We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless - can't go wrong!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Kauai Inn to your Saves list
The Kauai Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Flawless - can't go wrong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

My family of 4 adults stayed in this hotel in Feb. 2006, and we loved it. The rooms were very clean, bathroom was newly renovated (they were doing renovations on other rooms as well so I bet they're really nice by now), and it's in a quiet area with a great view of the mountain, and within a 100 feet of beautiful menehune pond. The room prices are a real bargain too. It's a good place to basically get good sleep and be comfortable and clean. i would defintely stay here again if i were to go back to kauai.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable and cheap
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    113
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
38
152
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

I stayed here with my daughter and we had a nice king sized bed, the rooms were fine, and the pool was quaint and clean. We used the barbeque grill a couple times which was nice, then ate by the pool. They had pastries and coffee in the morning (from 8am to 9am) to start off our day. It is in a little quieter part of town....more residential past the harbor. They had wireless internet, which was important to us. One other thing I noticed is they recycled cans, bottles, plastics and cardboard. It was amazing now much they got out of a small motel. Good idea for a small island. Would stay again.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

Pros: Very clean, centrally located on Kauai, reasonable rates (about $110-120 per night), plantation style hotel with some history (I stayed in the room John Wayne had filming Donovan's Reef). The rooms had hardwood floors and the hotel was being maintained while we were there (they installed a granite countertop in the breakfast nook). The staff was very friendly and helpfull (they grow bananas on the property which were served at breakfast). Fridge, microwave, hair dryer, iron and board in the room. The landscape was very tropical.
Cons: Time for new mattresses and pillows, the breakfast was wholesome but pretty crummy and didn't start until the office opened at 8:00 a.m., a little late if you plan on going to some of the island attractions in the morning. Chickens, which are everywhere on this island, crowed outside the rooms in the morning. We had a small ant problem in the room, too, and on occasion a few spiders had webs in the foliage that you might brush against. It seemed that staff cleaned these up each day.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

the hotel had big rooms in the 4th building, and in 3rd it looked smaller rooms. to turn fridge on you needed to switch a light switch sorta behind the fridge. microwave in room, tv and cable. also they said they had wireless internet. the hotel was nice and quiet.
mornings have complimentary breakfast with coffee, toast, and pasteries.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2005

My family flew in to Lihue late on Christmas day. I had made reservations directly with the Kauai Inn for 2 rooms for one night about a month before our arrival. When we showed up at the motel around 8 pm, the office was closed. Fortunately the owners left contact numbers on the office door and a free phone to use. After phoning the owners they arrived about 30 minutes later. After showing them my printout of their e-mail confirming my reservations, they apologized and charged us for only one room. The room I was in had air conditioning (not all rooms have air conditioning, so ask for this if it's important to you), was large, clean, and tastefully appointed with a king bed. The bathroom had a large and deep jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. Plenty of hot water. The motel is located in a residential area of Lihue near the harbor, so our evening there was quiet and we slept soundly. In the morning we enjoyed a complimentary continental breakfast next to the pool. I would stay there again, but I would definitely re-confirm my reservations by phone early in the day of my arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2004

Our trips to Kauai are always inspirational, fun, relaxing and spiritual. We stayed at the Kauai Inn the last time.
This met our needs as we are there to visit friends, relax and be inspired. The staff at the Kaui Inn were exceptional, friendly and helpful. The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave. Laundry facilities are available. It is not important for us to be on the beach and/or have a plush room. The Kauai Inn is quiet as it is on the back side of the Nawiliwili Harbor, away from the traffic and noise.
And the price is right.

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lihue
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kauai Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.