), food is subpar (but location near better food options cancels that out). Spa is overpriced for quality of service (my wife's massage was good, my massage therapist had dry flaky fingers hence the Spa rating).

Room Tip: doesn't matter, even non-ocean view rooms are 30 seconds from ocean it shouldn't matter unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acmilan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona, HI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After a two hiatus, my wife and I returned to Koa Kea for a long weekend. It was just fantastic. I think the facilities are charming and intimate, but the staff can write the book on the true meaning of Aloha and hospitality (ho'okipa). Everyone we came into contact was warm and welcoming. We felt we were guests in their home.

The creativity and value of the "Red Salt" restaurant and lounge was a real nice treat. Too many times the uninspired operations have a formulaic process that just misses the target. A very fun way to sample their specialty Martini's is to order their flight of three for $16.00. You get 2 oz. of each and it can help take the guess work out of the process. On the menu was a fresh Mahi Mahi entree that had an essence of vanilla and a black forbidden rice. It was so good.

The experience is very romantic and it's pool is a center piece for meeting other visitors. Poolside beverages were refreshing and tasty.

A definite winner that we will return to often.

Aloha.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingKamaaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste-Agathe, Quebec
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

An hôtel boutique is always an experience above the conventional hotel , even at the 5 stars level., Koa Kea is no exception !!! The value added is well Worth the additionnal expense !!!
Nice location on Popui beach that yields exceptionnal sunsets if you choose a waterfront room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poipu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Green Hotel in Poipu
#3 Business Hotel in Poipu
#5 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing