We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, cannot wait to be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Poipu
dc
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, cannot wait to be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We just spent several nights at Koa Kea and we couldn’t have enjoyed it more than we did. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are nicely designed, the atmosphere is very private and the staff is extremely friendly. No matter what we asked them, they were always happy to help. When coming back from a day trip we were always welcomed by the valet guys. They were extremely nice. The restaurant offers delicious breakfast and the dinner is great too. Maybe the menu could be a bit larger. We went to the Hyatt to have dinner at some Italian restaurant (very disappointing) and once we had seen the large resort over there, we were so happy to get back to the much more personal Koa Kea as fast as possible. We want to come back asap!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,077
    181
    51
    19
    4
See reviews for
82
1092
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by the valet. They immediately took our bags and someone from the front desk came out to greet us. Rather than handing us a key and map to our room, she walked us right to our rooms and showed us everything we needed to know for our stay. The rooms were clean, the beds were soft, no outside noise from the hallways. We had an ocean view room that was next to the staircase and surprisingly hardly anyone used it. Every night we slept with the slider door open so we could hear the ocean. The hotel offers snorkeling, body/boogie board rentals, surf lessons. The hotel is on the beach however there isn't much beach space and it's like that for the neighboring resorts too. It's just the way the beach is. And its also somewhat rocky in the water so I advise to bring water shoes or you can rent them at the hotel. Our girls took surf lessons from Chris. He was great. He was your typical looking Hawaiian surfer dude. The girls loved the lessons. The valet service was terrific. Everytime we came out to the car they remembered our name. Room service was great too. My only complaint was the menu choices on the room service menu. It's very limited and much different from the restaurant menu, I guess they figure why would anyone stay in the room while in Hawaii. The one thing I really liked about this resort is the size. It's not one of those really huge commercial size resorts with a ton of people by the pool or on the beach. It's small and offers the same amenities as those bigger resorts but with more personal service.

Room Tip: If you want to view the sunset get an ocean view or ocean front room facing the west. We were in ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This resort was excellent. From the arrival when we were greeted with smiles and simple suggestions for how to spend our evening to the car attendants (who were very professional) to the well manicured grounds to the beautiful and comfortable rooms... the whole experience was incredible. The sauna is particularly lovely. The pool was immaculate. This was not like the Marriott next door - there was no fighting for pool space, no noise, no "activities director", no waking up at 6am to make sure you have a spot on the beach. Everything was just perfect. All this - and I was not on a honeymoon or anything! This was just a relaxing getaway, but I can imagine it would be absolutely perfect for a honeymoon (three of my friends have stayed here for just an occasion and also recommended it highly).

Red Salt, the restaurant on the premises, is delicious. Sure, it's pricey, and you won't eat there every night, but it's totally worth the splurge. Fish dishes were all great. The shrimp appetizer is excellent. The root beer float was great too.

Room Tip: Anything that overlooks the beach. (all of them may?) Not having poolside view means you don't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel gets high marks for a reason. The service is excellent all around, the quality of the rooms and rest of the facility are excellent and the cost is reasonable. This is not a full blown resort like the Hyatt or Sheraton so if that's what you are looking for, don't waste your time here and become disappointed. The rooms are basic hotel rooms with everything we needed (mini-fridge, coffee maker, TV, desk, lounge chair, excellent bathroom and shower). The main building housing the lobby had a great bar and one restaurant that serves all three meals. They also have a gym and a departure lounge for those having late flights that have to check out but use the facilities all day then shower up before heading to the airport. Outside, the pool is the right size for this hotel and the lounge chairs were plentiful - we never found that we couldn't get excellent sunning options, whether on the pool deck or on the grass lawn nearest the beach. That said, the hotel is steps from the beach. I found that if I was tired of laying on the lounge chair, I could walk to the beach for a swim in a matter of a minute then walk back, use the outside shower to remove the sand and get in the hot tub or pool and resume my laziness on the lounge chair with no hassle at all. Adjacent to the pool is a tiki bar that serves lunch and drinks. They open around 10 or 11 so if you are early birds like we were, you will need a Plan B. They also close at 6p which was disappointing to us as we often didn't want to dress for dinner and go into the formal dining room, Red Salt (reviewed elsewhere). We spoke to the front desk about this and they said that they tested keeping open for a month until 8 pm and only got two customers and that it takes two hours to shut down the tiki bar. I found that hard to believe and it seems like poor marketing/planning and organization/management to me. Overall this is a great place. Loving the Poipu/Koloa area and having previously stayed next door at the Marriott Waiohai using a time share week, I would certainly come back to the Koa Kea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for a week over Thanksgiving. We selected Koa Kea because of the high ratings on Trip Advisor, and were not at all disappointed with the customer service. Every person you encounter, from the valet to front desk, restaurant or pool staff was friendly and accommodating. No matter what we asked - from recommendations for restaurants or local places, to traffic issues or directions, everyone on staff was willing to help us.

The hotel is rather small - about 120 rooms total. We had a "garden view" on the first floor (there are 3 total), which for us meant we faced the exterior of the property - a sidewalk was on the other side of the fence. This was not at all disruptive - there's enough privacy you can leave the curtains open and not worry about others seeing in. I can see where if you face the interior of the property it could be unsettling having people constantly walk by. Note that their site says "private" balcony for each room, but if you're on the first floor it is "less" private because there aren't the small waist-high divider walls between the patios. The rooms are nicely decorated, but small. For 2 adults with luggage it becomes a little cramped. Talking with other guests who had ocean views, they also felt their rooms were small (same size as ours) and not necessarily worth the extra cost. The good thing is that we never heard the usual noise from neighboring rooms nor anyone walking overhead so the rooms are well insulated. The hotel provides ample amenities such as large towels which you can take down to the pool area, and L'Occtaine toiletries. The Neospresso coffee machines seem easy enough, but we found that per person 2 a day was necessary due to the small size of the cups - you get 6 complimentary to start out (4 regular/2 decaf), but must buy any additional "pods" for the machine at the gift shop for $1 each (you can exchange the 2 decaffeinated pods for regular at no cost). Some couples noted they arrived to either fresh flowers or champagne, but we had neither. We did get a welcome sampling of macadamia nuts upon arrival and they had nightly turn down service and room cleaning which included an additional bottle of water.

Although the hotel doesn't have a private beach, the well known Poipu Beach is less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel. There seemed to be ample beach chairs for the pool area - although you could find people starting to stake out their spot by 9am, so I would recommend doing so if you plan on sticking close to the hotel to get some sun and relaxation. Oftentimes the water in the ocean seemed warmer than the pool. There's a hot tub which is great to use at night, and the wait staff will bring drinks out from the bar area to you if requested.

There's a sand bar not 3 minutes from the hotel (in front of the Marriott timeshares) and we'd often walk over the sand bar to the lava rocks in the morning. One day we got up early enough to see a Hawaiian Monk Seal laying in the sand. There were also sea turtles frequently along the shallow part of the shore as they were eating along the rocks. Well worth it to take a morning walk along the beach and try to see these things.

The restaurant Sea Salt is nice - we had dinner once and breakfast every morning (included in our rate). They recommend dinner reservations, and require you to wear something dressier than flip-flops. The cost is a little high - we spent $135 (without tip) on 2 entrees and 3 alcoholic drinks. The breakfast is a great deal - highly recommend you book a package that includes this option. This entitles you to not only the continental buffet (fresh fruit, oatmeal, cereal, cheese, breads) but also one entree per person. The well-known pineapple souffle pancakes were okay, but left you feeling hungry a few hours later. The macadamia nut waffles and chocolate chip pancakes were both great, as was the breakfast burrito. It seemed the best option of all entrees was the omelet if you want a meal that truly fills you up and comes with extras like hash browns or potatoes.

Valet parking is required, but included in the daily resort fee. They were very fast about getting our car each time - we never had to call ahead, but rather just showed up and within 2 minutes we had our car. They deliver a local paper each morning, as well as the Wall Street Journal during the week.

Overall I think this is a hotel/resort which is well worth the rates - if you like smaller, boutique types of accommodations this is ideal. The care that has gone into making this a personalized experience is well worth it. By the second day most of the staff knew what room we were in, which is not something you could expect at a larger hotel. I would definitely stay here again if traveling to the area.

Room Tip: As noted above, if garden view request one facing the exterior of the property to avoid having a con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great little resort on the south coast of Kauai. Very warn and welcoming staff and the room product was a wonderful surprise. Best bed I can remember in all of my years of travel! First class experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After reading several great reviews, decided to stay at the Koa Kea for part of our Hawaii vacation. The Koa Kea did not disappoint! Absolutely the most romantic and relaxing hotel of the 3 we stayed in (Hyatt- Kauai & Hyatt in Maui were the other 2). The staff was so friendly, attentive and remembered our names for our entire stay. Breakfast each morning was delicious. Fantastic cocktails by the pool. Small and intimate. Not crazy crowded and no kids running around. Would love to come back here soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.