We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As I am writing this, I am on my lanai looking at the ocean!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As I am writing this, I am on my lanai looking at the ocean!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We are still here and we are loving every minutes of it!! The hotel is small which is the main reason I booked this hotel. What makes it even better is the staff. The valets are the best I have seen. By the 2nd day, they knew our name and would answer all our questions about where to eat, what to do. They are wonderful!! The guest services girls are also very good and also the concierge. We are here to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday and I am so so happy with my choice of hotel. We ate at different restaurant but the ones we prefer are Tortilla republic for breakfast and Casablanca for happy hour and supper. The restaurant at the hotel is also very good. We've been ordering room service for supper which we eat on our lanai. It's wonderful!! We buy a nice bottle of wine at the grocery then we have it with our room service. We are still here for another 3 days. And loving every minute of it!!

Room Tip: We are in an ocean view room and its perfect. I would not pay extra to be ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,137
    194
    55
    21
    4
See reviews for
87
1,160
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a lovely modern hotel set on Poipu beach. The location is good and sets you up for exploring both the east and west coast of the island. Set on the beach, a minute or two and you were onto a small stretch of lovely sandy beach.

The restaurant food was delicious, we ended up eating there or getting room service quite often because the food was so good. It was probably the best wild mushroom soup I'd ever had. The service was a bit hit and miss with room service, with one of our orders taking over an hour and half to arrive. The breakfast was excellent; there was a great buffet of fruit, muesli etc and then you could choose a hot meal a la carte and the soufflé pancakes were absolutely amazing.

The pool is small but very well maintained, and wasn't too busy even though we went in August. The pool bar made pretty good drinks and snacks.

The beds were incredibly uncomfortable though! Soft and slightly lumpy ... I had many sleepless nights. For that reason I probably wouldn't book to stay at the hotel again.

As with everything in Hawaii the room rates were pricey. We paid for an ocean view room but it was misleading because the rooms were set very far back from the beach, so you actually had more of a view of the pool and other apartments than the beach. They were even further back from the non-ocean view standard rooms. The ocean front rooms (which cost a lot more) were on the beach though. So beware when you make the booking!

Room Tip: We paid for an ocean view room but it was misleading because the rooms were set very far back from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Loved the location and the peacefullness. Most people with children stay at the Marriott next door so the pool was quiet and relaxing. The location was within walking distance of good snokelling, beaches and restaurants. If we get the chance to go to Kaui i again we will stay at the Koa Kea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Koa Kea back in September for about a week. The hotel was absolutely amazing! I loved the decor as well as the grounds itself - the location was great as well. Everyone onsite was so welcoming and accommodating, and everything was just as I expected to be at a luxury resort. The only drawback is the limited restaurant options, but there are other choices close by. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

What makes it incredible is the service and staff members -- and of course the location! After my birthday celebration 3 years ago when the hotel first opened, I was so happy this year to be greeted by most of the same friendly staff. The Innkeeper, Chris Steuri, makes a point each day of welcoming you. We appreciated being taken directly to our room by a staff member from the front desk as she was so friendly and informative. Sharolyn Kawakami was again very helpful in picking out the rooms for us and explaining the many packages the hotel has to offer. The Food and Beverage Manager, Paul Koulbanis, is always ready to help set up special tables for our larger dinner parties and get togethers at the bar. Paul makes the restaurant come alive with his outgoing personality and attention to detail. A standout soup was the warm Hamakua Mushroom Bisque and the Roasted Kalaheo Beet salad was delicious too. A really fun spot to spend the evening. The sushi on Friday night was a new addition for us and what a treat! But not to be missed is the Prime New York steak and egg breakfast--the best! A relaxing area by the lovely pool--Jamie Fain at the pool bar couldn't have been nicer to us. She made sure a special bottle of wine I had requested was in the cooler even on her day off! We can't wait to return next year!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Always confused between hyatt and koa kea, finally did both but so glad we spent our first 2 days here. What an amazing way to start the honeymoon, truly felt like ahoneymoon here rather than Hyatt which felt like a fun trip
Ambience- so romantic, they greeted us with a bouquet, champagne, amazingly comfortable beds (the best i have seen) and great egyptian sheets
Service- beyong excellent, I travel all over the world...servce is always better in asia and middle east, this stands at par, the best service I have experienced in the US
Location- was great, ur right over water whcih no hotel can give u, this is TRULY ocean view unlike most others
Food- the service of getting food delivered in ur room to ur balcony is great, we did that every morning and had a romantic candle light in the room. BUT, because its only 1 restarant, that gets very boring and limited so u need to go out
Activities- not much, its all about adults, no kids just for romance to relax and go to the beach. Pool not so impressive
Beach- quite rocky and not to swim or snorkle but great to surf
Price- quite high but we found a good deal, worth for atleast a short stay

Overall, loved it

Room Tip: Ocian deluxe is the best experience but pricy, see what fits ur budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Koa Kea Hotel for our birthdays in November. We were greeted by friendly staff including the valet (parking is valet only and is included in the resort fee). The outside of the hotel looks a little old, but the rooms are very modern.

Pros:
-We stayed in a Garden View room, which means a room on the first floor facing away from the pool. The room was very nice and spacious and had excellent amenities. There was a patio area with furniture, and there is a partial view of the ocean.
-Concierge was very helpful and booked excursions for us.
-We ate at Red Salt for breakfast - breakfast was delicious every morning. The coffee is smooth. The staff there knew us by name and where we sat the previous day (even staff who didn't serve us).
-There is excellent snorkeling off shore in front of the hotel. Get in at the sandy beach to the right, or walk left on the boardwalk until it ends and get in the water there. We saw lots of fish and a couple sea turtles.
-The hot tub is really nice. Temperature is perfect. We did not swim in the pool.
-We did a stand up paddle board excursion with Outfitters Kauai, booked through the hotel. The excursion was pricey but was worth it. We paddled down a river, then did a hike and zip lined into a pond. The guides were excellent, but take what they say with a grain of salt - for example, they make statements like "Noni cures cancer" which might offend some people.
-We took a helicopter tour of the island through Blue Hawaiian, also booked through the hotel. Would definitely recommend this.
-The hotel is walking distance from Poipu Village. Eat at Puka Dog, the veggie dog is delicious.
-There is another shopping village nearby that has Uncle's Shave Ice and Lappert's ice cream.
-The hotel is quiet, and there were only a few children. This made it more relaxing.
-No issues with the wifi.
-Staff including valet has great recommendations for places to visit/eat/etc.

Things to know:
-Upgrading to a partial ocean view would not have made much of a difference - it's the same room, just one floor up. You can easily see into the rooms facing the pool and the ocean. I'm glad we didn't upgrade.
-We did not get the breakfast buffet bc it seemed like standard continental fare. Instead we ordered a la carte. The pancakes were my favorite. Eggs benedict was also good.
-We ate at the bar area of Red Salt for dinner/snack one night - crab cakes were great, and the blended beverage (can't remember the name) was good but low on alcohol.
-I would recommend wearing water shoes when getting in the ocean. There are lots of rocks and sea urchins.
-We didn't use fins the first day we snorkeled and got pretty tired swimming back to shore - there is a strong current. We rented fins from Snorkel Bobs the next day and ended up buying our rentals - very comfortable. I wouldn't rent gear from the hotel bc they charge a lot per hour.
-You might get a better deal at this hotel by booking on Orbitz like we did (booked flight, hotel, and car), but you probably won't be offered a room upgrade if you book through a 3rd party (not a problem for us).
-Da Imu Hut is a great place for Hawaiian food. Also recommend Brick Oven Pizza. You have to drive to get there.

Overall this was one of our favorite hotels, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#3 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.