We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy, but cheap and no major complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Kauai Inn to your Saves list
The Kauai Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Lihue
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but cheap and no major complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My fiance and I went with this as one of the cheaper places to stay on the island for an 8-night trip.

It's a motel-style location with two levels, and we stayed in a ground-level room.



THE GOOD:

- The room was small and nothing special, but it was clean and in good shape. The bed and pillows are nice.

- The staff is incredibly friendly. The hotel also provides free drinks (juice, bottled water, some soda), dishes and silverware, bug repellant, beach towels, boogie boards, etc. All of which came in handy.

- The rooms have a window AC unit, which I know is not the case for all Kauai hotels and was very much welcome.



THE BAD:

- There is free wifi, but the signal was quite weak in our room and often unusable. It was much stronger and never cut out when I was sitting at one of the tables in the central pool area.

- Our sheets weren't changed during our stay, which didn't bother me but I know that's a problem for some people.

- A cat lives on the grounds and there was often poop on the grass that didn't get cleaned up.

- The hotel is home to several chickens. Unless you're a heavy sleeper, expect to be woken up before 6am.

- Mosquitoes are a bit of an issue (probably why there's free repellant). Several of them are in the pool area, so if you plan on spending any time there you'll need to spray yourself down. A couple managed to sneak into the room.



OVERALL:

Nitpicks aside, it was a solid for the price, and if we return to Kauai we'll most likely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    116
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
38
152
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Park, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

However, charged me for something that was not my responsibility. Told me they would investigate and get back the same day. Several days later, still waiting, Would not trust my credit card with these people again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MegKauaiInn, Owner at The Kauai Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate your stay with us at the Kauai Inn. Unfortunately in checking with our staff there is no record of your inquiry. If you would please email us at info@kauai-inn.com or call us direct at 1(808)245-9000 we can further investigate and hopefully find a resolution for you. We look forward to hearing from you soon!

Mahalo,

The Kauai Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, ca
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a smaller hotel that sits beneath two great mountain views. This hotel is quiet and peaceful away from the highrise hotels. Bonita and her sister are very accomodating and try to meet all your needs including advise on where to eat. This hotel does not have an elevator so if you have trouble carrying bags upstairs ask for a groundfloor unit. Coffee, Juices, sunblock, boogey boards and repellant are all availble to use. The grounds are beautiful and the room is very comfortable and the hotel is close to the airport if you need something close by. Great servcie and great comfort.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so ask for a groundfloor unit if you have a lot of bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Kauai Inn is a great choice if you aren´t a luxury traveler in search of "cut and paste" resorts. The rooms are pretty big (many of them with lanais), fully equipped and the breakfast is amazing. In addition to this the Inn is strategically located, allowing you to visit pretty much every place in the island without much fuss.
Nevermind the port, which is in the way from the airport to the Inn... the Inn is a couple of blocks beyond it, in the middle of a all-locals zone and near of the Menehune Pond.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Pros: Quiet location, well-kept grounds, affordable, clean room, no smoking and no loud music policy
Cons: Breakfast! Please don't advertise bagels, jam and cream cheese served for consecutive 5 days as breakfast. We understand that continental breakfast is a bonus BUT previous reviews described breakfasts in this hotel as a great treat loaded with fresh fruits. They are NOT THERE ANYMORE. So, for anyone counting on breakfast as per previous reviews, you have to look for it somewhere else. Also, be ready to pay $1 per page printed at the little computer desk in hotel's office (if you need to get your boarding pass for example).
Overall, we had a good stay but would be much happier if a friendly staff at small expense shared with us local fruits of which Kauai is famous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We came in on a late flight and needed accommodations for just one night, until our cottage was available in Kekaha.
Check in was friendly and very welcoming, with suggestions for dinner locations (we chose Mark's Place, a good choice).
The location is really quite good, close to the airport and restaurants, quite, with fine views. The staff was always friendly and eager to please.
The grounds are attractive and well kept. I would not hesitate to recommend the Kauai Inn to anyone, for either shorter or longer stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is NOT a big time resort. Rather, it is pleasant little hotel, a bit off the beaten path, with a swimming pool, a resident feline, and a friendly group of people running the place. It does have a bit of history. The cast and crew of "Donovan's Reef" (directed by the legendary John Ford and starring John Wayne and Lee Marvin [among others]) stayed at the Kauai Inn. They probably enjoyed the breathtaking view of the mountains, and the proximity to the ocean.

The reason I chose to go to Kauai in the first place was that my late father, who was stationed there in World War II, had told me that it was one of the most beautiful places he had ever seen. So, I planned to spend my time exploring the island. Paying a "resort fee," along with a fee to park my rental car, was something I dreaded. THE KAUAI INN DOES NOT CHARGE THESE FEES. Thus, it was perfect for my purposes. Meanwhile, my wife fell in love with Jezebel, the little black cat who is secretly the owner of the Inn.

If I ever go back to Kauai, I will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lihue
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kauai Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.