We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lu, Italia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“simply perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I was at Koa Kea last summer 2011 and I'd like to reccommend the place to everyone who'd liket o go to haaii and enjoy a relaxing, romantic and comfortable vacation. The hotel is in the best part of the Island, the weather was nice and not too windi. Rooms are large and full of all the amenities you'll need. Bathroom is the best part of the bedroom: marble, towels and a lot of ''L'Occitane'' soap and shampoo!!!!
Your privacy is everytime respected. The property is small and well mantained, separated from the rest of the Poipu resort in a good way.
Very good place for a romantic getaway! You should definitely try!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    216
    61
    24
    4
See reviews for
94
1,264
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

A lovely hotel. Nice, clean modern rooms. We had a very nice view of the ocean. Very friendly service. The hotel is right on the ocean and an easy walk to the beach. The hotel is a calm oasis amongst the much bigger hotels close by. Very relaxing place. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The service, the room, the view, the restaurant, the pool, . . . .

We LOVED our time here. Pure comfort. . . .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

No complaints. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Pool and the property was great. The room was very nice and comfortable. Nice little walk way along the water. Just a great place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We just got back from a trip to Poipu over New Years and stayed 6 nights at the Koa Kea. It was a great experience. It is a wonderful small boutique resort hotel. The staff were all extremely friendly and accommodating.
The hotel has about 15 dollar per day resort fee which covers the wifi and parking (valet). It would be even better if they would include gear rental in this fee but there is on site gear rental with body boards, surf boards, snorkeling gear etc...which is very handy and at competitive rates.
We ate breakfast daily at the hotel restaurant Red Salt and had several dinners there including New Years. Definitely check out the sushi night but know that it can be crowded and service can be slow as a result however the sushi is very good and very fresh.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to a couple looking for a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This resort is top notch. During our two-week stay we had perfect service, wonderful food, a gorgeous, oceanfront view and as much peace and privacy as you wanted. It was such a pleasure to be in a small, private resort without having to fight crowds for food/drinks/beach chairs, etc. We have been all over the world, and this resort ranks very high on the list. I would definitely recommend an oceanfront suite for beautiful sunsets and terrific whale watching.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on the third floor, which was very private and quiet with an incomparable view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

After spending 5 nights on the north shore at the St. Regis, we ended our trip with 3 nights in Koa Kea. Small boutique hotel, manned by tentative staff, located on a beautiful piece of property. What more can one ask for ? We stayed in the oceanfront jr suite, perfect for whale watching. The only complaint would be that the dividers between the neighboring rooms on the balcony did not extend out far enough to produce visual privacy( a minor issue really) but otherwise the hotel is A+++. Poi'pu beach is about a 3min walk along the public beach path, past the Marriott.
The restaurant Red Salt was much better than I expected, a place I would definitely frequent if it were located in my town. We ordered breakfast in room in the morning and it was much much better than your generic hotel breakfast.
Many of the hotel patrons seemed to be honeymooners, not a lot of kids but there were a few.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.