We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, relaxing and amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Koa Kea Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 4 more sites!
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756 (Koloa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Poipu
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, relaxing and amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Koa Kea Hotel on Poipu Beach for our honeymoon in October 2011. We were amazed right from the minute we got there. The experience started off with a very nice welcome by the valet. Then we entered the beautiful and serene lobby where a service rep took care of our check-in right away. We were given a tour of the resort and our room. The room was very comfortable and a nightly service of free Fiji water was much appreciated. The resort restaurant, 'Red Salt' is excellent for Brunch and Dinner. The beach front area of this resort included relaxing chairs with great views. There were a good number of honeymoon couples there with us as we met them at the resort cocktail area next to the pool. However, my wife and I agreed that we would come back to this place for any trip to Kauai as the service and overall ambiance of the resort was exactly what you would want on a Hawaii vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms with partial ocean view gives you a little bit lower price and still a good view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,016
    162
    46
    14
    4
See reviews for
74
1018
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I checked in for a night as a getaway on a week long Kauai vacation with our little boy and parents. The first experience I had with the customer service was not good. I was on a walk with my mom and stopped in the hotel to find out what time check in was as my husband and I wanted to use the pool away from our toddler. I was explaining we were having a night away from our family and he told me that the pool was for hotel guests only. Um, ok, I wasn't planning to bring my parents or son to the pool, the whole idea was to get away from them. I thought it was an unnecessary comment.

The hotel itself is nice, the grounds are very pretty. The rooms remind me of a "W". The walls are thin and we heard the people in the rooms next door getting up VERY early.

The restaurant, Red Salt, great! We had a fantastic dinner and breakfast there.

We took a surf lesson through the hotel, the instructor was good, but not friendly or encouraging for my first time surfing. They ended up giving us a late checkout, which was fantastic, so we could take our surf lesson and have a few hours after to hang by the pool.

Overall, a nice hotel, nothing amazing, but I was very glad to have a romantic night away!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is perfect for couples seeking alone time and pampering. We stayed at the Koa Kea for three nights during our recent honeymoon. From the moment we pulled up, we were treated like royalty. The valet took the car and delivered our luggage to the room. We were given a brief tour of the property, and escorted to our room by the front desk staff.

The room was perfect! The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, and the bathroom was spacious. There was a large walk-in "rain" shower with a bench inside the shower. There were always more towels than we needed, and the counter space was large enough for both of us to get ready at the same time.

We were blown away by the level of customer service at Koa Kea. There was daily maid service, in addition to nightly turn down service. At night, we would return to our room and be greeted by soft music from the alarm clock radio and two fresh bottles of water on ice at the bedside. One night, we came back to chilled champagne to celebrate our honeymoon.

The property is quiet, and there are virtually no kids. We only saw one family with two girls, probably about 7-12 in age. The girls were quiet and polite, but seemed out of place since this hotel is very much geared toward adults and couples. Sometimes it was so quiet, that I was afraid to speak to my husband at the pool, for fear I'd be disrupting other guests!

There was never an issue finding a chair in the lawn or at the pool. People didn't have to "reserve" chairs with towels. The hotel is small, so there is plenty of seating/lounging space for everyone.

We did take advantage of the laundry machines, and they worked well. Just don't overload the washer, as it's not too large.

The only downside is that it's a bit hard to find. The hotel is tucked away behind the Marriott Ocean Club Resort. From the main road, it seems as if you're driving into the Marriott property. Just keep going until you reach the Koa Kea at the very end. It's great once you find it!

We loved the peace and serenity of Koa Kea, and it helped in making Kauai our favorite of the three islands we visited on our honeymoon!

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room facing the inside of the "horseshoe"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This place is awesome! My wife and I spent 4 nights here on our recent babymoon. The room was great and came with a nice partial ocean view. The Red Salt restaurant was the best food we had on the island. The valet and concierge guys were super helpful in providing options to eat and things to do. The place only has ~100 rooms so it feels very intimate. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: We paid the base fare and got four nights for the price of three from their web site. We had a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I loved this property. We were in Hawaii to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and after a fun filled week on Maui in a large resort, we were looking for something quiet and romantic and this property fit the bill perfectly. This is a small boutique hotel and everything was perfect and pampering. We had reserved 4 nights in an oceanfront room, but were upgraded to an oceanfront deluxe. Aileen showed us to our room and gave us a tour of the hotel grounds. The room was quite large and super clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was gorgeous with a separate shower and tub, but it was all the little extra touches that made things so pleasant. Macadamia nuts and 2 bottles of water on arrival, the manager sent up a bouquet of flowers and a ½ bottle of champagne, twice daily housekeeping, turndown service, water by your bedside at night, never having to think about whether we were able to get a chair by the pool. Our room rate also included breakfast and a $50 per day food and beverage credit, so we ate breakfast at Red Salt each morning and had dinner there one evening. We also had a couples massage which was so relaxing and indulgent. The valets (Stuart, Dean and Ari) were great. They helped us with everything from directions, restaurant suggestions, to tips about hiking trails and where the locals eat. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Oh and if you don’t use up your food credit, they allow you to spend the remaining money at their boutique, so we each left with a cap. I love this property.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Every aspect was great -- from facilities to service to food. Only complaint is that, having removed trees near the pool, they had orange traffic cones placed around the stumps for the entire eight nights we were there. Tacky looking. Otherwise, a perfect experience.

Room Tip: Really depends on preference. We were originally assigned a ground floor room near the outdoor pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Ko`a Kea Resort is a beautiful property and was the perfect location for our intimate wedding. We had an ocean front suite which I walked out the sliding glass door to meet my husband and guests. The location was spectacular and being on grass kept the ceremony private with a beautiful back drop of the ocean. Special thanks to Paul for setting up our wedding event plus playing guitar during our ceremony. Carole Koulbanis is the wedding planner for Koa Kea and she's incredible. She took care of everything including minister, flowers and setting up all the appointments. The day of the wedding was stress free and the entire day was relaxing for us due to Paul and Carole arranging everything perfectly. Carole and our photographer, Vilma Bergenholtz, were a great comforting factor even before we arrived in Kauai. Anna did a great job on my hair and makeup which is always a concern on your wedding day. Carole set up a small cake which was scrumptious and a champagne toast. The bridal bouquet was beautiful. Vilma took additional sunset pictures on the beach location which is off to the right of the property. I can't wait to see the pictures. After the ceremony, we had dinner at Red Salt which was delicious. We ended our night sitting on the patio of our suite with our friends listing to the ocean and having cocktails. It was exactly what we had in mind for our special day.

The staff was not only spectacular on our wedding day but on our entire 12 day stay at the resort. All of the staff was extremely accommodating, helpful and kind all of the time. They always greeted you with a smile and provided excellent service. They made sure you had everything you needed no matter if it was major or something as minor as getting you packing tape.

The hot tub and pool were great. The pool area is relaxing and not crowed feeling at all. The pool bar was fantastic with great service. It's the perfect location for drinks and lunch. It has a great view of the ocean so you could watch the surfers, catch a game and have a cocktail. You could find chairs either in the sun or under an umbrella with ease. You never found yourself waiting for a lounge chair in either location. You could also rent snorkel gear and get surf lessons on the property. This area is also perfect to watch sun sets. After the sun sets, the resort lights tiki torches which is a perfect place for a romantic conversation.

Valet service is included in the price of the room and the valet were very responsive in getting our car. Plus were very helpful for dinning suggestions and places to visit on the island.

The front staff was friendly and very helpful making arrangements for activities on the island. They made suggestions for vendors, booked the activity and always included directions for you. This was a nice service so you didn't have to search for phone numbers and call everyone directly.

The twice a day maid service was nice. The staff did a good job of keeping fresh towels and always made sure you had everything you needed. The evening turn down service was nice touch. You came back to a clean room with a bottle of chilled water by your bedside. The rooms and property was very clean.

We can't say enough good things about this boutique resort and the staff. It was the perfect location for our wedding. If you are looking to have a small intimate wedding location, this is the ideal resort.

Room Tip: Ocean front suites are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koa Kea Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Kea Hotel & Resort

Also Known As:
Koa Kea Hotel And Resort
Koa Kea Hotel Poipu
Koa Kea Hotel
Koa Kea Resort
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort Kauai/Poipu
Address: 2251 Poipu Road, Poipu, Kauai, HI 96756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Poipu > Koloa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poipu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poipu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poipu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Poipu
#4 Family Hotel in Poipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koa Kea Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koa Kea is a luxury boutique hotel with unmatched proximity to the ocean. Red Salt Restaurant and the Spa at Koa Kea are the newest additions to Poipu Beach, a great location for enjoying Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Koa Kea Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Kea Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.