We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fourth Night Free
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We spent two nights at Koa Kea in an oceanview room. We loved the fact that the resort is so small -- and because it was a slow week we sometimes felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. The pool was beautiful (though a tad chilly) and the grounds were extremely well-maintained. The staff was attentive (I accidentally spilled sand all over the bathroom floor after housekeeping had visited and they quickly came back to sweep it up) and many of them called us by name. Sitting out on our balcony watching the sunset was absolutely blissful. Yes, it was quite expensive, but when compared to the crowded, kid-filled Marriott property next door the Koa Kea seemed well worth the price. We had dinner at Red Salt on our last night and it was delicious, and even though we'd checked out earlier in the day, we were able to use a hospitality suite to shower before dining. We had spent a very active week up in Kapaa before coming to the Koa Kea and this was a perfect place to completely relax -- a wonderful finishing touch for our vacation.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room and loved it. I don't know for sure, but I think the ocean front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,062
    176
    50
    19
    4
See reviews for
80
1071
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Koa Kea for the first two nights of our kauai vacation and stayed on our anniversary. The location was great. We had an ocean view room which was nice. I had debated about getting ocean front but the value of the ocean view was better and after seeing how close the ocean front rooms were to the public walking path, I was very happy with the ocean view too.

The food and service at Red Salt, the resort restaurant, was excellent. So friendly. And the special anniversary dessert was the coolest I've ever seen (I won't say what it was as not to spoil the surprise for anyone).

Small touches made this an excellent resort- local newspaper every morning, nice amenities in the room, comfy bed and happy, friendly staff. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the St Regis Princeville and then 3 nights at Koa Kea. Rooms: St Regis rooms seem twice as large and have a great view of Hanalei Bay. The rooms at Koa Kea are simple and tiny, with distant views of the ocean. Quiet: Koa Kea wins. We don't have kids and don't like to be surrounded by them when relaxing on vacation. Koa Kea doesn't have babysitting or entertainment for kids, so they tend to stay away. There were some young boys in the pool for a short time at Koa Kea (why must kids scream when in a pool?), but we didn't see kids other than that. There were many children at St Regis. Ugh. Dining: St Regis wins by small margin. Our dinner at Red Salt was excellent, but so was our meal at Kauai Grill. The view from the breakfast buffet at St Regis is much better. Service: St Regis wins. Even though there are a lot of staff members and guests, the valets remembered our names. Location: Koa Kea wins by small margin. Koa Kea is closer to Waimea Canyon, boat rides, and more dining options. St Regis is closer to Hanalei, north coast hiking and dramatic waves. Value: St Regis wins.Both are expensive, but I used a Starwood AmEx for a year and earned 3 free nights at the St Regis. Koa Kea isn't part of any reward program. The rooms and views at St Regis are worth it. Koa Kea just didn't seem like a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had booked this resort based on the recommendations from TripAdvisor and although it is a nice hotel I was disappointed.

Although we got a good deal, I found the hotel to be overpriced. Although you have to pay a resort fee which includes valet parking, and wireless, you have to pay for everything else. They provide you with water bottles and free coffee on the first day and for the rest of the time you need to purchase these items in their boutique. If you want to do self laundry, again purchase detergent and softener in the boutique. The hotel itself is very small, faces the ocean but hasn’t got direct beach access (although the neighbouring hotels have, which can be used too.

The hotel has only a small pool, which is not very deep, about 3-4.6 feet, so doesn’t allow for swimming. It has a gym but the running machines face the wall rather than the window and the gym is all-over not very attractive.

The restaurant, Red Salt is absolutely great and the food is fantastic.

The room was lovely and very nicely furnished although a little bit small. The shower is lovely and they provide l’Occitaine products which is a refreshing change to the usual hotel chain products.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

All-over I have to say that I wouldn’t stay there again as it doesn’t provide a lot of value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Amazing breakfasts, helpful staff, lovely quiet pool, great outdoor hot tub, perfect beach for beginner surfers and great location for relaxing - a perfect start to our honeymoon. The dinner at Red Salt was a highlight along with our day trips to Waimea Canyon and the Wailua River. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We are still here and we are loving every minutes of it!! The hotel is small which is the main reason I booked this hotel. What makes it even better is the staff. The valets are the best I have seen. By the 2nd day, they knew our name and would answer all our questions about where to eat, what to do. They are wonderful!! The guest services girls are also very good and also the concierge. We are here to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday and I am so so happy with my choice of hotel. We ate at different restaurant but the ones we prefer are Tortilla republic for breakfast and Casablanca for happy hour and supper. The restaurant at the hotel is also very good. We've been ordering room service for supper which we eat on our lanai. It's wonderful!! We buy a nice bottle of wine at the grocery then we have it with our room service. We are still here for another 3 days. And loving every minute of it!!

Room Tip: We are in an ocean view room and its perfect. I would not pay extra to be ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a lovely modern hotel set on Poipu beach. The location is good and sets you up for exploring both the east and west coast of the island. Set on the beach, a minute or two and you were onto a small stretch of lovely sandy beach.

The restaurant food was delicious, we ended up eating there or getting room service quite often because the food was so good. It was probably the best wild mushroom soup I'd ever had. The service was a bit hit and miss with room service, with one of our orders taking over an hour and half to arrive. The breakfast was excellent; there was a great buffet of fruit, muesli etc and then you could choose a hot meal a la carte and the soufflé pancakes were absolutely amazing.

The pool is small but very well maintained, and wasn't too busy even though we went in August. The pool bar made pretty good drinks and snacks.

The beds were incredibly uncomfortable though! Soft and slightly lumpy ... I had many sleepless nights. For that reason I probably wouldn't book to stay at the hotel again.

As with everything in Hawaii the room rates were pricey. We paid for an ocean view room but it was misleading because the rooms were set very far back from the beach, so you actually had more of a view of the pool and other apartments than the beach. They were even further back from the non-ocean view standard rooms. The ocean front rooms (which cost a lot more) were on the beach though. So beware when you make the booking!

Room Tip: We paid for an ocean view room but it was misleading because the rooms were set very far back from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.