We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect one night stay at the Koa Kea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Poipu
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect one night stay at the Koa Kea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011 via mobile

After 3 nights on the north shore (with my husbands brother and his kids), we decided to treat ourselves to one night at the Koa kea before leaving Kauai. Torn between the Hyatt and here, I read many reviews before booking. I eventually chose Koa Kea based on the consensus that it seemed the most intimate and tranquil. It did not disappoint!! We had the most perfect day and night here. The property is beautiful and our garden-view room was spacious and comfortable. And the bed was dreamy.. With it's plush white down comforter and comfy mattress. But it was the small touches that really made Koa Kea stand out and that were the difference from it being a really good hotel to a really great one: allowing us to check in early when we arrived sooner than planned (noon); gourmet, delicious and beautifully presented "pool" food; little bags of macadamia nuts on the dresser when we returned from the pool; returning from dinner to turn down service and chilled water next to the bed; luxurious bathroom with double shower heads and French soaps and shampoo products; expresso maker in the room; and friendly and attentive staff. Overall our experience at the Koa Kea, although too short, was exactly what we were looking for. I already cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    187
    52
    21
    4
See reviews for
84
1,120
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

In the midst of poipu beach with lots of large typical chain resort hotels the koa kea offers a high quality, relaxing vacation. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are decorated in a simple, elegant manner and most of all the pool and lawn area are relaxing and not filled with lots of people so you can take time to relax without interruption. The pool bar serves good Mai tais although the wine isn't that great. It's a good place to hangout and take a break from the sun though.

The restaurant and indoor bar, open for breakfast and dinner serve great drinks and excellent food but the menu is limited so don't plan to eat the for lots of nights.

Overall, one of the best boutique resorts we've been too and very relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in a partial ocean view room where the private balcony had an ocean view ( a decent one no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Koa Kea for 6 nights in Mid November. It was our 5 year anniversay. We have a 14 month old at home, so we were looking for a little time away, just the 2 of us. The Koa Kea was everything, and I mean everything, we were looking for.

First, the hotel is relatively small. But, you feel like you get to know everyone who works there. It's small enough that you can talk with the staff, and they remember you the next day. Valet was great. Reception and conierge were great. You just can't say enough about the staff and their accomodating nature.

The facility was perfect as well. The pool is absolutely big enough for everyone there. You never have a problem finding a chair....anywhere you want. We say in the grass area most days, which was perfect.

We stayed in room 142. 1st floor nearest the beach without being "beach front". I wouldn't pay for the beach front room because it's not really beach front. It's mostly ocean front, but the views were probably awesome. Being in Rm 142, I was literally 10 feet from my lawn chair and about 10 yards from the beach. Doesn't get better than that.

There were only 2 downsides to our stay, which I feel like mentioning only so people know that I'm not just blowing smoke about how great this place is. Downside #1 - Rooms are a bit small. Very little drawer space for clothes, but we got along just fine. But really, how much are you in the room? The bed is UNBELIEVEABLE...just as other reviews mention. Downside #2 - Lunch menu left me disappointed. The bar service is awesome...on the spot, good drinks, quick service. But the food really just wasn't good at lunch only. Breakfast was great. Dinner at Red Salt was great. Lunch...bummer.

Koa Kea is perfect for couples. Don't bring kids or your party hats (go to the Marriot next door for that). It's too quiet for loud, obnoxious people. If you want some romantic time with your significant other to detox, relax, and get your mind right.....Koa Kea is the best place for that.

Room Tip: I stayed Room 142. Decent but not much ocean view. Try and stay more in the middle of the East win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I went on a last minute honeymoon to California for 2 weeks and Hawaii for 1. While Cali was phenomenal, or first stop in Hawaii was underwhelming. We stayed in a mega hotel on Kaanapali beach on Maui and were extremely disapointed with the cleanliness, the service, the lack of "honeymoon treatment", the price of the stay, and the thousand children swimming in the adult pool, to say the least. At the price of the room, we expected more.
Landing on Kauai, and arriving at the Koa Kea, our last few days of vacation lived up to the rest (sans Kaanapali beach). Upon check-in, we were greated by the manager of the hotel who was extremely friendly and gave us a full tour of the facilities. When walking past the quaint salt-water pool and hot tub, he mentioned the hours of operation and told us that we could unofficially swim after-hours if we didn't bother others. This is exactly the kind of service we appreciate and said much about the resort. Lest we not forget about the in-room Nespresso machine with a few complementary pods. All patrons were quiet, friendly and respectful, and it seemed like 97% were on honeymoon. The restaurant in the hotel was also phenomenal. And the perfect beach for beginner boogie boarding, surfing lessons, and snorkeling was a 30 second walk from our room. Just right.

While the price of the hotel was not cheap, considering standard Hawaii prices, the value was tremendous. The Koa Kea was amazing and we look forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This small boutique style hotel has all the amenities of a large competitor with fantastic personalized service. We stayed for 5 days so breakfast was included. Breakfast everyday was wonderful. Must try their sweet bread French toast and pineapple souffle pancakes. The required valet parking service was personalized and less in tips than having to pay for parking at a large resort. If you need directions. The have premade direction cards for everything from finding a supermarket to driving to Princeville. Everyone at the front desk is a knowledgable concierge !! The only downside is the room was on the small side and there are only a few drawers to unpack into .
If your going to Kauai you won't regret a stay at Koa Kea. We loved it

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor right by the hot top, pool and restaurant. Quiet and close to everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Poipu was our preferred location and it was perfect. Close to the airport in Lihue, and close to the charming town of Koloa where you can run for a bottle of wine (go to the Wine Shop where the owner will give you a list of restaurants where you can BYOB without corkage), get some groceries, shop, and enjoy delicious poke at Koloa Fish. It was only a 45 minute drive West to Waimea for the day. Heading East to the North Shore it was approximately 1.5 hours one way. If you have a rental car, it's very easy to go in either direction for the afternoon or day.

In regards specifically to Koa Kea, the hotel is unassuming and incredibly service-oriented. We stayed for 7 nights the 1st week of November. While we did experience rain, it was not North Shore rain that continued to fall the entire day. It was warm, sporadic, and the sun still managed to come out and set beautifully. While it rained we enjoyed the fabulous Red Salt restaurant, watched a movie in the most comfortable bed ever, and checked out Scrabble from their game selection to play on our balcony. Our room faced the ocean directly and was exactly the view we wanted to look out to every morning - blue waves and palm trees. If we had to pick a different wing I would have gone with the westward facing room since you enjoy the sunsets better.

The concierge and valet helped us with directions, restaurants, and everything else. You receive several complimentary amenities which make Koa Kea that much more enjoyable. Red Salt is outstanding - we cleaned our plates at every meal. The tiki bar outside (which has flat screens makes a mean passion fruit margarita and pina colada - a wonderful daily treat! The atmosphere is quiet and calming even when on the crowded side. We had passerbys ask if children were allowed because they wanted to come in for a drink. :) They are btw, but you don't see any like at the other resorts! The beaches which are easily accessible are modest in size, but the water is warm and it is not crowded.

I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Unless you are in one of the rooms directly above the lobby, ask for a room facing the west so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Excellent staff, location, room, restaurant, etc. My wife and I try to stay away from mega-hotels--this is the answer in Kauai.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;