We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kauai Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Kauai Inn to your Saves list
The Kauai Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We had plans of camping up in the mountains and after the first night realized it was much to cold to tent it. After sleeping two nights in the truck we caved and found this place for around $100 a night. You don't get much in Kauai for that price and we were pleased with what we got. Clean, comfortable, quiet hotel, with beautiful scenery. The location was kind of bizarre and old pool was lacking but no real complaints. The front desk ladies were very nice and helpful. If your looking for a cheap, quiet place..this is a good one.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter11112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Galt, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed the last night of our family vacation at this hotel. So charming, we immediately felt right at home. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the pool area was great. It's pretty centrally located, yet felt like we were in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Let me start by saying this is not a big fancy resort. This is a family owned and run Hotel that made us feel like old friends who were visiting. The staff ( Donya mgr, Korine, Chris, Linda and Tony) could not have made us feel more welcomed. The hotel while aged is clean. Breakfast fresh fruits, muffins and breads were available every morning. Coffee (good) coffee was available all day and night. The only thing that may turn some people off was the location.....it is just outside the harbour and has an industrial feel, but turn the corner and that disappears. That being said you will need a car no matter where you stay. The Kauai Inn is situated right in the middle of the Island....so all attractions are easy to get to. Hotel is the perfect choice, its clean quiet and friendly.....so that fact that is dated was not a problem. We came to see and enjoy Kauai not to stay cooped up in a room. Just like "Cheers" everyone knows your name....you don't get that at the Big Chain Hotels! GO relax and enjoy we did!

Room Tip: we stayed in 101 lanai is smaller.....then we were moved to 106. Hotel rooms are all different so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suszgntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

this hotel was exactly what we were looking for.We want someplace clean,quiet and relaxing. My friend and I just spent 10days here and traveled all over Kauai.We absolutely loved the beauty and residents of the island. We did not want to spent money on high. end hotel for amenities we weren't going to use. The hotel is midway between both ends of island,close to airport and some nice restaurants. The continental breakfast is delicious and all the staff was pleasant and very informational about tips of the island. . The hotel represents old Hawaii in its style which we personally enjoyed.

Room Tip: we stayed closed to front desk area which was alittle noisy with breakfast group but was able to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeyhrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a gem! No, this isn't a resort hotel, and driving by the harbor/industrial area to get there may give an initial scare. But this is a very nice hotel in a quiet area. It has a nice pool and mountain views. Continental breakfast, free wifi (I was able to get the wifi in my room, but I understand other rooms couldn't - though you could work on their patio, or even use their computer at no charge). You could borrow books and guides, beach mats and towels, and other items. The staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable about virtually everything about Kauai. When I return to Kauai I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We are so happy we checked out of the Resort hotel and checked into the Kauai Inn. We immediately felt welcomed and comfortable with the Inn. Our room was clean bright and well equipped with a bar frig/ microwave oven . The continental breakfast buffet was a delightful surprize ... fresh coffee /tea 24/7 and a BBQ area where you could cook up your our BBQ wonders. The roosters and chickens with their chicks that roam all over Kauai were constant entertainment. They also provided boogey boards/beach towels/coolers that we used on a daily basis to spend the day on yet another spectacular beach! We throughly enjoyed our stay and without hesitation would recommend it. Thank you Donya Tony and staff for the wonderful hospitality that was extended to us.
Sonya Derek - Edmonton Alberta Canada

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Quiet out of the way hotel, but close to the airport, Lihue and local shops and restaurants. The hotel is a little old fashioned, but clean and comfortable and in a nice location with mountain views. I did feel the place could do with updating and a bit of a makeover. The lanai was disappointing - scruffy, dull and with worn out furniture. Breakfast was ok, but not many places to sit if everyone turned up at once. In-room tea and coffee making facilities really need to be added rather than having to go the breakfast area for a cup of tea or a cup of coffee first thing in the morning or last thing at night. A proper cup of tea does need to be made with fresh boiling water, so ditch the microwave and replace it with an electric kettle. If it's an all action resort you want, then this isn't the place for you. Finally, someone really needs to strangle the cockerels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerDon36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
7.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.8 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#2 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
7.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
7.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kauai Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kauai Inn

Address: 2430 Hulemalu Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kauai Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Kauai Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kauai Hotel Lihue
Kauai Hotel Lihue
The Kauai Inn HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing