We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Kauai Inn to your Saves list
The Kauai Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Lauderhill, Florida
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Our plane was late landing (got to love a place that holds up a landing because an owl was hit by a previous plane and its mate wouldn't leave the runway). I called ahead to let the hotel know we'd come in after their check in time. Corrine, the night clerk, agreed to stay late for us. She greeted us warmly, set us up in the room, and even helped us get a delivery dinner after a long trip from Florida.

The room was delightfully comfortable, well appointed, and the temperature was perfect to open the windows and sleep with the night breezes. The moon was full, and the outline of the mountain in the distance was gorgeous.

This place is perfect for your arrival in Kaua'i. It's near the airport, near shopping and the port. It's spotlessly clean, very comfortable, with beautiful grounds and an included breakfast with loads of fresh fruit and pastries (the latter forgettable, but the fruit was perfect). It is also good for a longer stay...Kaua'i is small, and the east coast is close enough to the south and the north to make this an excellent hub.

This was our introduction to Hawai'i...thanks especially to Corrine, who introduced us to the sense of Aloha.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    116
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
38
152
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010 via mobile

Super friendly and located in nawiliwili harbor this is a cute little family run place. Very friendly with free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast (with lots of yummy fresh fruit, bagels, toast, coffe and juice), small refrigerator and microwave, a/c and a pool it was a great place too stay. Some of the upholstery could use some updating but who really cares, it was clean, convienent, reasonable and had super friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Washington
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed here a week. Wow was our room clean and did the floors shine!

Curiously, we were only three blocks from the dock where the cruise ship docked. We were two miles from the airport and less than two miles from the biggest shopping mall. But sitting in the courtyard, you would think we were in the middle of nowhere.

The breakfast is not until 8 a.m. and maybe a few minutes late. Nice fruit and coffee and not much else. But for the price, one can not expect a hot buffet. There is good internet, but it does not reach many of the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

My wife and I were looking for reasonably priced accomodation for 5 days in Kauai. We were travelling to the Garden Island to sample its restaurants, see its geography, and to try ziplining.

We decided to stay at the Kauai Inn because of its central location and the inexpensive rates available. Since our zipline excursion would chew a big hole in our budget, we were looking to balance that expense with cheaper accomodations.

We were happy with our decision.

The hotel is down a sleepy back road south of the town of Lihue. Although there is an ugly shipping port just down the road, the grounds are designed and landscaped in such a way that you easily forget that you are near a town. A mountain chain is visible a short distance to the east. A horse grazes across the street.

Although you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, you are actually quite close to many of Kauai's best destinations. Both the south coast and east coast of Kauai are a short drive away (as is the airport). Lihue itself has a few restaurants and most of the island's shopping.

A big bonus for us was that our zipline excursion departed from Nawiliwili Harbor which is a 3 minute walk from the Kauai Inn, just around the corner. No driving required.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by the hotel's canine welcoming committee (mother dog, father dog, and daughter dog). During check-in, we were given a quick orientation. We found out that the hotel had beach towels, beach mats and boogy boards that could be freely borrowed (very handy for our beach day). There was also free wireless internet in the public patio/pool area. The wireless signal was not strong enough to reach the rooms, but it was convenient to have the opportunity to check a few emails while enjoying the free breakfast.

Coin laundry is conveniently available, but the dryer required a quarter for each couple of minutes of drying, which can add up pretty quickly.

There were a few negatives. The buildings are older than the other hotels on the island and the sound insulation between the rooms is far from perfect. Prepare to be awoken each morning by Kauai's ever-present chicken population. Also, the beds are a little uncomfortable.

But if you are planning to spend your time seeing the sights of Kauai rather than sitting in your room all day, the Kauai Inn has much to offer. The staff work very hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We stayed here for a week and it was awesome. OK, if you are looking for a paradise where you will wake up to an ocean front every morning, then this is not the place. But if you are looking for a comfy, nice, clean and a nice staff, then you will be really happy with the place.

The following is what I liked about this hotel.

1. The rooms are well maintained with hardwood floors (at least the one I stayed in had) and have a comfy feeling.

2. Includes microwave, refrigerator, wireless internet and breakfast. What more do you want !!. For those whining about the meat and eggs being not a part of the breakfast, I would suggest (or challenge) them to find a better hotel than this at this price. In my opinion, the breakfast was pretty good with muffins, pastries, bread, bagel, coffee, juice and fresh fruits - enough to get you going in the morning and considering the food prices in Kauai, you can easily save $8-$10/person per day for such breakfast.

3. Super courteous staff - Since it is a family run business, the staff was super nice in all aspects. Beach towels and beach mats are provided free for use. Staff was always very helpful in suggesting where to go for local delicacy and any other questions we had.

4. Well as I mentioned before, the hotel is not on the beach front but the location is not bad either. The hotel is located in Lihue - very close to the aiport (around 2-3 miles) and Lihue itself is a good location to stay since it is equidistant from Princeville (north shore) and Waimea Canyon (west shore). If you are renting a car, it is not at all an issue to move from one place to another.

5. There is a Harbor Mall with all the sort of stores and eateries just a mile away.

Overall, it was a very good experience and I recommend the hotel.

Just a tip - it will be good if you have GPS since the location of the hotel is a bit tucked away in a residential neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Everything is awesome.

Just say 2 flaws:

Close to waterhead but have to walk a long way to approach it.

Breakfast with lots kind of fruit but no meat at all.........

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

From check in to check out, our stay was amazing! All of the staff were so nice and helpful. The continental breakfast each morning was amazing! The fresh fruits was a special treat for us since we can't get that stuff back here. The room was cozy and homey. We loved it! The Kauai Inn, Lihue is the place to stay!!!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#5 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kauai Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.