We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience I've Ever Had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience I've Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you're going to Kauai, you'll want to stay here. Book the room, then come back and finish the review. Go ahead, I'll wait...
Ko'a Kea is what you hope for from every hotel. Calm and quiet, very clean, modern and sophisticated. They do room service in the morning and turn-down service in the evening. Every night my new wife and I came back to a room with the radio on quietly playing Hawaiian music and a fresh bottle of water chilling on ice. Because it was our honeymoon, they even sent a bottle of champagne to us on our first night with a little card. Do I need to say more?
The location of the hotel is really ideal; it's a 2-minute walk to the famous (and kid-friendly (and good snorkeling)) Poipu beach. The fact that it's not ON said beach is what makes the difference though. You can relax on the hotel lawn that faces the ocean and not hear kids screaming and parents screaming at their kids to stop screaming...
Finally, the Red Salt restaurant in the hotel is amazing. If you can get a deal with breakfast everyday, there's no reason to eat anywhere else. Also, they've got sushi nights in the lobby from Tuesday through... Friday?... I'd highly recommend that as well. That was the best night we spent there.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the courtyard or ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    215
    61
    24
    4
See reviews for
94
1,262
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Forgot to create this review when we got back so it's a bit late.

We stayed at Koa Kea for 3 nights in October 2013. I bought a voucher at an auction that included breakfast and one dinner for a very reasonable price. We had stayed on Oahu for 5 nights and 2 nights at a hotel in Ka'paa and thought we would use Koa Kea for some relaxing before heading home.

I would say we were VERY satisfied from beginning to end. We arrived very early, around 11 AM just to see where it was and the valets said since you are here why don't you see if your room is ready. We did and it was, so they let us check in right away.

The check in was nice, one of the clerks greeted us and asked us to have a seat in the lobby while she pulled our info. She was very nice, unfortunately I don't remember her name. Lobby was very inviting and comfy, very airy. She came back and gave us our packet and walked us around the courtyard to show us the grounds while the valets delivered our luggage. The courtyard was quiet, the grounds well-maintained. There is an outdoor bar with a couple of TVs. There were lounges around the pool and in the grassy area nearer the beach, and there were a few people lounging around the small pool, but no loud music or kids running around which was nice. It stayed that way for our 3 days, and was exactly what we hoped for.

She took us to the room, a very nice ocean view on the 2nd floor above the lobby. The room was well furnished and very comfortable with a small lanai. There is a privacy screen between you and your neighbor's balcony. We didn't use it much, just in the AM while having espresso. Bathroom was nice, large shower.

We had breakfast each morning and it was outstanding. I figured that since it was part of a package it would just be a continental, but we could order off the menu as well. Everything was excellent.

Our one dinner at Red Salt was very good, nothing too memorable though. No complaints, I think we might have been spoiled from all of the great food we had been eating throughout the vac. I ordered a Tanqueray and tonic, it comes on a tray with a glass, a cruet of gin and one of tonic, and a bowl of ice, and lime wedges. Not sure if all mixed drinks are that way or not, kind of interesting.

We already knew the excursions we were going to do so didn't use the concierge but another couple that we spoke with did and were very pleased.

Checkout was no problem, we had a late flight and they held our bags for us until we left for the airport.

We have nothing to complain about, we enjoyed everything about our stay. The staff was very friendly and the service was excellent throughout. We will (hopefully!) be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The well maintained and friendly Koa Kea offers the traveler the definition of the Aloha spirit. You are with family. Service personnel please and offer thoughts and suggestions that truly enhance the overall experience. The menus are diverse and thoughtfully composed bearing in mind the gamut of preferences. Poipu Beach, unto itself, is indeed the reason for being there. There are wider beaches, there are higher waves, but there could be no better sense of release that is being felt there. Many smiles...much contentment in the faces of most. We'll be back.

A tip...they offer a breakfast / resort credit package...jump on it...very much enhances the stay.

Room Tip: Ocean front room as perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely resort. The rooms are nice and roomy. We sat on the lanai (balcony) drank our espresso and saw whales in the ocean! The manager Chris sent us champagne for our (early) anniversary. Pearl set up all of our terrifc excursions for kayaking and a caramaran trip - FABULOUS. The dining is great too - food very good including the pool options. Everyone, and I mean everyone on the staff has the aloha spirit - good cheer, friendly and helpful. And the spa services...grand. There is not much of a beach right in front of the hotel, however you can walk a hundred feet and be right on the beach. Frankly, it was spring break and we were glad that we didn't have the crazy beach folks gathering in front of us. The view from the lawn chairs to the ocean is unobstructed and beautiful. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We just got back from Kauai and stayed at the Koa Kea Hotel & Resort. We had the BEST experience EVER!! The staff was so friendly and worked as a team which is something very RARE!! By the time we left we didn't consider them staff but friends. We met with the Hotel Manager to express how wonderful the staff was. The comment cards were too small to include all those who we felt needed to be recognized. The rooms were gorgeous, view was breath taking and food excellent. If your a sushi fan you MUST visit Justin, who is the Sushi Chef, and experience his over the top meals. He serves top grade fish and I promise once you eat it you will NOT want anything else. Leann M

Room Tip: Higher floors have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I spent the first half of our honeymoon at the Koa Kea, and it was the best decision we made. We loved the luxurious rooms, the stunning view, the delicious breakfasts and the relaxing spa to name a few. The Koa Kea had just the right mix of activity and quiet. My only wish was that we had beach access right in front of the resort, but it was only a short walk to the neighboring hotel's beach access so it all worked out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Looking for a romantic honeymoon spot? This is it. The wife and I stayed here on our wedding trip and flat out loved everything about it. Relaxing, clean, beautiful and peaceful. This is really a perfect getaway for couples. Waking up our first morning here, my immediate thoughts were "this must be what heaven is like." You can enjoy an entire day here and not leave the grounds. We purchased a breakfast package and it was totally worth it. Dinner at Red Salt, adjacent to the lobby was also delicious, with lots of fresh seafood dishes. The grounds were exquisitely maintained and great for just finding a chair and a Mai Tai and watching the sunset. The beach is not directly in front of the hotel, but there are great ones on each side just a few steps away. We actually found this to be a good thing because it kept the vibe of the hotel from becoming loud and crowded. Also great pool, hot tub and bar area. Very mellow. Perfect place for recharging the batteries. Doctors should prescribe this place instead of anti-anxiety meds.

Room Tip: Second floor, with an ocean view. Worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.