We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i was totally satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Kauai Inn to your Saves list
The Kauai Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Hungary
1 review
“i was totally satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

I lived in this hotel for 5 days with 3 other girls per room and it was really comfortable and I felt really good there. Our room was always clean and we had really good nights there. They have AC in every room also, so the night was wonderful and chilly. The bathroom was also very nice, we could share it very well. In the opposite side of the street was the beach and a kanu club and in the neighbour was the harbor. Unfortunately the place wasn't that close to the city, but it wasn't that far also. The view was beautiful from every room.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    116
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
38
152
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NorCal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

The Kauai Inn is a typical Hawaiian resort from the Beta period. It looks like the Hilton Kauai in miniature and of course it's obviously a lot older.

This is how they built resorts in 1950 or so.

That being said the hotel is a very good option if you like clean and quiet on a budget. I paid $79 for a fan (no-AC) queen and was very happy. The location by the harbor in quiet and central whether you want to go north or south. Decent breakfast though wireless is dodgy if you are not located near the lobby.

The owners live in the house behind the hotel so they take good care of the place.

Service was exceptional and I was treated with aloha.

In the winter the ceiling fan was more than enough cooling for me/ It does expose you to the roosters though so if you are looking to avoid the sound of Kauai's signature bird you should get AC and close the windows.

If you have never been to Kauai you cannot imagine the number of chickens running around. Other than the roosters which are EVERYWHERE on Kauai the place is extremely quiet.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed at Kauai Inn the last night of our trip. I picked this place because of its proximity to the airport and also because it has many good reviews. All the reviews are correct. We checked out of the condo at 8:30 am and needed to drop off our luggage at Kauai inn so we could go on the kayak tour. We were surprised to find out we could check into the room at 9am in the morning. The staff was very friendly and she even helped us with the luggage and took us to the room. We stayed at the King Lanai (I booked directly on Kauai website) on the first floor. The room was small but the King size bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean. We did not turn on the AC because the ceiling fan was good enough. There was a mini fridge in the room which we did not use.
The free breakfast has good selections of bread, muffin, and fruits.

Stay here if you travel on a budget and look for a clean place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Service was excellent: we arrived several hours early and the receptionist quickly offered to check if our room was ready. Perhaps because we were off-season, the room was ready. But this is a family-operated motel and I suspect they are always on the ball! We were not expecting much for the very reasonable rate we prepaid, since this is the oldest inn on the island. Although a bit small, the updated room delighted us. It had a nice-sized frig and microwave, large bathroom with marble tile, separate shower and tub-for two, king bed and chaise lounge; tasteful decor. Property well-kept. Exceptionally clean. Pleasant ambience. Best rate on hotels.com.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I came to the island and needed a place to stay for one night until I hooked up with my famil;y. This place is great. Nice rooms. Good Breakfast FREE. It has a pool!!! Mountain View. Will stay here again. Kim Salvato

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Now Freezing in Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Stayed three nights before flying to diff. islands, Great place to stay, staff are friendly, cont. breakfast included, and close to everything (beach, sportsbars, small shopping center, and airport). Cozy, Quiet and Clean

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed here one night to be closer to the airport for a morning departure. We had been in Princeville area at a condo for one week. The resort is cute, clean with a friendly staff. The rooms are a bit small but have a vintage charm to them, very quiet and air conditioning is a plus. Each room has a lanai and we had beautiful views of the mountains. Spent the day in Popiu which is just a short drive. The resort is centrally located, would use again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lihue
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kauai Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.