We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kauai Inn

Save Saved
You added The Kauai Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kauai Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Vancouver
1 review
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had a quick night at the Kauai Inn before heading off to the Na Pali Coast. The room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast in the morning included pleanty of fresh fruit. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the property was serene.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    115
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
38
148
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandon, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

negatives= room was dirty, same sheets for four days, same pillow cases for four days (red stains all over the pillow cases), bugs in room, get woken up through the night by chickens, dogs, and cat fights, ants all over the pavement by the pool, pool was dirty.

positives= good breakfast, and friendly staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had plans of camping up in the mountains and after the first night realized it was much to cold to tent it. After sleeping two nights in the truck we caved and found this place for around $100 a night. You don't get much in Kauai for that price and we were pleased with what we got. Clean, comfortable, quiet hotel, with beautiful scenery. The location was kind of bizarre and old pool was lacking but no real complaints. The front desk ladies were very nice and helpful. If your looking for a cheap, quiet place..this is a good one.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed the last night of our family vacation at this hotel. So charming, we immediately felt right at home. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the pool area was great. It's pretty centrally located, yet felt like we were in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Let me start by saying this is not a big fancy resort. This is a family owned and run Hotel that made us feel like old friends who were visiting. The staff ( Donya mgr, Korine, Chris, Linda and Tony) could not have made us feel more welcomed. The hotel while aged is clean. Breakfast fresh fruits, muffins and breads were available every morning. Coffee (good) coffee was available all day and night. The only thing that may turn some people off was the location.....it is just outside the harbour and has an industrial feel, but turn the corner and that disappears. That being said you will need a car no matter where you stay. The Kauai Inn is situated right in the middle of the Island....so all attractions are easy to get to. Hotel is the perfect choice, its clean quiet and friendly.....so that fact that is dated was not a problem. We came to see and enjoy Kauai not to stay cooped up in a room. Just like "Cheers" everyone knows your name....you don't get that at the Big Chain Hotels! GO relax and enjoy we did!

Room Tip: we stayed in 101 lanai is smaller.....then we were moved to 106. Hotel rooms are all different so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

this hotel was exactly what we were looking for.We want someplace clean,quiet and relaxing. My friend and I just spent 10days here and traveled all over Kauai.We absolutely loved the beauty and residents of the island. We did not want to spent money on high. end hotel for amenities we weren't going to use. The hotel is midway between both ends of island,close to airport and some nice restaurants. The continental breakfast is delicious and all the staff was pleasant and very informational about tips of the island. . The hotel represents old Hawaii in its style which we personally enjoyed.

Room Tip: we stayed closed to front desk area which was alittle noisy with breakfast group but was able to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a gem! No, this isn't a resort hotel, and driving by the harbor/industrial area to get there may give an initial scare. But this is a very nice hotel in a quiet area. It has a nice pool and mountain views. Continental breakfast, free wifi (I was able to get the wifi in my room, but I understand other rooms couldn't - though you could work on their patio, or even use their computer at no charge). You could borrow books and guides, beach mats and towels, and other items. The staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable about virtually everything about Kauai. When I return to Kauai I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kauai Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.