We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kaha Lani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Kaha Lani to your Saves list
Castle Kaha Lani
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4460 Nehe Road, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Aston Kaha Lani)   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very comfortable spacious unit, with beautiful views of the sunrise and ocean. A very peaceful location, with a wonderful walking path, state park, and beach. The staff was very helpful, and we loved our 3rd floor unit - very well equipped. We hope to stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    92
    18
    9
    15
See reviews for
94
108
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Nice complex. Ask for ocean view or ocean front - the views are great. Recommend top floor since floors/ceiling really carry the noise of your upstairs neighbors. Location nestled within Ludgate State Park away from the main road is ideal. State beach is is a short walk in either direction via a nice paved path.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor ocean front or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Conner, Washington, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This year's trip was again fantastic. Great weather, great view. Fantastic sunrises. Very well maintained very well treated by staff. The short path to Lydgate Park is a wonderful exercise to a protected swimming area with lots of tropical fish (You can see them without snorkel and fins in the shallow end, especially if you bring food)

Coldn't ask for a better trip.

Room Tip: We love the ocean front rooms with the lanai overlooking the ocean for a constant view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Property is just off the beach and great location to everything. Unit, pool and grounds were clean and well maintained. Spectacular sunrise and pool view. BBQs located by pool made them a friendly gathering place at dinnertime. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Miles of beach and paved trails. We appreciated the security notices. We come back year after year. Mahalo

Room Tip: Three floors and no elevator but even third floor easy to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our experience was quite different from the previous reviewer from California. My husband and I found the staff courteous and helpful. When checking in the staff explains the fees up front so that the renter is aware of them. Extra fees are tacked on if you lose the condo key and/or beach towels so that the cost of replacement isn't passed on to everyone. There are security cameras and a security guard that walks the grounds every evening which added an element of safety staying here especially with the public walking path so close. The trade winds keep the units cool and comfortable. We were in unit 127 which is nicely decorated, clean and equipped with all the kitchen amenities you would need. This is a bottom corner ocean front unit in building 8 that has a wonderful view of the ocean. House cleaning comes through to change linens and vacuum every couple of days. This is also explained when checking in. If you do not care to be woken by roosters then its best to find a place with AC. We did have a rooster that started crowing at 2:30 in the morning. There are also several feral cats around but they keep their distance. To summarize....if you are OK with roosters, hens, an occasional cat walking by and house cleaning every other day then Castle Kana Lani may be right for you. Just be aware that no two units are the same. Different owners, different decor and not all have recent updates. I highly recommend unit 127...nicely updated and situated on a quiet corner of the property with a beautiful view of the ocean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is the worst resort vacation I have ever had. The service staff is unfriendly, unhelpful, unwelcoming. You are greeted with a discussion of all the fines for losing things and not a word of welcome or offer to help with local attractions. The grounds are lovely but marred by signs saying you are being recorded so we can prosecute for criminal behavior. Really! The pool is not heated and the spa is not operational--covered up and loaded with junk. I told the front desk person that the floors in my unit were so dirty that my socks turned black on the bottom from walking on them. No one cleaned after my complaint. Beautiful grounds, so-so units, lousy hospitality. I recommend upgrading to an air-conditioned unit elsewhere so you can close the windows at night. The wild chickens start crowing at 4 AM and it is impossible to sleep once they start.

Room Tip: Pay for air conditioning elsewhere so you can sleep at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I've stayed at this location each year for over 20 years and I've written a review on this property for the last couple of years. This year I stayed in unit 303. It's a updated unit with granite counter tops in the kitchen and updated bath and a half. The unit is well equipped and has most of the comforts of home. One thing I learned this trip is that the more you visit Kauai the less you stray from the condo... so you expect more in your living arrangements... at least that's how it has worked out for us. In my opinion, this is the best location on the Island and getting north and south make the location just right. You have everything you need within 5 or six miles... shopping centers, Walmart, Costco, Cost U Less... a variety of reasonably priced restaurants, etc. Although the property is dated the Association works hard to keep the property in good shape... the grounds are spectacular and clean. I'll be back again.. probably next year :)

Room Tip: I would suggest you look at the room reviews... not all condos are up to date... remember there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Kaha Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kaha Lani

Address: 4460 Nehe Road, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766 (Formerly Aston Kaha Lani)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kaha Lani 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaha Lani Resort features oceanfront condominiums adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park and playground, with a walking path along the coast. Centrally located, the resort offers a variety of one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites, all oceanview or oceanfront. Amenities include a pool, tennis court, barbecues, and a putting green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castle Kaha Lani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Kaha Lani Hotel Lihue
Kaha Lani
Castle Kaha Lani Kauai, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kaha Lani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.